Think about becoming a trucker

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Kdub99, May 8, 2019.

1. Kdub99

Kdub99 Bobtail Member

May 8, 2019
    Hey guys, I just turned 21 and I have been an a electrician for 2-3 years with my level 1 done. Ever since I was younger I was planning on driving but havent able to being told by dad not too whos also a trucker. I was just wondering do you guys love your lifestyle? Whats a typical week or month for you guys? Just want to get point of views then my dad and see if I should pull the trigger and start driving

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. DUNE-T

DUNE-T Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Detroit, MI
    Keep going up on the electrician level, forget about trucking

4. Gdog66223

Gdog66223 Road Train Member

Dec 30, 2017
    Coal Town
    You have to go through a truck driving school or a company that offers school and training... but once you get on your own a typical work week is drive 70 hours, maybe get home on weekends...

Really depends on who you go with... Everybody has different rules... Companies now have trucks with some type of braking system that brakes the truck when it gets too close... They also have cameras in the trucks facing you... Starting out as a rookie you will be faced with that...

Just stay as an Electrician

Rideandrepair and 3noses Thank this.
  5. AModelCat

AModelCat Road Train Member

Jul 7, 2015
    Canuckistan
    Stick with skilled trades. Better money, better work/life balance, etc. My old man gave me the same advice. He sold his iron and got out. Makes better money packing a lunch box and operating equipment for 6 months a year vs O/O.

6. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    You will be WAY BETTER OFF economically over your lifetime as a Master Electrician.