Company logo

Landstar reviews

2.1
(62)
$400 - $16,346/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$400 $3,303 $16,346
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Landstar

Share the salary you were paid at Landstar

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Jan 24, 2023

Worst company ever, Booking a load with them 5 min later load gets covered with someone else, Company is has the biggest idiots working as brokers! The most useless people ever.

Pros

Cons

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Current Employee - Jan 17, 2023

I really wish I could respond to some of these reviews. Lmao, Most have no clue how any of this business works nor did they pass English class. I’ve been here 3 years and am not leaving. I’ve built some great relationships with several good agents that have good rates and steady freight. When you do this they will call you before posting the freight so a lot of times it never hits the board. Very important to do this and it’s NOT hard. P/u and del on time without issues and have a lil personality goes a long way. Is all agents good? NO. Are you forced to load anything you don’t want? No You have 100% freedom to do what you want, haul what you want, work when you want, or not. Fuel discounts are awesome. Up to $1 gal and sometimes more depending on area. If you know where good freight lanes are, what good freight rates are, you’ll have zero problems making a good living here. If you have zero experience at being an owner operator, you probably should keep searching. They do not hold your hand here. I haven’t even talked to corporate in months. A lot of agents have language barriers for sure. You don’t have to deal with them. I haul nothing for less than $3 a mile, I stay very busy, I have my own trailer and know where to run. And it ain’t Florida or the North East. Does Landstar nickel and dime you? Yes, it’s exactly nickels and dimes, not dollars. So many complete incompetents have left reviews here with completely false information, I don’t know if they didn’t pay attention in orientation or they just don’t know any better. Landstar ALWAYS pays me on time. EVERY WEEK!! My pay period runs from wed to the following tues. Tues is cutoff day. However if I scan in my paperwork up to noon on wed I still get paid on Thurs. If you don’t turn your paperwork in, they’re not gonna call you and ask you about it, ITS YOUR duty. If you maintain your truck, do your maintenance reports on time, renew your drivers license, med card when your supposed to you’ll never be put on hold. Landstar is as solid as a rock financially and aren’t going ANYWHERE. Nor am I P.S. for those complaining about covered loads not being taken down, screen shot them, send them to postings@landstar.com and explain you called on the load and agent said it’s unavailable and they won’t remove it, and landstar will remove it in minutes. I do this weekly..

Pros

Awesome fuel discounts, Tire discounts, oil change discounts, discounts on Right Weigh scales and numerous other equipment. As much freedom as anyone with their own authority without all the headaches. (Hence they’re 28% if you have your own trailer)

Cons

Too many barely English speaking agents operating in other countries with only broker freight. TOO many agents fighting over the same load resulting in multiple postings of the same load screwing up the daily load count. These same agents to lazy to take down covered loads off the board.. More agents need their own accounts.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Dec 17, 2022

STAY AWAY from LANDSTAR. They are not LANDSTAR anymore I believe. They let small snd dangerous Brooker using their authority,and you going to end up delivering the load and not getting payed nothing,or double Brooker the load for 10$ cheaper…noooo boycott LANDSTAR guys. I’m never going to mess with them again

Pros

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Dec 2, 2022

Landstar & The Russian Freight Gangsters. Landstar has went so far down that even right here at the truckers Report they have a driver rating of 2 stars out of 5. That's lower than JB Hunt & Schneider. If that were a restaurant or hotel you were thinking of using, you wouldn't even consider them. But you're going to risk your career on them? Extra brownie points if you speak Ukrainian, bc that's what many landstar agents speak.

