Company logo

Oakley Transport reviews

2.9
(17)
$865 - $2,400/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$865 $1,419 $2,400
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Oakley Transport

Share the salary you were paid at Oakley Transport

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Jan 20, 2024

They started off as a good company however, they grew too big for themselves. They hired more people than they needed. When they realized what they did. They started trimming the fat. Getting rid of drivers for simple things they wouldn’t have done in the past. Not enough miles to give to drivers when they used to run you good.

Pros

Cons

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Former Employee - Jul 23, 2023

Shop couldnt figure out how to replace fuses, crappy APU units, didnt know that 5th wheel tandems could be adjusted with MT trailer, lied by DM and diapatch on loads and horrible communication from them. Terminated with no reason given with clean CDL, no accidents, points or violations. Safety and HR had no clue why I was terminated. Not once did management or DMs apologize for their mistakes. Called my DM for info but no answer and he didnt return my calls. Thanks DM MP!!! Oakley brags about no BS and a great supporf staff but this is the most BS ive dealt with from any carrier.

Pros

Good pay. Decent Hometime.

Cons

Bad Equipment, poor management and communication.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jan 25, 2023

They gave me a trainer that was very rude. He played games and such to get me fired. The first game he played was to give me a chewed up rubber hammer. The second game was smoking too much in the truck to make me pissed off because I don't smoke. The third game was telling management I didn't like driving nights. That was not true at all. He exaggerated and got me fired after 2 weeks training that I did not like driving at night. That was totally not true. Safety manager was rudest guy I ever met in my life and told me we have to let you go because we heard you do not like driving nights. They sent me home on the plane and they paid for sending me home.

Pros

Mr. Oakley is a nice man.

Cons

Orientation is aweful. If your trainer and you do not get along, then expect to be failed. My trainer was aweful, worst guy I ever met in my life.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Dec 23, 2022

I was there for 2 year's lessons learned 26% of everything your truck does is theirs 24 bucks a week for your own table to do your logs. That’s charged to you weekly.Detention time the first 2 hours is on you of course an if your at a shipper or a customer 24 to 36 hours you might get a 15 hours as stated we can only charge the shipper or customers so much hummm ? By the time you pay for fuel an taxes an maintenance on your equipment you really can’t pay yourself. The fuel surcharge is like a roller coaster so, some loads and dead head miles only pays for the fuel you bought to get at load. Do the math…!!!!

Pros

Really can’t think of anything

Cons

Working for free an staying away from family

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Feb 8, 2022

If you're a worker and like to make a fair wage this job is for you.I haul Hazmat and also do drybulk Sugar. I do the load assigned and no one micromanages me.The breakdown department is topnotch and maintenance is key.Give a good hometime request and they will get you Home.I make about $2400 including bonuses a week.Work hard get paid well.Take a reset make a little less.I recommend working on recaps.

Pros

Pay ,equipment, management are strong

Cons

Hometime,no holiday pay,vacation is only $600 a week.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Savannah, GA on Apr 28, 2024

$1,154 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 1 Year CDL Experience

Surveyed in Florida Ridge, FL on Dec 15, 2023

$1,050 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Lakeland, FL on Jan 25, 2023

$962 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Little Rock, AR on Dec 23, 2022

$1,538 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on May 9, 2022

$1,100 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Oakley Transport, Lake Wales FL

Rollin' On

Nov 15, 2015

Oakley Transport, Lake Wales FL

The latest is Oakley is reneging on it's agreements with it's drivers. The only thing that still holds true is the pay rate, and even that has changed to where they are going to pay drivers more with the drivers own tax deduction so that the company can put more money in their pocket. Everything else has changed as well. Two days home time earned for every week worked has turned into one day for every week worked. Layover and break down pay has been capped at one day pay after the first 48 hours. Also if the driver has detention time owed to them they have to jump through hoops to get paid and even then they have to hound the company to get it. I guess Oakley doesn't want to keep experienced drivers as much as they claim that they do.

Oakley no way to treat new drivers

loclay

May 30, 2014

Oakley no way to treat new drivers

I was hired on by Oakley Transport in Lake Wales Fl. Talked to them for 2 weeks working out and getting info on company. I was upfront about my health like Bypass 2 years ago and I have a perfect driving rec and have been hauling haz-waste for over 28 yrs. Made the decision to take the job and to leave the job I had. called the requiter the day I was going to give my notice and made sure all was good and even brought up the Bypass again and was told there was no problem and that I had the job. gave my notice and flew to Lake Wales Fl for their orientation. Have been here since Sunday the 25th. Went thru all the classes and passed all their test got new Med card and then this morning the 30th I was called into the safety office and was told that the insurance would not allow them to hire me and they said they were not told why. Now I have quit my job and spent a week and a 150.00 and I still have no job and they are not going to pay me the 300.00 they owe me for the week. If you are going to spend all that money on flying drivers to your terminal and getting physicals and have them quit their jobs don't you think you would have all their info and sent to the ins company before you tell them they hAve the job. I now have no job because of Oakley Transport at no fault of my own. How can they get away with this. DRIVERS BEWARE: OAKLEY TRANSPORT IS NOT THE FAMILY COMPANY THEY WILL PREACH TO YOU!!!!! just remember they do not care. They have now put me in a very bad place and they are the ones who persuaded me.

Oakley transport

williamsmdn

Nov 11, 2012

Oakley transport

If you go to work for oakley transport you will regret it. They want you to pay them to go to work-saying they will reimburse the money later-they will not reimburse you anything. Oakley likes to leave drivers sitting 2-3 days everyweek-saying you will get layover or detention-then when they don't pay it. Then they'll tell you it will be on next weeks pay over and over until it is forgotten.if you;re truck breaksdown and it will, because they.re maintence dept. Don't have qualified mechanics.when that happens they'll leave you stranded or tell you another driver is on the way-then you can't take what you need to get in the other truck. They don;t pay you while waiting on repairs. If at lake wales they expect you to sleep on couch in drivers lounge that is infested with bed bugs. They do not pay holiday pay and the vacation pay is much lower than what you usually get paid.when you quit they will keep telling you that you have to bring the truck to fl. Then wait on load there.at this time oakley will keep sending you everywhere except back to fl. They will not pay you're last weeks pay and will not reimburse you anything. Don't make the same mistake i did-you'll be much better off with another company.