Company logo

Big G Express reviews

4.1
(12)
$635 - $1,400/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$635 $1,066 $1,400
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Big G Express

Share the salary you were paid at Big G Express

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Aug 18, 2021

Been with them 2 years now. There's a few minor things they could improve but overall a good company. I stay 2 weeks out but you can stay 1 or as many as you like. 130,000 miles during the plandemic.

Pros

Hometime,equipment, showers at 3 of the terminals,pet friendly,handgun friendly,good miles & ESOP PROGRAM.

Cons

A THEY COULD WORK A LITTLE MORE ON BEING EFFICIENT.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Jul 18, 2021

Haven’t been here long and have already been thru 4 trucks due to horrible equipment they may look nice but they are junk

Pros

Home time is great pay is ok good be better but not bad and they have the esop which is good

Cons

ALOT of NE horrible equipment and lot of short haul loads

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - May 9, 2021

Great Company to Drive for! You’re treated like a person and not only a truck number. Family oriented, they get you home when you need or want to be home. They are respectful to you as a person and respectful of the needs of their drivers and their families.

Pros

Great Equipment, great mechanics, good routes, and great facilities. You personally know your supervisors, the President and supervisors will make the time and take the effort to meet with the drivers around the shops and talk about issues or just shoot the breeze for a while. The drivers can call and talk to pretty much anyone all the way up to the President about any concerns. The fleet is now all Kenworth T-680s.

Cons

The APUs are old and unreliable. However, if the truck is having APU issues, they don’t mind the drivers idling the truck.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - May 4, 2021

Equipment is KW t680 all with in 4yrs old lots of new trailers home every weekend if you want to be I average aronnd 2300 mi on weekend home 32-3500 when working the weekend run everything east of the Mississippi except for Dallas and Houston

Pros

Excellent benefits the EAOP plan is very hard to beat

Cons

Pay is a little low but make up in benefits

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - May 3, 2021

This is by far the best company I have been with. They are truly a driver focused company. They really do go the extra mile to make sure your home when you need to be. They also know how stressful driving can be for they have been drivers also. The pay could be a little more competitive I agree. However the retirement is second to none in my opinion. I personally will retire from here.

Pros

Great miles great retirement. Dispatchers are there for you. They go the extra mile to make sure your home when needed.

Cons

Salary could be a mile more competitive.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Shelbyville, TN on Aug 18, 2021

$1,308 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Greenback, TN on May 9, 2021

$1,058 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Chattanooga, TN on May 4, 2021

$1,000 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Nicholson, GA on May 3, 2021

$1,400 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Indiana on Apr 30, 2021

$1,000 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Koch or Big G, which would you choose?

tjh

Jun 28, 2016

Koch or Big G, which would you choose?

Big G is a great otr company. Both my wife and I worked there for several years. If you live in TN they will get you home every single weekend, unless you choose to stay out longer. I highly recommend them.

Big G Express Shelbyville, Tn So far........

Tenn I See Trucker

Jun 5, 2014

Big G Express Shelbyville, Tn So far........

I have been driving for 22 years and for a lot, I mean a lot of companies.....I have only found 3 that were decent, Wright Transportation, Mobile, Al., Tyson Foods, and my current employer Big G Express. I have posted positive reviews on here before about past compaines, but then something happens,i.e. miles drop, big management changes, or they go bankrupt. Now I digress back to Big G. I started here in March.I applied here 5 years ago and the pay was low and the insurance was horrible, so I passed. 3 years ago the owners sold the company to the employees, and things changed, driver pay increased (3 weeks ago they gave us a .04 cpm across the board pay raise),we got more extra pay items, and the insurance is awesome. You get insurance from DAY ONE if you so choose. The ESOP plan puts FREE MONEY INTO YOUR RETIREMENT! yes I said free!!!!.Basically the more money the company as a whole makes you make more, because after all you are an employee owner. Here are a few of my observations thus far: