Company logo

Boyd Bros. Transportation reviews

4.4
(5)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Boyd Bros. Transportation

Share the salary you were paid at Boyd Bros. Transportation

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Apr 20, 2022

I came to this company over 6 years ago and I'm still here going strong. I've been on all sides of this company from company driver to lease purchase and now owner operator, and I love it. I go home every weekend unless I decide to stay out for 2 weeks. I'm between 2500 to 3200 miles a week and I still go home on the weekend. I haul all kinds of building materials, steel, coils, and etc.The pay is great and always on time, as long as you get your paperwork in on time. You get payed every week and again on TIME. You have a lot of flexibility when it comes to hometime/family time and for me great hometime and great pay, I'll be here awhile.

Pros

You have to do a little work.

Cons

You have to do a little work.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Boyd Bros. Transportation

Thanks for the rave review! We've enjoyed watching you grow so far and are so happy to have you in the Boyd Bros. family!

Current Employee - Apr 20, 2022

Great company help me reach some of my goals in life the little time I’ve been here. Nick Walker is great with loads. Jeff is a very easy to get along with safety guy. Cheri Anders is very helpful if you need info about the eld. Just a overall good company to join.

Pros

Best trucking company by far. They are on call when you need them and very helpful when you need them. Home every weekend if need be. Great opportunity for those who want to buy their own truck with no money down. Best decision I ever made coming here.

Cons

Can’t really think of any besides not being able to pay truck off early at the moment.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Boyd Bros. Transportation

Thank you so much for the great rating! We’re so happy to have you in the Boyd Bros. family!

Current Employee - Apr 20, 2022

Great place to work. They treat you like family. Pretty good at getting you home when you want. Great pay as long as you don't mind doing some work and rolling. All equipment is up to date.

Pros

Great pay. Nice managers and dispatchers. Nice equipment. They keep you rolling.

Cons

Need more shippers in certain states!!!

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Boyd Bros. Transportation

We appreciate your kind words! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Current Employee - Apr 19, 2022

Good equipment, can’t complain about the home time. I prefer percent over miles and Boyd offers just that. Plenty options on freight.

Pros

Up to date reliable equipment

Cons

Sometimes it’s difficult getting in touch with fleet managers.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Boyd Bros. Transportation

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and the community. Your feedback means a lot to us!

Current Employee - May 23, 2017

Decent equipment, all international prostars, 10spd new ones have ISX15's. Currently phasing out the maxxforce trucks. Most loads are building materials currently grossing ~$1000 per week as a rookie driver. There good money to be made especially on dedicated accounts in SC, and wv. Plus home every weekend. Can't speak for miles as I run dedicated in SC.

Pros

Most people at Boyd seem to actually enjoy their jobs and are willing to help the driver.

Cons

Management of dispatch is a bit lax so SOME but not all FMs have a superiority complex. Payroll also seems incompetent at best.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Birmingham, AL on Apr 20, 2022

$2,000 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Birmingham, AL on Apr 20, 2022

$3,846 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 6-11 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Birmingham, AL on Apr 19, 2022

$1,923 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Columbia SC on May 2, 2018

$0 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 1-5 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Lexington, SC on May 23, 2017

$1,080 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

59EX

Jul 18, 2015

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

Boyd is a great starter company 2 get ur feet wet w flatbed and learn the ropes on load securement. If u don't mind being a company Driver and u like flatbed it's the company 4 u (in my opinion, but I went there fresh from school and stayed 4yrs)

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

59EX

Jul 18, 2015

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

Q: What kind of trucks do they have? Their site is very vague. Automatics or stick? Most company sites give at least a little idea on trucks,...

A: They have 10 spd internationals but they have a few freightliners & t660's 4 lease purchase drvrs

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

travelman

Feb 23, 2015

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

My husband just started as a trainer. He has been with Boyd for 9 months. Boyd is a GREAT company to work for. You go through your new employee training session in the classroom then you go out with a trainer for i think 6-8 weeks (give or take). You go home every other weekend and your trainer goes home every other weekend. They will put you up in a hotel when it's your trainers turn to go home. You make $500 a week training pay during this time.

