Company logo

Landstar reviews

2.2
(57)
$400 - $16,346/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$400 $3,310 $16,346
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Landstar

Share the salary you were paid at Landstar

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Nov 28, 2022

To the reviewer that assumed Landstar gave out free hats & t-shirts, NOPE! lol ...but they do give some drivers anniversary jackets. I say "some" because they will treat some drivers like they don't work for the company at all if they don't run a set amount of miles. Now the conditions upon hiring is that you can set your own hours, home time, etc- so what makes them think it's a fair practice to reward some drivers & not others? Such a joke, but home time equates to still having Landstar expenses being taken out of your account, so you can't afford to sit home for too long. On that, they will hound you on home time repeatedly for this or that, or lock you out of your accounts, like your fuel advances if they want to get ahold of you for their bogus calls. The brokers are basically like middleman thieves here. As fuel prices are going up, they are taking more and more & expecting drivers to haul for less, AND in less of a time frame. Almost always the brokers act like they have a load, but they actually don't...or they undercut and cancel loads if they can get another driver to cover the load for less. Posting bogus rates & not taking already booked loads down from the load boards by these agents is a huge irritating thing too. Such time wasting, and they don't seem to be held accountable by Landstar. If you decide to work here, get your own trailer otherwise they are exactly like Schneider with the games of hunting for an adequate road worthy trailer to haul with. On that- if you take the trailer home for home time & another driver needs one- you will be made to give it up. If you can get your own numbers, that's the best route...otherwise they expect you to continue on paying for permits that you don't ever use, like the alcohol permit for Oregon. Soon because if their bad safety rating they are looking to lose their ability to haul hazmat as a company. As of this year 2022- Landstar drivers are getting pulled into almost every single weigh station. Such time wasting bogus crap, because they seem to be hiring more and more incompetent drivers that don't have a clue. In a CoVid era they also expect drivers to drive to Indiana to a "CABS Class" for "on-going training" & renewal of your hazmat & BCO contract every so many years. This can ALL be done online- but they expect you to drive hundreds of miles, even if on home time- so, personal vehicle to attend this unnecessary time wasting hoopla. The motel they offer is a run down roach motel..but they brag about having their "Crystal Palace" in Jacksonville FL, lol If they actually cared about their BCO's they could be a good company...but like with every other company that puts greed first and foremost, their is always a major decline in the happiness of their "workers" and a drop in having a good attitude. Kind of like my review...you just get fed up with the unnecessary games, greed and lack of care. These people evidently don't understand trucking either because trucking doesn't stop for holidays or weekends- but their customer service seems to not work then of after 5pm. Currently looking to get my own #'s, then out of here!

Pros

Working for another place will save you from being majorly disappointed here.

Cons

2 month average screening process to get hired. The rest of the cons see full review.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Nov 17, 2022

So I booked a load with landstar yesterday & the rate con sent to me got on-site to the place load was canceled after I’ve droven 40 mins away to pick up,,so today call book a load mark sends rate con now need I remind u I’m 10mims away this time he email back saying the load was cancel this company are double booker I wouldn’t recommend using them at all waste of people time & the money when people are trying to make a living I am going to report there company

Pros

Trash company

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Nov 9, 2022

For independent carriers they are very poor in paying detention and overall accuracy of their load information. UfC is not a good agency they tell you whatever as long as you pick up their load and good luck on delivery appt. They are not real.

Pros

None

Cons

Honesty

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Current Employee - Nov 7, 2022

Great owner operator and best rates! Would recommend this company for sure! They care about their employees which reflects on their customers!

Pros

Quality

Cons

None

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Sep 28, 2022

Trash!! After awhile working with them you will see…that 35% is way too much to be giving up for the service and treatment you receive from them. But again….most of us have to experience it for ourselves before listening to someone else who’s already been there, done that and got the T-shirt and cheap hat.

Pros

The illusion of freedom…

Cons

Everything else, especially the staff out of Jacksonville and equally bad are their agents.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in MN on Nov 28, 2022

$1,923 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Montgomery, AL on Nov 17, 2022

$4,808 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Florida on Nov 7, 2022

$1,923 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Dallas, TX on Sep 28, 2022

$2,115 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Washington D.C., DC on Jul 31, 2022

$1,538 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

speedyk

Aug 25, 2016

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

Well at Landstar it's all about safety. As long as your safe, stay out of trouble, and pass your 120 day inspections there will be no recourse of your time off. That's your business to run as you see fit. Take a few weeks off, and get back on the road covering loads when your ready, true self dispatch.

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

speedyk

Aug 25, 2016

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

I regularly take ten days or two weeks off. Thing is, if you do that you have to be prepared to make up for it when you go back out...the fixed expenses like insurance keep going even if you're at the house, just like if you had your own authority. It's funny to me how some guys get all the way through the process of coming on board to LS and still don't get that they have to be in charge of their business...they fail to understand that as long as the safety rules are followed then LS will never call...not to check on you, not to help, they call for nothing...until you screw up.

On the other hand sometimes guys who are curious about LS and who have been beaten down by years of working for a 'hold your hand' nanny company think you're BS'ing them when you tell them they can make all the decisions for themself with no intervention. They think it sounds like utopia. You have to be self disciplined here. It's very easy to get in a rut of sitting at home if you're accustomed to someone telling you when you need to go back out...one day turns into two or three and into a week very quickly.

My Experience with Landstar

Bro_Dave

Feb 26, 2016

My Experience with Landstar

I seem to be averaging 4 loads per week. What do you mean by percentages? 
For example, the load I am on now was 368 mi and paid $2.43/mi. The line haul was $840.00 . So I get 65% of that or $546.00. Plus I get 100% of the fuel surcharge which is $54.00.
My gross (1099) revenue this week is $3200 which I am happy with. That's on 2500 miles (hub miles). I would say it's a little low but right now its survival mode so I take what I can get and am not too picky right now.
I have a philosophy. My last carrier paid roughly $1.00 a mile plus fuel surcharge and I was making money so I know that if I can do that then I'll be good. (Now they paid on short miles and only paid $0.85 for deadhead miles unless the deadhead was over 150 mi then I got FS. Now at Landstar I pay myself on hub miles all miles).
Next week will be $3700 gross to the truck. 
So I feel like I'm doing fine and looking forward to when rates pick up. It is pretty rough out there but I look at it as a challenge.
That's what I like about Landstar is the challenge. I really don't want a job that's easy. I want to be challenged.