Where is a decent place to start?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by nck_shrt, Dec 27, 2012.

1. nck_shrt

nck_shrt Bobtail Member

Dec 27, 2012
    White Deer, TX
    I am not new to the trucking scene, but I am new to OTR trucking. I have been working locally INTRA-STATE for 7 months now hauling cow hides from Amarillo area to Dallas rail yards in Intermodal containers. Unfortunately this doesnt pay squat, and it is becoming an O/OP scene. I turn 21 January 1st and am looking intently at FFE, werner, wse, prime, central ref, and swift as my possible choices. Running with some of FFE's, and Prime's employees up and down 287 has been disheartening, as they are all VERY negative about the company, miles, pay, etc. Now that I have heard the negative (ALOT) I was hoping to hear the honest side of it. I dont mind running, a 4k mile week is typical for me (and yes I am in a 64 mph Pro Star), home time isnt really an issue either, the wifes got us covered on benefits, so really i am just looking for a good place to get some much needed OTR experience, as lots of local BETTER jobs wont accept my INTRA-STATE driving experience as "REAL DRIVING EXPERIENCE", they all want AT LEAST 3 months OTR. So pretty much what I am asking is, 1. Are the big ones as bad as their road reputation, 2. can you get more than 3k/wk being a company driver, 3. Do you really not see home until you have been out 6-8 weeks??, 4. should I really expect to sit 4-5 days at a warehouse EVERY time I get dispatched? That's all I got now, if you could be of any assistance in answering this please do, as my current company is cutting out company trucks on the 3rd of January. :)

Chinatown Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Take a look at these companies:

Melton Truck Lines
    Miller Transporters