When to shift

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Taytay051, Jul 11, 2019.

1. Taytay051

Taytay051 Bobtail Member

Mar 31, 2017
    So Firstly, I apologise if this is the wrong place to ask, but I wasn't sure which part of the forum to post this.

So I have been driving a COE Freightliner (Argosy) now for 4 months or so, with a DD15 and Eaton Autoshift, and I've been getting numerous different opinions from drivers and trainers about shifting it.

So this is an Automated manual transmission, it runs in auto or one can manually selected the gear.
    One of the pieces of advice I've heard is to just leave it to do its own thing, However on a downhill piece of road, I do not trust it to select a gear for me, and I don't think I ever will.

On the other hand, I know plenty of the drivers use them solely in manual, as they find the auto "Dim-Witted"
    I get the impression from my time in them, that it seems to mimic the way its driven, eg: if you drive it manually up the hills and hold it at a higher rpm, then it tends to over-rev when its in auto on flat ground.

This is another piece of confusion for me, I know guys who pull up the hills at around 1700-1800rpm, because thats peak power, But Im also told the torque curve for the DD15 is between 1000-1500, so that seems to be working it far too hard. In my exploring with it, I find it works hardest up the hills between 1400-1600 rpm, But then am I better letting run lower? Will I see better fuel economy working it at lower rpm?

I was also told, by our driver instructor, that the Jake works at best between 1800-2000 coming down a decline, with the engine fan on for extra drag. This seems ridiculously high to me, But at the end of the day I'm the rookie. Just curious where others like to let them sit.