Taking a Mid Trip inspection

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by americanroads, Mar 2, 2020.

1. americanroads

americanroads Bobtail Member

Feb 26, 2020
    Hi all!

I am working as an assistant fleet manager for a small trucking company. This is my first job in the long haul industry. I am still learning the ropes.

One of my job duties is to make sure drivers take a mid trip inspection now and then. However, some drivers are being extremely difficult about it. They always have an excuse to skip it or just refuse to do it.

I am wondering if ya'll have any tips on how to work with difficult drivers and have them take a mid trip inspection.

I call and text them well in advance before due date so they have plenty of time to stop by a truck stop and take a mid trip. I notify their dispatch as well. Yet, half of the drivers are late or refuse the inspection.

Thank you all in advance!

P.S. To clarify what I mean by Mid Trip Inspection:
    A walk around by a 3rd party mechanice, usualy at a truck stop, to check the tires, brakes, lights and ect.
    And we ask drivers to take the inspetion once a week, or less often.

Last edited: Mar 2, 2020
    striker and Lumper Humper Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Mike250rs

Mike250rs Heavy Load Member

Sep 24, 2019
    Raleigh, NC
    it will take the dispatching folks to help out...

No inspection, no dispatch

striker, Dino soar, Bean Jr. and 5 others Thank this.
  4. brsims

brsims Road Train Member

Aug 8, 2009
    Meadville, PA
    Does Dispatch care about midtrip inspections? Does Dispatch get any type of punishment for drivers missing or skipping midtrip inspections?

If not, Dispatch is not going to take midtrip inspections into account when they schedule the trucks. Or they are going to tell the drivers to skip it "Cause it's not important, You gotta go, Yer LATE!"