UPS P&D to Linehaul

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by coastietruckin', Apr 3, 2018.

1. coastietruckin'

coastietruckin' Light Load Member

Dec 28, 2015
    Southern NJ
    Hi all,

Just throwing this question out to you guys for some guidance. I was offered a job with UPS P&D pending my road test and medical. I feel very lucky and grateful for this opportunity since I am a brand new driver with no experience. However, I would like to move over to linehaul at some point down the road. My question is, do you think it will be hard for me to move over to linehaul since I won't have any OTR experience, and would only have the experience I gain from doing p&d? Would I be better served if I just went with a good training outfit for otr now, and then apply to ups linehaul (or saia/OD/etc) at a later date?

I feel that this opportunity is almost too good to pass up. It's a career job with the union. Pay starting out isn't crazy, but there's plenty of OT to supplement until I start teaching top rate in a couple years. I'm 36 now, so I don't have a whole lot of time left before I want to settle in with a company who I can make a nice career with. So my decision to go otr now to get my experience up and better position myself for a linehaul job on a couple years is pretty big. Or do you think taking the ups job now will still have me set-up pretty good to still get into linehaul down the road a couple years from now?

Thanks!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. driverdriver

driverdriver Road Train Member

May 30, 2011
    Get in now. It won't be hard to go linehaul at a later point with them.
    There's no reason to go to some dbag otr company.
    Don't let this opportunity pass you by.

4. coastietruckin'

Dec 28, 2015
    Southern NJ