Company logo

Holland Enterprises reviews

3.1
(7)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Holland Enterprises

Share the salary you were paid at Holland Enterprises

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Feb 25, 2021

The equipment is great & upkeep is outstanding! They get me in the terminal about every 1.5-2 months and go over the tractor on one side of the shop and the trailer on the other side of the shop. The shop guys want you to tell them if there are any problems so they can get right to fixing it. The dispatch keeps you rolling! You usually have your next load on the way to your current delivery or while you're getting unloaded, hardly any time passes from delivery to the next load. I've never had a problem getting home when I need to, but I do also stay out 3-4 months at a time. All they ask is for 2 weeks notice if when you want to be home. Easy people to get along with, very helpful & always want your insight on anything.

Pros

New equipment, lots of miles, 100% company paid medical after 2 years of service, quarterly safety bonus, friendly staff

Cons

Only thing negative I can say is they have a company rule about personal conveyance which is such an annoyance... if you happen to run out of hours while at a shipper/reciever, you have to have arrived with at least one hour of drive time remaining. In which you have to call to get them to turn it on for you.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Holland Enterprises

Thank you for the review. Personal Conveyance is an annoyance, I agree with that but the rules for it's use are very strict. One way we keep our safety record clean is to make sure everyone follows those rules. We realize that calling in to get PC turned on is annoying but we have made it so it can be done 24/7 if necessary. Thank you again and keep up the good work!

Current Employee - Aug 28, 2018

If you are looking for a great place to drive and get the miles then check this place out! They have a great staff, Top Equipment, and a great group of drivers. they shoot to get their drivers 11,000 to 13,000 miles a month! the average length of haul is around 1500 miles one way! plus they even pay for your Direct TV and XM Radio! couldn't be happier or see myself working for a better organization!

Pros

2016 - 2019 Freightliner Cascadia Evolutions equipt with • APU’s • Inverter • Fridge • Satellite TV (Company Paid) • 24 inch Mounted Flat Screen TV (Company Paid) • Satellite Radio (Company Paid) Benefits package including 401K matching 50% contribution and Per Diem

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jul 23, 2021

No home time really and once you do go home they give you bad loads. You run 7 days a week and the pay is low. I did over 40k miles in 4 months and made more with swift. Now that’s bad. They DO NOT WANT TO PAY YOU for detention. I quit not fired but quit, they don’t give you verbal warnings before leaving etc. They just say it’s apart of the contract they will leave you in North Dakota stranded or try to ruin your career. Stay away horrible dispatch, drivers are secondary I’m saying this as a person who left not a person who was fired. They are very disrespectful towards drivers and will falsely accuse you so stay away. Home time sucks, most the drivers there are guys who live in they trucks and weird looking. The equipment is cool and the mechanics are very nice. Staff members are great and Eric Holmes is super cool love that guy, but it’s some people there that are evil. Weekly miles vary but not consistent enough and they blame it on the driver. The loads at certain customers could risk you losing your CDL, they manipulate logs to keep you moving like a machine, and when you speak out your tired or it’s unsafe to drive in a severe storm they will say they’ll terminate you if you don’t move the load. Just know this, they put dispatch first so whatever they say goes, they will make you at fault even though they are abusing labor laws.

Pros

Nice equipment,

Cons

Bad miles, keep you away from home, no parking lots

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Feb 23, 2021

Working for Holland Enterprises is the worst company there is. First of all Holland Enterprises does not pay you anything to attend their orientation while other companies pay as much as $150.00 per day. There is absolutely no sign on bonus which can be as much as $10,000.00 for some companies. They tell you that they will pay you detention before you start but once you are employed they will find every excuse in the book not to pay you and even sometimes say that the customer has a three hour leeway instead of the normal two. First of all Holland Enterprises is the ONLY trucking company that pays you nothing to attend their orientation. Ship Ex pays $923.00 just to attend orientation and Pride Transportation offers a $10,000.00 sign on bonus. Nine times out of ten they will cheat you and not pay you detention. Holland Enterprises is the only employer I have had in my 49 years of life that I actually PAID to work. Dispatch had me pick up a load after an 8am delivery in which the pick up appointment time was 6am making it impossible to deliver on time so I had to pay a $150 fine to reschedule delivery. I had to pay $150 just to work, something I've never had to do in my entire life. The pay at Holland Enterprises is amongst the lowest compared to for example, Marten Transport, over the course of the year you will be paid about $20,000.00 less working for Holland Enterprises than for Marten. In essence, you will lose $20,000 every year you work for Holland Enterprises. Being family owned, Holland Enterprises is a very unscrupulous company taking advantage of people any way they can. One day, I was taking a shower at a truck stop and when I returned to my truck noticed hit and run damage. Holland Enterprises lied about the incident and put on my DAC report that I was at fault and struck a stationary object when in fact I was not even in the truck. It is no wonder that such an evil company as Holland Enterprises is unable to expand to much more than 300 trucks after nearly 50 years of being in business, in contrast to an honest and ethical company like Swift being successful with over 10,000 trucks. Finally, I suffered employee abuse when my APU broke down after my second pick up of a load in Southern California to be delivered to Minnesota in the dead of WINTER. Their trucks will not idle when you stop so if your APU doesn't work you will have absolutely no heat in your truck when you stop. Holland told me not to worry about having the APU fixed just deliver the load and when you stop stay in a hotel. Easier said than done but suffice to say I managed to make it to Minnesota and deliver the load on time as usual. After delivering the load in the freezing cold of winter, Holland Enterprises would not allow me to return to the terminal without picking up a load first at Michael Foods in Gaylord, MN which is a rural area with no nearby hotels where I can park my truck so I ended up suffering from HYPOTHERMIA. In conclusion, working at Holland Enterprises is the closest thing to modern day slavery and INHUMANITY!!!

Pros

There is absolutely nothing good.

Cons

You will lose $20,000.00 every year working for Holland Enterprises!!!

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Holland Enterprises

We are sorry you were unhappy but there are multiple problems with your review. We certainly do pay for orientation and have for a long time and detention is paid from 1 minute past 2 hours after your appointment time. Saying that you were forced to pay a fine "just to work" is completely inaccurate, you will always be reimbursed if you have to pay out of your own pocket for things like that. Some of our drivers make more than $90,000 and some make much less if they do not want to work that hard. Our freight is designed for the drivers that want to run over 140,000 miles a year and since many companies do not come anywhere near that, we are not for everyone. You say that you were in Gaylord, MN with your APU not working. There is a hotel called the Travelers Lodge and Suites located 1/2 mile from the shipper and you could have either paid and been reimbursed or given an EFS check to pay for the room so that is inaccurate and very misleading information. I'm sorry you were not a good fit for us but if you are willing to work, we are willing to keep you running hard. Please be safe out there.

Former Employee - Dec 30, 2020

Finally a company that does it rite,great equipment,lots of miles,people that care About their drivers,you are a name not a number.

Pros

No micro managing get you home on time,great family atmosphere easy place to work great shop

Cons

Lower rate of pay but no other cons.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Los Angeles, CA on Jul 23, 2021

$700 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Fargo, ND on Feb 25, 2021

$1,250 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Fargo, ND on Feb 23, 2021

$769 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Jackson, NJ on Dec 30, 2020

$1,077 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - ... CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Jun 17, 2020

$769 per week

Current Employee

No