Company logo

Koch Trucking reviews

2.9
(14)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$654 $1,180 $1,500
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Koch Trucking

Share the salary you were paid at Koch Trucking

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Jan 14, 2024

They didn't tell me about being governed 66mph until I was at orientation. They don't have enough miles for the best buy account in Denver. I was lied to about pay. I had to beg and plead to get a PM done on time and because denver fleet doesn't have a terminal at all or mechanics they wouldn't let me get it done so my truck derated 2 times. I lost loads and hurt my paycheck because of this. Just recently best buy isn't allowing drivers to sleep on the yard but koch doesn't have a place for drivers to go now so that start end of January 2024. You will have to park elsewhere. You won't have a place to go besides truck stops. Trailers are old and always have major issues with landing gear not moving because again there is no terminal in Denver and no mechanics regularly working on equipment. Always brake leaks, tandem issues. The yard jockeys will walk off the job they don't care about their jobs. Always trailers you trying to hook to is always dropped high so you will have to constantly lower the trailer yourself to hook. They have made it clear you don't matter at this company, if you speak up against any of the nonsense you will be fired. Safety is beyond ridiculous with their department always calling over minor issues they make out to be major issues. My lowest checks have been with this company, even during their busy season. Avoid, at all costs. Don't waste your time getting hired etc. It won't last.

Pros

Dedicated best buy routes

Cons

Safety is out of control, governed 66mph, low paychecks, no terminal to park at, no mechanics, trailers are trash.

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Current Employee - Dec 5, 2023

I haven't seen a truck older then three years. Pay is decent could be better. Koch has some old trailers. They are trying to replace them.

Pros

Management will work with you to be home

Cons

Super regional manager is the hardest to get to know

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Sep 1, 2023

Had to switch from one division to another to make a decent living, Trucks I drove , a 2020 n 2024 were good trucks, trailers on the other hand, nearly all had abs issues, had a brake chamber fall off axle, lost a set of tandems with no sign off lose lugnuts on outside tire. Hauled some permit loads, wait time on permits unacceptable, was sent wrong permits. If you do anything wrong, might as well just clean out your truck, the decision to fire you will already be made before you get to office. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Pros

NONE

Cons

Everything about the company. Full of lies n broken promises. If that is how they treat their family members, glad I'm not part of it anymore.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - May 23, 2023

As with most carriers, they keep pyshing their drivers to recruit for them. They keep hiring, but all that doed is make lesd work available for ALL drivers. Quit hiring if you can't keep drivers moving

Pros

Great people, great equipment

Cons

Have to wait fOr loads WAY TOO OFTEN. Makes it very hard to get the miles I want

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Apr 24, 2023

I’m very happy with Koch. I get home every weekend if I want to and run on a dedicated account with consistent miles. Your cents per mile rate depends on your experience and division and for my division my layover pay is $250 a day. There are several divisions and dedicated routes to be on. The people who work at the company know you by name not your truck number. I recently got hurt on the job and within 24 hours I was contacted by 6 different people, put in a hotel, and was well taken care of. I have nothing negative to say about Koch.

Pros

New equipment, great miles, attentive company personnel.

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Denver, CO on Jan 14, 2024

$1,000 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Dec 5, 2023

$1,200 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Minneapolis, MN on Sep 1, 2023

$1,346 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Ardmore, OK on Apr 24, 2023

$1,200 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Waxhaw, NC on Dec 11, 2022

$1,500 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

koch trucking

rpad139

Dec 28, 2015

koch trucking

I ran Best Buy for Koch out of Atlanta for 4 years as a lease driver. My gross yearly was never less than 
$180K and I never had any issues with them or my truck that I paid off. I don't doubt that a lot of these stories from drivers are true but if you base your career choice on trucking forums alone, you wouldn't work for any company and I know many owner operators who have the same horror stories when they lease on to companies. By all means do your research and then take a chance because for every 1 complaint about a company there are probably 50 good.

koch trucking

rpad139

Oct 28, 2015

koch trucking

Spoke with a 20 year koch driver in dinuba who was running the best buy account. I took his word on how great the company was, and took a leap of faith and boarded a airplane heading to minneapolis, mn from california. 

Upon arriving, a shuttle was arranged to transport about 8 other california drivers to our hotel. Very nice hotel with pool, gym, restaurant, etc...

Orientation was great. Koch really rolled out the red carpet for us. Breakfast, lunch, dinner paid for. Flight is paid for. Everyone has their own hotel room. 

Fleet consists of volvo vnl730, prostar international, handful of kenworths. They are moving towards automatic in ALL the trucks. Every truck has an apu,1800watt, inverter, super singles, disc brakes.

This is a pretty small company about 7-800 trucks. Trucks are very nice and looks like they take care of the equipment. They have a lot of dedicated accounts around the midwest and south.

Pretty excited that i was given a 2016 volvo vnl730 automatic with apu, 1800wattinverter, and all the extras. 

I believe they are still looking for more drivers out of california. Preferably drivers from the central valley such as fresno, madera, stockton, visalia, with a radius of dinuba. Feel free to ask any questions.

 

Koch has orientation every monday and thursday. Approximately 4 days depending how fast it takes to get employment verification done. My truck was at the yard in minnesota. Dispatcher is cool with best buy out of dinuba.

Im based out of best buy dedicated in dinuba, ca. Not sure how otr, or other accounts are treating the drivers. So far its not too bad.

 

Well that all went downhill fairly quick. My miles have dropped drastically. I talked to other drivers on this account and say the same thing about no miles.

 

The first two weeks were great about 2500 miles week. Then all of a sudden No loads were coming out. Im still getting $750 a week in sign on bonus so that helps. Once sign on bonus money runs out i may jump ship.

Stan Koch and Sons

Michael76043

Aug 20, 2012

Stan Koch and Sons

koch still has best buy account. it shares it with werner.
koch driver uses new internationals. getting out of volvos. driver picks up loaded trl at dc. qualcomm tells him where to go. i ran southeast up to 4 mo.ago. you will usually drive your full 11 and will usually work your 14 and more. you must WATCH the best buy shipping staff unload your trailer. you are supposed to be sure they are not stealing. sometimes this last an hour or more. you are not paid for this but it comes off your 14 hour day. if you are on 10 hour break and BB starts unloading trl, you must watch unload, even if you are on break.
money is okay at 34/mile. 
you MUST spend nite at a best buy only. if stay anywhere else, you get fired. you must back into dock and spend nite. there are a lot of dark, desolate , back alley docks you must sleep in. very unsafe for driver. good for koch and BB but not for driver.
you get 1.5 days off week for reset. 
trailers are in bad shape. always something wrong with them. if you wait for it to be repaired, you will be late to BB. if you are late to BB you will be fired. so have to pull trailer and have it fixed after delivery. so do not get caught.
you are not allowed to unload or load trl but if you do not, you will wait a lot . some of appliances are very heavy and women clerks have to wait for men to help unload, if you do not help. if you do not help, then you will be late for next apt. and you can not be late. etc. 
they pay on time, just not enough. for hours/miles worked.
benefits are decent.
you are not paid for actual miles. they use housemovers scale, so you drive quite a bit for free. if you drive out of way to get there on time and it is more miles, you do not get paid for this. you are told how many miles are allowed to next store. 
vans are out of st paul and oklahoma.
you will be on the clock a lot with this company but only get paid for miles driven.
good luck.