Company logo

Decker Truck Line reviews

2.9
(16)
$450 - $2,308/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$450 $1,277 $2,308
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Decker Truck Line

Share the salary you were paid at Decker Truck Line

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Apr 17, 2021

Recruiters lie to you with no problem. Hired to run the west coast, sent only to Midwest. Told the west coast reefer division doesn’t exist. Do not believe what’s being told, total lies. I quit and they held my last check, don’t get caught up in the hype.

Pros

Cons

Lies will be told and if you quit they’ll keep your last check.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Apr 6, 2021

Started as company driver made good money but before I bought my own truck they were great will lease you on then when I took my new truck and ready to sign on went in to do paperwork and was told your not hired so I left a week later I get a call from them wanting to know why I left then they proceed to tell me it was a misunderstanding on my part asked what they ment it was oh your truck isn't hired on yet I said no misunderstanding if truck not hired then I'm not hired then they said come to our missoula yard then they offered me $1.00 a mile to run for them like I was some rookie that didn't know anything about being a owner operator I would like to see a Don Decker be able to make it on that then they want to charge me $355.00 for not being with them for 6 months saying I quit when it was their own person that said I wasn't hired I didn't quit

Pros

Good company as a company driver

Cons

Would not go as owner operator will rip you off

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Feb 8, 2021

Been here 3 years, had its ups and downs. Freight issues are not company fault. Never any issues with home time or length of stay. Never bothered by dispatch on load stuff, if it's deliver on time they don't ever call you.

Pros

Great equipment Good maintenance Free satellite TV Api/inverter/fridge/micro included

Cons

Driver facing cam 90% automatic trucks

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Aug 31, 2020

They give some drivers loads that are a day or 2 late and want you to get them there within 24 hrs.And if it is late you get written up because it is the drivers fault. You need to change your driver mangers and not your drivers.

Pros

Non

Cons

driver managers

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - May 14, 2020

I have been with company for just over a month and so far they have full filled everything they advertised and what I was promised by a recruiter. When taking home time I was asked how long that I would like to be home before going back out again and with the apps they use it most certainly has simplified my job way more than at other companies that I have worked for in the past. I have driving for 21 years is this place perfect, no it's not, but so far has been the best place I have worked to date.

Pros

Pay, top notch equipment and Driver managers that seem to have a vested interest in our success

Cons

with drop and hook the previous driver of the trailer doesn't always take time to get repairs made so sometimes trailer problems get passed on to you.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Fort Dodge, Iowa on Apr 6, 2021

$1,200 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Ft Dodge, Iowa on Feb 8, 2021

$1,250 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Texas on Aug 31, 2020

$450 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Sherman, TX on May 14, 2020

$1,450 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Fort Dodge, IA on May 12, 2020

$1,000 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Decker Truck Line

superfly9376

Jun 18, 2016

Decker Truck Line

Well, I'm in a hotel since my trainer is on his home time so I figured I'd share my experience so far. I graduated school back in April. Since I wasn't 23 tmc and boyd turned me down so I bounced between maverick, roehl, and melton for the longest. My friends dad has been driving for decker for last 3 years and has been doing well so I figured I would give it a shot and contacted a recruiter. Everything they told me sounded good on the phone although I still had my expectations low because I didn't know what to expect. They got me a rental car and off I went to Fort Dodge, Iowa. The staff over orientation did a pretty good job in my opinion. They shot it straight with you but they were still friendly and respectful. We had 15 guys that week and only 2 got sent home for medical reasons. And another guy decided that it wasn't for him. Out of the remainder only 3 of us were doing flatbed and the rest were reefer. At the end of that week those who had experience were issued trucks and assigned a load to get them home for the weekend. One of the guys who was flatbed had experience and got a brand new Pete with 3500 mIles on it. Me and the other guy had to do load securement training the following week for 3 days. I ended up leaving a day early that next week because they had a trainer come through the terminal and decided to let me go ahead and hitch a ride with him for the next 4 weeks. Lol. It also turned out that I was his first trainee. He's a really cool guy though. He set aside fridge, closet, and cabinet space for me for some of my stuff. I still have another 2 weeks with him but it's been a really good experience so far. I'm pleased so far with my decision coming to decker. They were honest with everything they told me over the phone and didn't lie about a thing to me. I'm not saying everyone may or may not have experienced the same thing, but they've been good to me thus far.

decker truck line

lerenzo

Jul 2, 2015

decker truck line

decker is the worst company, the only thing that I good I can say is the equipment. if you want good equipment with low pay join decker flatbed division, I worked for them 2 months out of my the Bessemer terminal it was a good experience from the people I met at orientation. the company side I can say this you learn from your experience. if you go on the website you will see that per diem that is included but it's out of your money. let me explain they paid me .44 per mile subtract .08 cent, I was making .36 per mile, and they the tell you you will get 2000-2500, my average was 1700 miles per week. if you want to good equipment with low pay decker truck line is the place for you.