The New Walmart and what you can expect.

Discussion in 'Motor Carrier Questions - The Inside Scoop' started by 64_Max_Wedge, Mar 22, 2018.

1. 64_Max_Wedge

64_Max_Wedge Bobtail Member

Mar 22, 2018
    Loveland, Colorado
    Hello people, I'm a tenured driver with Walmart with just over 30 years with the company. I am not going to bash the company, but will give it to you straight, not soft ball it and try to help you make your own decisions on whether this is the job for you. For us old private fleet hands, most of these recent schedule changes are absolutely not what Sam Walton would've done if he were still alive. For many of you, these changes in our fleet operations might very well be just fine. I have done very well over the years with Walmart and used to recommend drivers who possessed the necessary skills, personality and work ethic to try and get on board here. Several personal friends hired on around the same as me and most have had rewarding careers over the years. A couple guys retired recently because of these big changes happening, 2 others are still here trying to hang on, one's on medical leave and sadly the other passed away. It was well known in the trucking industry this was a job you retired from, not out right quitting. Since these changes were announced on Oct. 1 2017, Walmart drivers have been quitting in droves. Some quit right away, some are trying to figure out how to deal with these changes and hang in there, and others getting ready to retire or quit before these schedule changes take effect. If any of you have doubt in my words, I encourage you to ask any Walmart driver the true skinny as to what's going on these days. About 5% of the drivers, most who've been hired in the last 5 years will tell you this job is the greatest ever. 95% of the tenured drivers who've been with Walmart over 5 years will most likely tell you to run and don't look back! Please, start asking before applying so you can make a very important and informed career