Company logo

Oakley Transport reviews

3.4
(13)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$865 $1,489 $2,400
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Oakley Transport

Share the salary you were paid at Oakley Transport

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Feb 8, 2022

If you're a worker and like to make a fair wage this job is for you.I haul Hazmat and also do drybulk Sugar. I do the load assigned and no one micromanages me.The breakdown department is topnotch and maintenance is key.Give a good hometime request and they will get you Home.I make about $2400 including bonuses a week.Work hard get paid well.Take a reset make a little less.I recommend working on recaps.

Pros

Pay ,equipment, management are strong

Cons

Hometime,no holiday pay,vacation is only $600 a week.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Aug 6, 2021

I'm a man of my word and I don't kiss butt. With that being said the following review is an honest one. I worked for at least four other companies this company is one of the best trucking companies you will ever experience. I average about $1,500 a week take home pay $1,800 gross. Very friendly atmosphere they let you be your own person they don't treat you like a robot or puppet. In the beginning I still had a sour taste in my mouth from my last company who was JB Hunt side note stay far away from that company. So I was thinking about getting out of truck driving for good. This company showed me that not all trucking companies are bad. If you're looking for a new job I give you my word you won't regret coming here. If you have any questions about the company I'll give you the good and the very little bit of bad. Of course I'm going to try to get a referral out of my review but my words were honest and true.

Pros

Great home time, great pay, friendly atmosphere. You will actually feel like you're part of the company and not just the driver.

Cons

DM's are usually very busy so don't expect communication to be 100%, every Trucking Company lies this one I catch maybe one time a year.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jun 24, 2021

Oakley is a great family company to work for. The pay is great and the team you work with. You feel like family here, not just a number.

Pros

Benefits, equipment & pay.

Cons

Home time could be better. More local and dedicated routes.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Apr 4, 2021

The Home time is Horrible The pay is 2000%not as promised Trucks have ALot of little things wrong with them. Benefits are the worst,no paid holidays, no vacation pay, ! I have never heard of that!!

Pros

Pay is definitely decent.. Always running.

Cons

Dispatch are not very friendly at all Even though pay is decent..it's not as promised.. Home time is also not good at all.. No paid holidays,or vacation!

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Oct 31, 2020

Newer equipment but these Volvos have a lot of small issues that add up to a pain. But not that big of a deal to me honestly. My first dispatcher wasn't that great but I like my new one much better. I love the pay vs amount of work. But home time could be better as always. One thing that I hate the most is no one gets in trouble for leaving trailers in unacceptable condition. So I find my self having to fix issues sometimes. I dont drive dirty.

Pros

Good pay, easy work, no one bothers me much

Cons

valves have a lot of little issues, power in sleeper only works with APU running but they are changing APUs.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on May 9, 2022

$1,100 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Lake Wales, FL on Feb 8, 2022

$2,400 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Louisville, KY on Aug 6, 2021

$1,538 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 1 Year CDL Experience

Surveyed in Florida on Jun 24, 2021

$1,346 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Elizabethtown, PA on Apr 4, 2021

$2,100 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Oakley Transport, Lake Wales FL

Rollin' On

Nov 15, 2015

Oakley Transport, Lake Wales FL

The latest is Oakley is reneging on it's agreements with it's drivers. The only thing that still holds true is the pay rate, and even that has changed to where they are going to pay drivers more with the drivers own tax deduction so that the company can put more money in their pocket. Everything else has changed as well. Two days home time earned for every week worked has turned into one day for every week worked. Layover and break down pay has been capped at one day pay after the first 48 hours. Also if the driver has detention time owed to them they have to jump through hoops to get paid and even then they have to hound the company to get it. I guess Oakley doesn't want to keep experienced drivers as much as they claim that they do.

Oakley no way to treat new drivers

loclay

May 30, 2014

Oakley no way to treat new drivers

I was hired on by Oakley Transport in Lake Wales Fl. Talked to them for 2 weeks working out and getting info on company. I was upfront about my health like Bypass 2 years ago and I have a perfect driving rec and have been hauling haz-waste for over 28 yrs. Made the decision to take the job and to leave the job I had. called the requiter the day I was going to give my notice and made sure all was good and even brought up the Bypass again and was told there was no problem and that I had the job. gave my notice and flew to Lake Wales Fl for their orientation. Have been here since Sunday the 25th. Went thru all the classes and passed all their test got new Med card and then this morning the 30th I was called into the safety office and was told that the insurance would not allow them to hire me and they said they were not told why. Now I have quit my job and spent a week and a 150.00 and I still have no job and they are not going to pay me the 300.00 they owe me for the week. If you are going to spend all that money on flying drivers to your terminal and getting physicals and have them quit their jobs don't you think you would have all their info and sent to the ins company before you tell them they hAve the job. I now have no job because of Oakley Transport at no fault of my own. How can they get away with this. DRIVERS BEWARE: OAKLEY TRANSPORT IS NOT THE FAMILY COMPANY THEY WILL PREACH TO YOU!!!!! just remember they do not care. They have now put me in a very bad place and they are the ones who persuaded me.

Oakley transport

williamsmdn

Nov 11, 2012

Oakley transport

If you go to work for oakley transport you will regret it. They want you to pay them to go to work-saying they will reimburse the money later-they will not reimburse you anything. Oakley likes to leave drivers sitting 2-3 days everyweek-saying you will get layover or detention-then when they don't pay it. Then they'll tell you it will be on next weeks pay over and over until it is forgotten.if you;re truck breaksdown and it will, because they.re maintence dept. Don't have qualified mechanics.when that happens they'll leave you stranded or tell you another driver is on the way-then you can't take what you need to get in the other truck. They don;t pay you while waiting on repairs. If at lake wales they expect you to sleep on couch in drivers lounge that is infested with bed bugs. They do not pay holiday pay and the vacation pay is much lower than what you usually get paid.when you quit they will keep telling you that you have to bring the truck to fl. Then wait on load there.at this time oakley will keep sending you everywhere except back to fl. They will not pay you're last weeks pay and will not reimburse you anything. Don't make the same mistake i did-you'll be much better off with another company.