Company logo

Landstar reviews

2.4
(31)
$400 - $16,346/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$400 $3,761 $16,346
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Landstar

Share the salary you were paid at Landstar

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Aug 19, 2021

Like them very much, always nice and if someone doesn't have the answer they will put in touch with the person who can.

Pros

if there are any issues they are right there to assist.

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Jun 27, 2021

In ft worth they dont have any parking I pay 35 percent of my $$and don't have a place to park ccx

Pros

Make decent money

Cons

No parking to go home

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Apr 2, 2021

Lots of ifs..... If your equipment is paid off it will you give you flexibility to make money here If you know what you’re doing They will nickel and dime you for every service. They charge you for baseplate and other “services” you don’t need when you have your own authority. They will require you to get inspected at shops that will look for anything to need fixing and empty your wallet. Talked with many lifetime drivers who have said Landstar isn’t “required” to take care of you. They’re your employer they have to to take care of you if they have any ethics otherwise they’re looking out for themselves only and you can’t trust them to do what’s morally ethical. Cut throat economics Plus many shippers have a negative opinion about Landstar drivers. Brokers will not negotiate on rates. They’ll move more money to accessorials that’s it. The rates you will get with your own authority is better than what you’ll see off their load board

Pros

Fuel and tire discount

Cons

Charge you for everything that is their expense not yours Charge you for permits you don’t need or use Safety takes anonymous complaints as legitimate over your side. Loads are triple brokered. Your 72% is after many hands have taken a cut before you Follow the money......Large infrastructure they have to pay for at the cost of your pay. CEO makes millions in bonuses (here is where your rate goes). A business has to be efficient and cut down on costs. They don’t do this Finally.....

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Feb 22, 2021

My Equipment, all the home time I chose, when I chose , where I chose. 20 plus years . I'm not going anywhere! Work as much as I chose! No force no stress ! Keep it legit and there is no sweat! Keep the money rolling.

Pros

Choice is all yours! How much money ,Time, where , when .

Cons

Annual safty rewards you have to have so many miles regardless of how much $$$ you rolled in.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Dec 17, 2020

Be ware of this company, does not care about drivers, detention not honor, sent truck and no loads, does not pay truck ordered not use, call agents no reply, drivers stay away go to other company

Pros

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Florida on Aug 19, 2021

$2,885 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Apr 2, 2021

$2,308 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - ... CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Mar 5, 2021

$19 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Millport, AL on Feb 22, 2021

$5,442 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Seale on Sep 3, 2020

$7,692 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

speedyk

Aug 25, 2016

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

Well at Landstar it's all about safety. As long as your safe, stay out of trouble, and pass your 120 day inspections there will be no recourse of your time off. That's your business to run as you see fit. Take a few weeks off, and get back on the road covering loads when your ready, true self dispatch.

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

speedyk

Aug 25, 2016

landstar, mercer, malone, ats??

I regularly take ten days or two weeks off. Thing is, if you do that you have to be prepared to make up for it when you go back out...the fixed expenses like insurance keep going even if you're at the house, just like if you had your own authority. It's funny to me how some guys get all the way through the process of coming on board to LS and still don't get that they have to be in charge of their business...they fail to understand that as long as the safety rules are followed then LS will never call...not to check on you, not to help, they call for nothing...until you screw up.

On the other hand sometimes guys who are curious about LS and who have been beaten down by years of working for a 'hold your hand' nanny company think you're BS'ing them when you tell them they can make all the decisions for themself with no intervention. They think it sounds like utopia. You have to be self disciplined here. It's very easy to get in a rut of sitting at home if you're accustomed to someone telling you when you need to go back out...one day turns into two or three and into a week very quickly.

My Experience with Landstar

Bro_Dave

Feb 26, 2016

My Experience with Landstar

I seem to be averaging 4 loads per week. What do you mean by percentages? 
For example, the load I am on now was 368 mi and paid $2.43/mi. The line haul was $840.00 . So I get 65% of that or $546.00. Plus I get 100% of the fuel surcharge which is $54.00.
My gross (1099) revenue this week is $3200 which I am happy with. That's on 2500 miles (hub miles). I would say it's a little low but right now its survival mode so I take what I can get and am not too picky right now.
I have a philosophy. My last carrier paid roughly $1.00 a mile plus fuel surcharge and I was making money so I know that if I can do that then I'll be good. (Now they paid on short miles and only paid $0.85 for deadhead miles unless the deadhead was over 150 mi then I got FS. Now at Landstar I pay myself on hub miles all miles).
Next week will be $3700 gross to the truck. 
So I feel like I'm doing fine and looking forward to when rates pick up. It is pretty rough out there but I look at it as a challenge.
That's what I like about Landstar is the challenge. I really don't want a job that's easy. I want to be challenged.