 

He has been averaging 2000+. Of course without having a dedicated run, miles can vary a lot weekly. He should gross over $40000 this year and has only been driving less than a year.

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

59EX

Jul 18, 2015

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

I had one of those in my first tractor, they (Boyd) only out them in your first unit, and after only if you ask for one. 

And believe me: they can save your arse, big-time... as long as you didn't do something stupid. 

They only record 12 seconds around an event, and get reviewed before being sent on to the company ***IF*** they feel the event is reportable (so falling in a pothole or falling out of your bunk won't trigger them). 

I got rear-ended by a supertrucker once, and the camera proved I was alert, driving safely, and didn't do anything stupid. The inward facing part can be covered if you don't want it to see you changing clothes, by using a piece of tape, as long as you uncover it while driving. 

Truth is, I went and got a little Walmart drive cam, and put a 32gb card in it, to be sure I covered my butt in the event of an accident. 

Bottom line: they ain't all bad. And could save yet butt in an accident, as long as you didnt cause it.

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

59EX

Jul 18, 2015

Looking at Boyd Bros and TMC

I know this is an old post but I've got 2 put in my 2 cents. I was at boyd 4 5yrs starting in '11. They are a great company 2 start with and get your feet wet as long as u don't have any aspirations of becoming an owner op; don't fall in to there lease purchase scam unless you're just saving your $ 2 buy your own truck. There are some guys who have paid off their truck but the majority will fail; I saved my $ and put a down payment on my own truck and left boyd. Boyd has been through alot of changes since the old man died & daske bought majority share; they are not the company I started with. Boyd used to be a company you would retire from but now they're just a company you go to so you can learn how to flatbed & move to a flatbed company that only hires experienced flatbedders. Hope this helps

How often are you getting home with Boyd?

Drivers girl

Apr 15, 2015

How often are you getting home with Boyd?

Q: Hate to bring up and old thread but....I live in north Florida, what's the home time looking like for me?

A: Hard to say, it seems they like to run newbie drivers a bit, before giving them decent home time. 

That said, I stay out 2 weeks at a time, and sometimes longer if I have appointments I need to make on Thursday or Friday. 

The new trucks are Cumming 13liter, and Cummins won't unlock them, so 67 is it. They still like to push the mpg limit on us, but if you're close or running heavy loads, they won't complain too much. Of course, the tractors are Internationals, and they just aren't all that. For what we're expected to do, we don't get much more than the minimum to do it; and the AC units in the sleepers don't work well at all. 

Biggest problem, besides FMs with bonuses that are more important than you are, is they're cutting costs in alot of areas (tarps, tractors, techs, straps, etc) that they shouldn't be doing so. Plus driver turnover is horrendous. 

I've been here 2 years now, and overall had a good run, mainly because I've had two very good FMs that made sure I get good runs, and get home when I want to. My only concern is the corner-cutting that's affecting everything else we do. Otherwise, the cpm is decent (.40 to start as a rookie), the benefits are excellent, if a bit pricey; and they won't question you if you have a problem that needs fixing, a tire blows, or if the weather is so bad you feel unsafe driving in it.

Going to Boyd Brothers

dpark

Jun 1, 2013

Going to Boyd Brothers

Boyd brothers is great if you get the right dispatcher. My first one I had was terrible, I thought that was just the way it was, after I got my second one when my first quit, I was very pleased, he was very flexible about finding loads that could be delivered late Monday or on Tuesday to give me time to go the doctor on Mondays after the weekend. Or If I told him I wanted to take a long weekend he would get me in on a late Thursday instead of late one Friday night.. which is really just a day off. Flat bed is really hard though, I hope you're used to working very hard in the elements. IT sucks climbing in your truck wet with sweat or rain and trying to clean up. You'll need to shower sometimes twice a day, you stay nasty, and you do a lot of work in your "off duty" time so you can be ready to roll when you're 10 hour break is up. I was always broke needing the money but I guess if I took it easy then it wouldn't have been as bad. By the way I was a trainer for Boyd Brothers and left in good terms for a job with Schneider delivering for walmart... paid about the same and was much better job!