That trailer brake handle, how does it work?

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by TruckRunner, Oct 14, 2018.

1. TruckRunner

TruckRunner Heavy Load Member

Dec 21, 2017
    So I never had that feature with the company I have been driving for eight years. I was told that it will allow you to use your trailer's brakes instead of the truck's brake. My question is does it engage the brake harder the more you push it down? Kinda like how the pressure added to the brake pedal with your foot? I am going to haul new third party trailers so I will use their brakes more often to save my truck's. I am surprised the gubment and corporations even allow such a feature.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Oldironfan

Oldironfan Road Train Member

May 22, 2017
    Yes it's like a brake pedal. The more you pull the more it applies brakes. It is not for parking.

If your is the trailer brakes and not the truck brakes as well, you are not very smart.
    You will be more likely to burn the trailer brakes, or start the whole thing on fire on a down grade situation.

It is plain stupid to try and use trailer brakes to save tractor brakes. Brakes are cheap use them properly.

4. Cattleman84

Cattleman84 Road Train Member

Nov 1, 2017
    The Sticks, Idaho
    Yes the more you push the Johnny Bar the more brake it applies... Be warned though... I have yet to find a newer truck that the Johnny Bar will apply anything less than 20 psi. So when it first lets air to the brakes it is 20+ psi of brake application. The older trucks you could easy on the Johnny Bar and get as little as 2 or 3 psi, they were much better... I dont even try to use the Johnny Bar in newer trucks except to slide axles or do tug test.

MACK E-6, Friend, PoleCrusher and 10 others Thank this.
  5. Oldironfan

Oldironfan Road Train Member

May 22, 2017
    I'm not qualified to say any more.