Company logo

Marten Transport, LTD reviews

1.7
(63)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$450 $1,368 $9,000
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Marten Transport, LTD

Share the salary you were paid at Marten Transport, LTD

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - May 8, 2024

The last person who write I believe April 2024, Had lot' of monies taken ut the with B.S, excuses why.But they should the same with Poor excuses of Fleet Managers, pay them 50% see how they like it !

Pros

Newer Trucks

Cons

Pay Deductions, Poor routing, Poor management skills and not People Persons.........

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Response from Marten Transport, LTD

Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we take it very seriously to ensure that we continue to meet the high standards we set for ourselves. We would appreciate the opportunity to make things right. Please feel free to reach out to us directly so that we can further discuss your concerns.

Current Employee - Apr 26, 2024

Save your energy and time, don’t work here. I’ve been here for a few years now. You’d be better off working for McDonald’s.

Pros

New trucks

Cons

They will cut your checks and give you excuses and BS you. Didn’t think it would happened to me but I’m the fool.

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Response from Marten Transport, LTD

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please know that we are here to assist you further and welcome the opportunity to make things right. Please contact us at marten.recruiting@marten.com.

Current Employee - Apr 8, 2024

May not the worst company, but definitely not one of the better ones. Experienced drivers are treated like newbies. Anything that goes wrong is blamed on the driver.

Pros

Good home time

Cons

Low pay, lots of sitting

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Marten Transport, LTD

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're committed to providing an excellent work environment, and we value your input in helping us improve.

Current Employee - Apr 3, 2024

Home time late dispatch mess up they tell you driver is the best but f/you over they don't listen to us they right we're not. Equipment don't work at the terminals

Pros

Get detention

Cons

Ugly people

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Response from Marten Transport, LTD

We understand that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is essential to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

Former Employee - Feb 23, 2024

This is the most corrupt company in the trucking industry. And I don't think it's even close. These people are devious maniacal Underhanded. I am going after them with multiple federal agencies. I already am going to take their dimwit. Legal team out of Madison to court under the osha STAA violation. The investigation has Begun FMCS a even fraud in the dispute process. We're going through the FTC. My brother's trying to change this for everybody. To protect them from retaliation like these scumbags are on the record for doing to me. They are covering up safety. The safety director works with HR works with the scumbag from the Central region.Collusionary. Michael c they're stealing money out of paychecks. They organize and target employees to get them fired. They actually set them up. And I will prove all of this the law firm. I'm going against they gotta be the most ridiculously. Stupid flawling bunch a little paralegals I've ever known. I could take them on myself but I will not need to. They will sacrifice safety as I am a d o t adviser.. And a driver will be the victim of there cost-benefit analysis. They will falsely accuse. They will rare rodeo. They will videotape you. They will hire other drivers to go after you. And they actually are on record this is provable. This is I'm taking this company down. Anybody want it? Get ahold of me, write me back. There's already precedent cases for me, but I'm always willing to talk to other dissatisfied. Martin employees, there's a lot of them out there, but they're afraid of retribution. Because this is how this sleazy company operates this toxic workplace. This corporate corrupt environment, these Wisconsin people are total Diabolical scumbags

Pros

Go and F yourself Marten

Cons

Read about it in the court transcripts, and the osha FM CSA complaints as well. wages and hours DOL ELC human relations board whistle blower retaliati IRS form 211 whistleblower. FTC regulators fraud misrepresentation, whistle blower related to related to pre-employment screening. I will change that for everybody. They will never have the final decision on a dispute. Ver again, it will be a board of bipartisan People deciding your future to work in the industry

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Jacksonville, Florida on May 8, 2024

$1,538 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 4 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Arizona on Apr 26, 2024

$850 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Apr 8, 2024

$865 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Wisconsin on Feb 20, 2024

$1,346 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Cleveland, OH on Feb 10, 2024

$1,154 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Marten Transport

mjd4277

Nov 1, 2015

Marten Transport

My former trainer went over to Marten back in January and according to her she loves it. She mostly runs Southeast and manages to get home every weekend.

