Stevens newbie questions

Discussion in 'Anderson' started by ArcticFox, Aug 17, 2011.

1. ArcticFox

ArcticFox Bobtail Member

Aug 17, 2011
    Siloam Springs AR
    I am new to the industry and have several questions about Stevens. I would like the breakdown of the hiring process... recent graduate imput and just overall positive feedback about trucking in general. yes, I am aware of its what you put into it etc....I have been in the Cab business and heard a lot of BS stories in my time...So I invite you all new and old to comment and give your side of the story. I appreciate your time and good numbers to you all.:biggrin_25514:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Emulsified

Emulsified Road Train Member

May 6, 2010
    Dallas, TX
  4. ArcticFox

ArcticFox Bobtail Member

Aug 17, 2011
    Siloam Springs AR
    again ty for the good advice....extremely frustrating wading through all the bs in general about trucking.

5. Emulsified

May 6, 2010
    Dallas, TX
    Advice in general? OK, here goes:
    Obtain your CDL thru an independent school, rather than one run by a trucking company. It leaves you many more options as to where you can work and when. You are not an indentured servant to a company during a contract period.

No matter what a recruiter tells you, unless it's in writing, don't believe it.

If you choose to obtain your CDL thru a company school, be sure and read the contract in advance, understand it thoroughly. If you are not sure, pay a lawyer to read and explain it to you. Then if you move forward, live up to your agreement.

Make a list of items important to you in life that are affected by your career choice. Set them in order of priority. Then specifically compare those to each company you are considering.

If you are going OTR, home time is virtually the same for ALL of them. One day off for each week out and home at 5-6 week intervals.