Unloading Time for a Pneumatic Sand Truck

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by dustinw, Aug 10, 2012.

1. dustinw

dustinw Bobtail Member

Aug 9, 2012
    I'm not a trucker, I'm actually an engineer working at product development firm. Right now I'm trying to develop a camlock connector for pneumatic sand trucks that will outlast the aluminum connectors that are currently available. From what I understand these wear out quite quickly and can be hard to obtain. My question is, how long does it take to unload say 50000 lbs of frac sand from a pnuematic sand truck? If you can tell me best and worst case, that would be quite helpful for me and possibly for you in the future if you haul sand !!

Thanks!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Okieron

Okieron Crusty Okie

Dec 23, 2009
    muskogee, ok
    it varies with the length of hose and the pump and or trailer type. I could empty 45000 in about 15 minutes with 10 ft of hose and as much as 45 min with 20 or 30 ft of hose. the aluminum one do wear out. anything with a bend is gonna wear out faster. I used to keep 2 or 3 90's on board because you cold blow thru them in a few weeks and when your in the middle of no where its not fun !

dustinw Thanks this.
  4. wallyhh

wallyhh Bobtail Member

Aug 10, 2012
    There are a lot of variables involved. The length of hose and how straight,how big the bin is you are filling and how high you may have to pump, how wet or dry the material is, how full the bin you are filling is and whether or not they have an assist blower. Have unloaded in as little as 35 minutes, and can take over an hour.

5. dustinw

dustinw Bobtail Member

Aug 9, 2012
    Thank You, very helpful

6. rookietrucker

rookietrucker Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

Jul 15, 2007
    TEXAS