Stuck in Phoenix, please help!

Discussion in 'JB Hunt' started by Jenny&Benny, Oct 24, 2015.

1. Jenny&Benny

Jenny&Benny Bobtail Member

Oct 24, 2015
    Phoenix, AZ
    Hello all.

I have family here in Phoenix Arizona that I've wanted to be around for awhile. I saw that JB hunt had a job opening here. I was hired on and took it. The job was for the "Final Mile" account. It was way more physically demanding than what I could handle. The job entailed lumping large appliances up and down stairs all day for anywhere from 10-14 hours a day. I'm not feeble but it was killing me.

So now fast forward and I'm in Phoenix, just moved here and have no job. Unfortunately there is a thing or two on my record that has prevented me from a lot of jobs. JB hunt was willing to work with it and take me on. I also cannot go OTR anymore due to my family and a few medical issues they have. I am a good truck driver, have been driving for about three years now in a variety of locations and circumstances. One thing I did for the longest time was Intermodal. I did it in Los Angeles and am very comfortable with it. I know my way around rail yards and distribution centers.

I was hoping to possibly run intermodal with JB here out of Phoenix. Unfortunately, Phoenix seems like some kind of Holy Grail when it comes to Intermodal. It seems like for the companies that are here that do Intermodal none of them ever have positions for it coming up here. I was hoping to make a contact, talk to some one or do something, some way to prove myself. I would be willing to do anything just to be here in Phoenix, drive a truck and get home every night. JB hunt has already qualified me, I went through their orientation and would love to stick with them as I know it's a good company to work for.

Can anyone please help me out? Some one to contact, talk to or get in touch with. I know where they are located here (by the BNSF railyard) would it be rude or weird of me to walk in and try to talk to some one?