Company logo

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Freymiller

Share the salary you were paid at Freymiller

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Aug 18, 2021

I worked briefly but my time in trucking since 2014, they have driver managers who talk down to you they make you late a lot loads poor preplans you do get 1000+ miles but your in pos truck constant breakdowns if the part is expensive they think poor investment so no fix thats words from the shop mechanics. last few days i had a exhaust leak they said was fix then they said there was no leak me being driver they said i didnt know what i was talking about i had a co2 detector go off at night turned apu off told them in morning they said your late we will get you shop as soon we think we can. they eventually told me after refusing give me different truck drive it or pack my stuff. So wasn't a hard choice honestly as bad this sounds would recommend swift over them and many other megas.

Pros

none

Cons

condesending dm, poor preplans making loads late before you ever get and put the blame on the driver, unsafe equipment.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Oct 12, 2020

Freymiller is a “GREAT” company to work for been here 4 yrs don’t listen to the guys bad mouthing this company

Pros

Equipment office staff miles miles miles

Cons

Honestly nothing to add

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Sep 14, 2020

Equipment is decent , the shop mechanics slap band aids on the issues spend more time in the shop than I do on the road , to be honest id definitely go somewhere else to work , you'll have more low mile weeks than good weeks its to hit and miss here

Pros

none

Cons

low miles , never home on time , missed several important appointments at home due to them getting me home late

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jan 11, 2020

Must have 6 months to start as a solo. Pay starts at 0.43 cpm. Orientation 3 days starting tuesday pay is 300$ . No sharing hotels , paid breakfast and lunch. You get paid Friday for orientation but you won't get a paycheck for 2 weeks due to the delay pay. You will be required to buy 2 load locks for orientation costing 100$. The 1100 mile average is true, lots of miles . There is mandatory per diem it's not optional. Home time is 1 day for 1 week . 3 weeks out minimum, 5 days home max. Freymiller uses loves exclusively you can fill up at any loves. They do reimburse parking . They do not pay for scale tickets but will reimburse you for the cost. They don't have prepass or paid tolls you must enter all scales, you take a toll road they will charge you. They have mandatory routing , it cost a dollar a mile if you go out of route. They do not do 34 hour resets you have to request one by dispatch you will run recaps. 30% of the loads are relays , not much drop and hook mostly live load/unload with automatic detention at 20 an hour after 2 hours. Dispatch is very rude and pushy but do not bother you if you are on time. Most days you won't hear from a dispatcher if you on time they do leave you alone. Night dispatch will call you to do repowers, don't answer if you don't want the load or they will ding you with a service failure. You can listen to dispatch calling drivers insulting names over the phone in the office. The biggest thing about the company is the long hauls 1700+ mile runs.

Pros

Long haul coast to coast reefer

Cons

Rude dispatch poor home time

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Jun 14, 2019

The equipment is OK you usually have to fight for home time and management is not very good and does not care

Pros

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - ... CDL Experience

Surveyed in Texas on Aug 18, 2021

$800 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - ... CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Sep 14, 2020

$700 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Apr 4, 2020

$3,423 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City ok on Jan 11, 2020

$1,100 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Sep 21, 2019

$1,323 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Freymiller

bamamac

Jul 4, 2016

Freymiller

Pay on the company side is low but they will keep you moving to make up for it. I never feel below 3k miles a week unless i went home or truck was in the shop. The started at.39 cpm when i was there. They have a pretty good lease program but you have to drive company with them for 6 months and catch Don in his office to discuss that. They treat you like a professional and if you do a good job for them then they will bend over backwards to do you right. Trucks ate pretty much all pete 579's with a few 386's still there and they have kW"s for teams. And when i left they had gotten 10 freight shakers as an experiment, doubt they will last long but they are nice as well, they are all cascadia evolutions and all trucks are o/o spec'd with apu's and the shop sells fridges for them deducted weekly and for the trucks that don't have inverters, they will install one up to 1500 watts if you buy it.. all in all they are a great company, especially if you hate the n.e. and love the west coast

Freymiller

bamamac

Jul 4, 2016

Freymiller

Been with them for 10 mo. Still here for now. It's been up and down for me. +nice equipment, + treat u like an adult. +if u give them the day you need to be home u will be there (okc for me. No idea if it works for others who take time off in other parts of the country.) No matter how inefficient they are at it. And by this i mean if you're 200 miles from home you could sit for 2 days until they give up and have u deadhead home. But u will be home when u asked to be. Nevermind the 2 or 3 days u give up for free to get there. 

My biggest peeve is detention a lot of these shippers and recievers are chronic detainers. It's out of control. It's not exclusive to freymiller but I think the only way to get this problem under control is for it to cost the shippers and recievers money. As it is now there is no recoarse for these clowns. They can keep a driver and equipment tied up for hours for free. How many millions of dollars of driver and equipment hours are lost to this each year? If it affected their bottom line the way it does drivers it would cease to be a problem. Now if reputable companies like freymiller keep bringing them freight on time in spite of chronic detention it will never change. There are some great shippers and recievers that treat our time as valuable and that is awesome it's a real treat to go to those places. The answer so far has been to punish and regulate drivers into poverty. We are skilled valuable human beings that tolerate crazy amounts of bs from government regs to company policies and stupid traffic deal with maddening delays for absolutely no reason other than "we can now leave".

