Team Owner Operator Help Please

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by ZArmstrong, Apr 24, 2018.

1. ZArmstrong

ZArmstrong Bobtail Member

Apr 24, 2018
    So me and a good friend of many years are looking to possibly leave our cozy company driver jobs and become team owner operators.

Question is how much money is there to be made??
    Can't seem to find much info on this and any advice or knowledge is much appreciated. Back Story
    I have been driving for 5 years and my friend 4.
    Our ages are both 26 with kids/wives at home.
    We are at a company right now that delivers to extremely tight areas/docks. Also we hand truck or pallet jack product so there really isn't a lack of skill. We are both at $23.5 an hour and will be at top rate $28 in a year+ overtime after 40 and average 55 hours per week. So in a year our salaries will be about 100k per year with per diem and bonuses. We are honestly clueless to the mechanic side of trucking.
    One of our company friends recently left to become an owner operator and uses getloaded.com. Claims to make more money than he ever will with our company.
    So main question is would becoming Team Owner Operators make more money and be a wise decision on our part?? Any input at all is appreciated, thanks.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. truckdriver31

truckdriver31 Road Train Member

Sep 18, 2013
    if you value your friendship then dont do it. team driving can be great or can be the worst thing.

4. RustyBolt

RustyBolt Road Train Member

Feb 21, 2015
    Bement, IL
    $100k/yr? Stay where you are. You won't make that as an O/O any time soon. Especially if you have to have someone else do all your repairs.

5. gokiddogo

gokiddogo Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2012
    Ontario Canada