The difference between a professional driver and a "trucker".

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Diantane, Nov 1, 2020.

1. Diantane

Diantane Light Load Member

Nov 13, 2010
    Alderson, WV
    I've been a professional truck driver since April 1977 after receiving an Honorable Discharge from the US Navy that began near the end of the Vietnam War. My driving record has remained clean my entire career (over five million safe miles). My car insurance is only about $250 twice a year. My goal at work is never about counting miles. It is delivering loads safely (and getting paid every Friday :) I'm financially secure and living a good life. Will be retiring in 2025 after a 48 year career with a lot of good memories.

The Professional Driver
    Professional drivers pre-trip their trucks every day. They follow speed limits (no faster than the maximum limit). They know that driving 5 mph over was never allowed and a fine of about $100 (depending on the state) and points if going 2 to 5 mph over can be enforced. That the speed on ramps is for cars. Your speed limit is half of the posted speed to a maximum of 10 mph under. The heavy weight in a dry van, refrigerated trailer shipping container or normal height flatbed is several feet above the ground to as high as 13 feet. This mean that your load is usually top heavy. Taking turns too fast will result in a turnover. If you feel your cab leaning to the left or right, that is a warning that the top heavy and much heavier trailer behind you in leaning much more.

Driving in construction areas and small towns have a speed limit designed for safe travel through the area. This speed also shows your respect for the highway workers and residents in these towns.