Working for Schneider while in the National Guard

Discussion in 'Schneider' started by irish16lep, Dec 28, 2012.

1. irish16lep

irish16lep Bobtail Member

Apr 14, 2012
    Fort Campbell, KY
    I'm a truck driver for the Army and I leave Active Duty in 2014. I was thinking of switching over to the National Guard and get in with Schneider on their Military program. Schneider seems to be the only company I can find that appreciates the Military, so I was wondering if anyone is doing this as well? Is it worth using my Post 9-11 GI Bill with them while working for them? While I'm using it do they actually pay you a good paycheck with crappy miles? Or is it good miles and crappy pay? My uncle says with Schneider your just a number and he's been trucking for years since I was a kid. He told me jump on a company for at least a year to get that experience and then go from there. I wouldn't mind OTR, I just wouldn't like it too much if I'm OTR and then come home just for drill then head back out all the time. It is what it is though. If it matters as well I'll be located in Masschusetts when I get out of the Army. Any information will be great thanks guys!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. MNdriver

MNdriver Road Train Member

Feb 24, 2012
    one of the biggest issues I had with driving was being in the guard. Those weekend drills really killed me trying to get home in a timely manner for them.

If they were back to back weekends, good luck getting any miles. It was bad enough that I actually stopped OTR and went local/regional for a few years.

I actually would say being in the guard and being an OTR driver are not really two jobs that go together. I also retired from the national guard too.

But that's just my experience.

rickybobby Thanks this.
  4. rickybobby

rickybobby Road Train Member

Jul 10, 2010
    greensboro, nc