 


Freymiller

bamamac

Jul 4, 2016

Freymiller

 I drove for them for 2 years. Never,not 1 time ever, did they get me home on the day I requested. I'm from Western NC. The miles are low, the unpaid detention is very high. It's not unusual to sit at a dock for 5-7 hours. I made EVERY appointment on time, unless it was out of my control. I tried my best to get good miles. Nope. I went all the way up the ladder, and used the open door policy,and spoke to David Freymiller himself about the crappy miles.

I drove a Pete 386. It was the SLOWEST truck pulling a mountain. In my opinion, you can do a lot better than Freymiller.

Freymiller

Solarpower818

Jan 24, 2016

Freymiller

Hey everyone, I thought I'd start a thread and just talk about my experience with Freymiller. I didn't post anything when I was working there, because I was always busy and always had more important things to take care of. But I'm home right now, taking some time off, and didn't see any recently updated threads about them.

Just want to say first off, that everyone's experience with a company is different, so keep that in mind. There are a lot of variables involved.

I went to orientation in Sept. '14 and quit in Nov. '15 because I was so burnt out. I had a lot going on in my personal life while I was there there(divorce, health problems, moving, etc.), plus they ran me really hard, so although in my 5 1/2 years trucking, this was my favorite company, I had to quit so I could rest up and get some personal stuff straightened out, and then see about whether to go local or return to Freymiller.

I always do a lot of research before I apply to a company, and Freymiller looked good, but the main reason I went with them in the end was because they were one of the few that would allow my 85lb dog. But some other things that attracted me to them were the equipment, the APU's and refrigerators, the pay, the insurance, and then the fact that I couldn't find many people with anything bad to say about them.

With about 4 years' prior experience, they started me out at .39/mile, which I know some will say is low, but I consider it to be pretty decent for an OTR company. They processed my application really quickly, and flew me out to orientation in OKC on the date of my choice. When there was a problem with my flight and it almost got cancelled, my recruiter stayed in touch with me, and helped work out the details of how to get to my hotel since the shuttle wouldn't be running by the time I got there. They ended up reimbursing me for a taxi. The hotel was the Extended Stay America, which was a decent hotel. Not top notch, but clean, safe, and the rooms have a full kitchenette. They send a shuttle to get you in the morning, and it brings you back in the evening. The driver is really nice, and might make a quick stop on the way, if you need something. He will also take you to Walmart if you need to get a few things.

Orientation was three days. Typical orientation, so I won't go into details. I will say that the physical shouldn't be a problem for you if you're healthy. However, I am a small female, and I had a little trouble lifting the weights above my head, and with the push/pull test. In fact, I think it was on the push test, I couldn't get up to the desired amount of force, no matter how hard I tried. I just didn't have enough weight to put into it. Finally they asked me how much I weighed, and then called someone at Freymiller and told them that my weight was not much more than the amount of force they expect, and they passed me. So all this to say, they are not looking to fail you for any little thing, and they are very nice people. Also, I had experience and a clean record, so they knew I was capable of doing the job.

At the end of the third day they assign you your truck. We were not given a choice on color. They have red, yellow, white, black, blue, and purple trucks. Most of us did not get the color we wanted. After you get your truck, you inspect it and fill out an inspection sheet to note any damage or repairs needed. Then the fun part. They claimed that our trucks had been detailed, but this was not true. Mine wasn't too bad, but I know that at least a couple of other drivers got really nasty trucks. The common factor among all was that they had been smoked in, a lot, and not by clean smokers. I helped one driver clean his truck after mine was done, and we scrubbed and scrubbed, every inch of that truck. So I would say expect that you will have to do this, if you want a clean truck.

I was put in a 2012 Peterbilt 386. Most of their trucks are 386's. Mine was in decent shape. I had to write up a few things, and they fixed those, and also gave me all brand new tires, which was awesome, especially in mid-September with winter approaching. After my truck was ready to roll, my first load was a relay from the yard going to Maryland, to get me home to Virginia to pick up my things and get my dog. When I got home, they let me take a couple days off, even though I hadn't even been driving for them for a week yet.

From an old facebook post at the time, I can tell you what my first few loads were like, although I didn't record dates. However, it looks like I got home on September 17th, and my post which I will copy below was on October 6.

["Oklahoma City, OK to Upper Marlboro, MD - 1,361 paid miles

home for a few days

Harrisonburg, VA to Pauls Valley, OK - 1,235 paid miles

OKC yard for repairs

Elk City, OK to Keasbey, NJ - 1,559 paid miles

East Rutherford, NJ to Houston, TX - 1,628 paid miles

Waco, TX to Pleasanton, CA - 1,787 paid miles"]

That adds up to 7,570 paid miles in less than three weeks. If you take away 2 or 3 days at home, and probably 1 or 2 days for repairs, I'd say that's pretty good.

freymiller

Sti400

Dec 24, 2015

freymiller

Hi ive been in this forum since july of this year. I went to school and got my cdl and i decided to come work for freymiller. I spent 7 weeks with a trainer and i just upgraded to my new truck got my first load 1400 miles. Everything has gone well so far with this company, i hope to learn more as time goes by if any one has any questions about freymiller i will be glad to answer them.