Your thoughts

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by marshmann1979, Sep 20, 2017.

1. marshmann1979

marshmann1979 Bobtail Member

Jul 19, 2017
    So im new to the trucking world, only been driving 5 months. First 3 months were driving a log truck, getting paid by the load. I decided to get my tanker endorsement and haul permeate from cheese plant to farms and am getting paid per hour.

We pick up at plant out of a single bay. There is another trucking company that hauls a different waste product out of same bay. They will take and park their truck in bay to get loaded and leave to make deliveries using other trucks that have been loaded all ready. They tell us to pull their trucks out and to back another one of theirs in after we have been loaded. I did this for the first month and a half thinking that it just helped things flow, but started being asked by the other company drivers if i would back their truck in after i was loaded so they didnt have to wait for me. They wanted to go home for the day. If we dont pull their trucks out we have to sit and wait for an hour or longer. I started getting text from the head company driver on which trucks he wanted me to move and where. Also, that i needed to roll up the windows in their trucks when i pull them out. I would get these text from head driver and would drive by his house as was on my way to make a delivery and he would be at home calling it a day.

We back our trucks in and wait to be loaded and then leave.

How many of you would move their trucks in and out of bay for them?

Hom many believe this is their responsibility?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. dngrous_dime

dngrous_dime Road Train Member

Jan 28, 2014
    Lansing area, MI
    Personally, I wouldn't be doing it at all. It leaves you wide open for liability in case anything should happen. You aren't a legally authorized driver of their vehicles.