Tri-Axle or Quad-Axle Dump Truck

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by Asphalt Hauler, Aug 20, 2012.

1. Asphalt Hauler

Asphalt Hauler Bobtail Member

Aug 11, 2012
    Hey Guys, I'm looking at two dump trucks rightnow,and was needing to know to go with a tri-axle or a quad-axle. One is a KW T-800 Tri-Axle with a 16ft. bed and 8 bag suspension,and the other is a Freightliner Classic XL Quad-Axle with a 17 ft. bed and 4 bag suspension,this truck had a sleeper and was converted to a dump truck if that makes any difference. Ill be hauling asphalt mostly,but during the winter ill be hauling rock and dirt mostly,and was wanting to know which of the two trucks would be better for hauling and more versitle. Im new with dump trucks. I have always pulled hopper bottom grain trailers,and i'm wanting to get into a dump truck now. Thanks for the help.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. gambler1976

gambler1976 Light Load Member

Jul 22, 2012
    hubert,nc
    dont like dumps with bags my self

V8SuperDog and Asphalt Hauler Thank this.
  4. jumpup

jumpup Bobtail Member

Jan 3, 2012
    Ashland, Va
    In Va. Quad is a must. More tons on your back the more you make. Most jobs want Quads or a 20 tons trucks.

Asphalt Hauler Thanks this.
  5. Logan76

Logan76 Crusty In Training

Jul 12, 2009
    kittanning, PA
    Where are you located, in PA quad or tri doesnt matter both are good for 73280, I would personally be sure to check that the truck that was formerly a sleeper cab truck has been double framed.

I always was taught that sleeper cab tractors converted to straight trucks never worked out so well because they didnt have the heavy spec's, the axles are lighter, they are single framed, etc.

Asphalt Hauler and x#1 Thank this.
  6. Fatboy42

Fatboy42 Light Load Member

Feb 9, 2011
    Indiana