Where to go next?

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by Brothertrucker, Aug 25, 2012.

1. Brothertrucker

Brothertrucker Bobtail Member

Aug 25, 2012
    I am 19 years old, have my Class A CDL with all endorsement ( except hazmat ofcourse), and I have been driving local for the last 5 months. When I turn 21 I will have right at 2 years of experience, but am not quite sure of which company I want to start my OTR career with. I have been pulling hoppers, tankers, some flatbed, and some dry vans, as well as hoppers with auger unloads. Been looking at Prime, Maverick, USA Truck, Melton, and Roehl, but am unsure of where I want to go when the time comes. If anyone can shed some more light on this for me, or tell me about other good companies that hire at 21, that would be great! [​IMG]

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Mdbluecrab

Mdbluecrab <b>Crusty Crab</b>

Feb 4, 2010
    White Plains, Maryland
    With 2 years under your belt at the ripe old age of 21, you'll be ahead of the game. Stay away from the companies that you listed as they'll treat and pay you as a rookie. If you like flatbed, that's what I would go with. Get some experience and work your way up to hauling oversized and wide loads and eventually to heavy haul where the money is. Get on the computer, do your research and you'll find a company to grow with. Good luck in your adventures.

4. cb72728

cb72728 Bobtail Member

Oct 30, 2011
    OKLA
    Take each new learning experience one day at a time. Two years from now is going to take care of itself.

5. pattyj

pattyj Road Train Member

Jul 19, 2008
    Sioux City,ia
    You're doing your homework now,I like that.With some companies your 2 yrs exp won't count.They prefer 2 yrs OTR exp.So you may have to go out with a trainer.

6. Klatu

Klatu Road Train Member

Nov 26, 2010
    Argyle, TX