Pros

Free Ukrainian emergency whistle if you encounter any stranger danger

Cons

I prefer not to deal with the Russian mob to get loads, but that's just me.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Dec 1, 2022

Over half of landstar agents have English as their second language. Most are from Russia, Ukraine, & other eastern block nations or have a very heavy spanish accent. I've had many horrifically messed-up loads where the foreign landstar agent didn't understand critical stuff from the customer, like that the receiver will be closed for the next two weeks (auto plants do this all the time), or that they needed to make an appointment with the receiver at a large DC and when you show up, the receiver has no open appointments for a week. Many big DCs are like this bc they're primarily drop & hook. Imagine if you own the trailer. Even if you pull a landstar trailer, they won't get you another landstar trailer for almost as long if your live-unload just turned into a drop trailer where landstar doesn't have any empties. Your income just went to zero for a week 1000 miles from the house. Sure, you blacklist that agent, but landstar let's the same agents call themselves by a different agency name next time. Most landstar "agents" are one person with a cell phone at the house. More importantly, a landstar agent can send you a confirmation clearly stating they will pay you X amount of money. You deliver the load only to have landstar HQ claw-back a significant amount of that confirmed amount months later bc "the agent promised money he shouldn't have."(i.e., loading, unloading,extra FSC,tolls,driver-assist, etc.). And I'm talking about $500-$1000 deducted right out of the written linehaul confirmation months after a perfect delivery. Also far too many TONUs. You show up at the shipper but the load is already gone. Agent confirmations mean nothing to landstar HQ.

Pros

You can paint your truck any color you like.

Cons

The landstar today is a completely different company than the years I've worked for them. Focus on recent reviews only, not years ago.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Roanoke, VA on Jan 17, 2023

$3,846 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Joliet, IL on Dec 2, 2022

$2,500 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in MN on Nov 28, 2022

$1,923 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Montgomery, AL on Nov 17, 2022

$4,808 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Florida on Nov 7, 2022

$1,923 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

speedyk

Aug 25, 2016

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

Well at Landstar it's all about safety. As long as your safe, stay out of trouble, and pass your 120 day inspections there will be no recourse of your time off. That's your business to run as you see fit. Take a few weeks off, and get back on the road covering loads when your ready, true self dispatch.

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

speedyk

Aug 25, 2016

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

I regularly take ten days or two weeks off. Thing is, if you do that you have to be prepared to make up for it when you go back out...the fixed expenses like insurance keep going even if you're at the house, just like if you had your own authority. It's funny to me how some guys get all the way through the process of coming on board to LS and still don't get that they have to be in charge of their business...they fail to understand that as long as the safety rules are followed then LS will never call...not to check on you, not to help, they call for nothing...until you screw up.

On the other hand sometimes guys who are curious about LS and who have been beaten down by years of working for a 'hold your hand' nanny company think you're BS'ing them when you tell them they can make all the decisions for themself with no intervention. They think it sounds like utopia. You have to be self disciplined here. It's very easy to get in a rut of sitting at home if you're accustomed to someone telling you when you need to go back out...one day turns into two or three and into a week very quickly.

My Experience with Landstar

Bro_Dave

Feb 26, 2016

My Experience with Landstar

I seem to be averaging 4 loads per week. What do you mean by percentages? 
For example, the load I am on now was 368 mi and paid $2.43/mi. The line haul was $840.00 . So I get 65% of that or $546.00. Plus I get 100% of the fuel surcharge which is $54.00.
My gross (1099) revenue this week is $3200 which I am happy with. That's on 2500 miles (hub miles). I would say it's a little low but right now its survival mode so I take what I can get and am not too picky right now.
I have a philosophy. My last carrier paid roughly $1.00 a mile plus fuel surcharge and I was making money so I know that if I can do that then I'll be good. (Now they paid on short miles and only paid $0.85 for deadhead miles unless the deadhead was over 150 mi then I got FS. Now at Landstar I pay myself on hub miles all miles).
Next week will be $3700 gross to the truck. 
So I feel like I'm doing fine and looking forward to when rates pick up. It is pretty rough out there but I look at it as a challenge.
That's what I like about Landstar is the challenge. I really don't want a job that's easy. I want to be challenged.