Should I OTR

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by bigessfour, Mar 17, 2018.

1. bigessfour

bigessfour Bobtail Member

Mar 17, 2018
    Lamar, Colorado
    I took advantage of the Troops to Truckers program when I was retiring from the Army. Basically, if you had a comparable vehicle on your Military Drivers License, you could take the written tests and avoid the driving portion and receive your CDL. I have a Class A CDL with every endorsement. Hazmat, doubles/triples etc. I also had a Top-Secret Security Clearance in the Army I am currently driving a local grain truck and the elevator pays me $15.00 per hour, and I have 2 years experience. I've been considering going OTR and I know there is more to it than I think there is. I'd love some advice from you experienced drivers on that idea. Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Mar 17, 2018
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Your secret clearance is worth holding on to but theres not very much out here that relies on it. Maybe a outfit in the Texas Panhandle that hauls decommissioned nuclear componets down to the gram if necessary and another that gets into Bullion and other things with the Fed Reserve money system.

OTR Trucking is managing your time to get to a appointment across the USA if necessary in any weather. Managing the 70 hours left to be legal and never allowing dispatch to push you to not be legal. Many people cannot hardly get to the doctors appt on time across town...

It is also managing your expenses. Do not go out there OTR for less than .50. Keep in mind that they paid .35 or so for decades because most people don't know it is such low pay.