Company logo

Navajo Express reviews

1.9
(16)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$300 $873 $1,500
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Navajo Express

Share the salary you were paid at Navajo Express

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Nov 9, 2022

Missing miles, no detention or layover on check. Missing reimbursement's etc... constantly being lied to, just so they could get a load moving. 300 mile runs that take 3 days to deliver, so you sit in your truck for days at a time. Brokerage work, no customers and so on. Dropped Costco account and lots of employees out of work. HEADACHE AFTER HEADACHE

Pros

Not working here

Cons

Everything about Navajo

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Sep 6, 2022

Don't know how to provide trainers when promised and when your hired for a specific area, you won't be guaranteed

Pros

Vvvvv

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - May 6, 2022

If i could give it a 0 i would because this company does not deserve even a 0. They made a delivery apt for my driver 2 days ago he is still waiting to get unloaded because they failed to make a apt for him, i have been calling the broker for 2 days she does not pick up her phone or anyone else in the company i have sent out numerous of emails with only her answer being “has the driver checked in ! I finally reached her 20 minutes ago she said that we are annoying and hung up the phone on me! They will not answer your phone calls when you book a load its all done over the email and if you send them a email they do not communicate with you either instead they call you annoying and are extremely rude ! They dont understand that we can and will drop the load off in the parking lot and than they can send out their rude dispatch to pick it up !

Pros

Cons

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Apr 22, 2022

I worked this job 3.5 years hauling doubles. You know you'd occasionally get the 2 day load. But the dispatchers in salt lake were amazing. If you did a good job they'd bend over backwards for you. Well then Don Haggerty took over and wanted to put cameras in your truck that that weirdo could jack off too. And Don Digby Jr couldn't fit his daddies shoes. These idiots took a good company and ran it into the ground.

Pros

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Mar 11, 2022

Guys, truckers, avoid this company!!!! They just book loads and lie about delievery apointments and keep saying that's what they have on their paperwork. They just igoring calls and emails. Drivers are waititng and never get paid for wating time.They tell you one appt that you cannot check with the delivery weather you have it or no simply because setting one is only by email and registration (you know just a regular thing when you want to confirm your appt is good) and when you arrive, the receiver is saying that the broker actually set it for a different day! Dont trust them!

Pros

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Salt Lake City, UT on Nov 9, 2022

$1,154 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Apr 22, 2022

$1,442 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Wyoming on Sep 27, 2020

$1,500 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 1 Year CDL Experience

Surveyed in Denver, Colorado on Mar 21, 2020

$450 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Salt Lake City, Utah on Jan 12, 2019

$1,000 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Navajo Express

Papa_Squirrel

May 21, 2015

Navajo Express

Just started at Navajo Express and didn't really see anything recent on them so thought I would share. Starting pay is .30-.32 per mile unless you have 5 years experience. New as of June 1, 2015 pay for all new hires without five years experience will be mandatory guarenteed pay per day program. First 90 days you get $110 a day 3-9 months $115 then 9-12 months $120 per day. This is regardless miles run, no matter what if you are available to work you get paid the rate nothing more nothing less. After year you start at .35 per mile. That's how they are trying to sell it as a pos. doesn't really work for me in my calculations but for others might be great. Orientation is 2 days, basic stuff, a lot of things that shouldn't have taken a lot of time took too much time, or HOS, FMCSA regs eft...

The company does provide transportation to terminal from home for orientation on form of bus ticket or reimbursing you for fuel. Also get put up in a hotel, nothing fancy just a room, but it's free and trans to and from terminal every day. Don't think you are going to leave orientation on second day and hit the road, they won't issue your truck until next day so you can get at least 10 hr break. I have to fly to Denver from TN to get my tractor as there are only day cans and coffin sleepers at this terminal. Orientation is a video conference with Denver office. Could probably condenced it into one day but some aren't as knowledgable as others and it goes at the pace of the slowest learner. 

That's all i can think of now if any questions ask I will try and answer. I will try and update as I go. Just a FYI seems like there is currently a huge change in management, as a lot of upper level managers I was introduced to had only been here a couple weeks or a month or so. Will be interesting to talk to other drivers and see what changes are taking place and their opinion(taken with a bag of salt obviously).

Navajo Express

Todd B

Oct 29, 2015

Navajo Express

They all promise the same miles but none so far has delivered. Arnold is going to give me 2100-2300 weekly as they say and Navajo says you must hit 11,500 monthly to get any bonus.

Back to Navajo

Smoken0221

Aug 22, 2015

Back to Navajo

When you're with a trainer, that truck operates as a solo truck. And you get most of the seat time for sure. Probably 85% I'd say, they make #### sure you know what you're doing. Real good trainers here. There's a guy by the name, ####, who's been with navajo 15 plus years and he is a hell of a trainer, I'd highly recommend him, real good dude too.

As for taking your truck home once you get one they'll get you as close to the house as they can, most likely gonna be a kenworth dealer. As for me, I'm out of amarillo tx so when I take home time I'll use the central freightlines terminal, (I guess we have a good relationship with them or something idk). But it all depends but they'll definitely get you within at least 20 miles of your house. But they don't let you physically park the rig in your driveway.