List of companies with Autos

amtrack

Jun 28, 2016

List of companies with Autos

Marten Transport. Some of the newer Kenworth T-680s and Freightliner Cascadia Evolution models are autos,with manual models in the mix. I wanted a manual transmission in either a Freightliner or a KW after they sold the T-660 I drove but HQ said I had no choice and gave me an auto.

Truck speed

d_bassguy79

Aug 31, 2016

Truck speed

Q: Can anyone driving for marten tell me what speed the trucks are governed to? Thanks.

A: Marten is governed 63 on the throttle, 65 on the cruise.

Marten Transport ***PAY SCALE***

diesel drinker

Aug 9, 2016

Marten Transport ***PAY SCALE***

Q: Do they have a cap on detention?
I see some of the same drivers come in and out of our DC. I don't think they do that many outgoing, they bring more in. But I see some of them posted up there overnight sometimes.

 

A: The cap is 9 hours. Only a few times I've sat like that but I was paid layover with Max detention. Sat 32 hours once. Max detention and got layover x3. That was a 2320 3 stop load. $1800 run week that week all because the first stop screwed up lol.

Marten Transport ***PAY SCALE***

rachi

Aug 14, 2016

Marten Transport ***PAY SCALE***

Marten generally gets regional drivers on the west coast home for a 34 after 10 to 14 days out. Thats how it was when i was there. Not enough HT for me. If you came from a big bottom feeder then marten is better.

Marten Transport ***PAY SCALE***

KaoMinerva

Aug 9, 2016

Marten Transport ***PAY SCALE***

If it's less than 100 miles or so they pay you hourly at $20/hr or $25/hr.

 

Detention is $20/hr after first our for company drivers and $25/hr for O/O. Stops are $20 per stop

Marten Transport 2016

Cjayn

Feb 8, 2016

Marten Transport 2016

Q:  Marten does not have cameras correct?

A: NO CAMERAS

Marten Transport 2016

Onetime47

Apr 13, 2016

Marten Transport 2016

Q: Anyone have any info about Marten in the NW area?

A: Looks to be legit! I personalyy stopped by the terminal in Wilsonvile and chatted with a couple of the current employees and a driver. I really think running out of this terminal will be great!

Marten Transport 2016

Onetime47

Apr 13, 2016

Marten Transport 2016

Q: I want to go with Marten but am worried I won't get enough miles each week. Anyone know if they get good miles OTR?

A: I worked here for about 4 weeks had to go back to LTL company but I can say the 4 weeks I was there they will mile you up and super nice people to work for

Marten Transport 2016

blackstrat

Jul 21, 2016

Marten Transport 2016

Q: I'm checking this company out to see if I can get on Walmart Dedicated. I'm in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, but I have seen a Marten truck at the Walmart here. 

Just wondered if anyone has done this dedicated run. I also wondered if I could get an automatic with Marten.

 

A: Yes you can just tell your recruiter YOU WANT AN AUTOMATIC! To my knowledge, all automatics are Freightliners. 

What reefers does marten have on their trailers?

CallOfTheWild

May 1, 2015

What reefers does marten have on their trailers?

They have both TK's and Carriers. Majority is TK, but they do have both.

Most tks are sb400 whispers though newer ones are precedents. The carriers are slowly being phased out. Only significant difference is if they run out of fuel the carriers are a little easier to bleed. They have a bleed valve. Tk you have to have a socket to crack a banjo bolt. Precedents have electric fuel pump.

Feedback on Marten Transport 2015?

gucci2u

Apr 26, 2015

Feedback on Marten Transport 2015?

Marten pays you for your time. You drive. You get paid miles. You sit, through no fault of your own, you get paid detention/layover/average-daily-pay. I know drivers that rake in $1000 a week from sitting. One of my Marten friends jokingly say "Did you get your welfare Po yet?"!!! Marten is serious about the value of a driver's time. Some dispatchers are tight-wads about it, but most follow the rules.

My friend David netted $958.50 on this check.