Tri axle vs tandem lowboy

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Ridlingdj, Dec 12, 2018.

1. Ridlingdj

Ridlingdj Medium Load Member

Dec 12, 2018
    Ok here's the situation I am stuck on I am a farmer in southern Florida and mostly stay in FL except for rare occasions I have found the brand lowboy and style I want but do I need a tri axle or tandem to haul my tractors the heaviest tractor that I would haul would be about 64,000 would there be any advantage to a tri axle I have only ever had tandems but I have also never had as big of tractors as we have now

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Nothereoften

Nothereoften Light Load Member

Oct 6, 2018
    Can permit higher weights with a tri, on a rgn if your hauling a bunch of different size units you could get a flip axle so it's tandem and tri axle. Figure out your max gross weight and work backwards from there to see if you need the triaxle

4. baha

baha Road Train Member

Jul 25, 2013
    ga
    You can buy a year long over weight permit on a tandem axel and be set up?

5. m16ty

m16ty Road Train Member

Jan 22, 2016
    I don't know about FL, but in TN you can permit up to 115,000 lb gross on a 5 axle setup (tandem axle truck, tandem axle trailer), so you should be able to scale 64,000 lb.

The real deal is, you can usually haul roughly 40,000 lb with a 35 ton tandem trailer, before you need permits. With most 50 ton tri axle trailers, about 35,000 lb or less is all you can haul without permits.

How far and how often do you move your big tractors? Most people around here just road them from farm to farm. Talked to a guy a few months ago that had two dairy farms about 30 miles apart. That day they roading the silage chopper between farms.

Ruthless and Dino soar Thank this.
  6. Ridlingdj

Dec 12, 2018