VOLVO

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Magnum1, Jan 2, 2011.

VOLVO vs OTHERS

Poll closed Feb 11, 2011.
  1. *

Volvo is a great truck with the cummins engine for o/o.

60.5%
  2. *

Volvo is a great truck with the volvo engine for o/o.

9.3%
  3. *

I would buy a volvo vs freighliner for the o/o.

46.5%
  4. *

I would buy volvo vs international for the o/o.

32.6%
  5. *

I would buy volvo vs kw for the o/o.

23.3%
  6. *

I would buy volvo vs peterbuilt for the o/o.

30.2%
  7. Volvo with the cummins has the same amount of issues as others, money wise.

16.3%
  8. Volvo is just another " glider" with the cummins engine - same as others.

4.7%
  9. *

Would not buy 13spd cummins volvo for the o/o.

11.6%
  10. *

Would buy a 13 spd cummins o/o for the o/o.

30.2%
  1. Magnum1

Magnum1 Medium Load Member

Dec 13, 2010
    NJ
    Ok. Here it goes. I was a company driver for a few years and have driven: T2000, freightshakers, Volvo's, 1 eagle.

I would like to become an O/O and am looking to buy the truck. Never had owned a semi-truck. But, was and still do work on the automobiles. So, I'm mechanically inclined.

I really do like the volvo due to its comfort, clean looks, roomy interior for it's size. One piece windshield and door windows. and much more when looking from the driver's view.

I've spoken with few shop mechanics about the volvo's and their quality. the advice that I've been given is to stay away from volvo engines, I have no problem doing that. I've also been told that volvo's have electrical problems with volvo engine and no electrical problems with cummins. True?

I'm planning to haul flatbed, if I can get my hands on 53 foot rental then I will rent it until i can afford to buy 1. So, I'd be looking for 13spd tranny and possible below 3.7 rear. - Any advice?