Company logo

Poly Trucking reviews

2.5
(12)
$635 - $1,800/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$635 $1,266 $1,800
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Poly Trucking

Share the salary you were paid at Poly Trucking

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Aug 27, 2023

This is an awesome company. We can go home when we want since we have so much say in dispatching our selves. Pick our own loads on the outbound board. They don’t micro manage us at all. A lot of freedom. .70 cpm paid on the odometer so we are paid for every single mile we drive. The only thing I dislike is the equipment but once I got the bugs worked out my truck is decent now. The money is great the insurance and retirement is awesome as well. I’ve been driving 13 years this is the best company I have ever worked for.

Pros

Pay, insurance, freedom, picking our own outbound loads

Cons

The equipment it’s Pete’s and international LT

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jan 2, 2023

They fired me for refusing to break a law. Then they stole my vacation time. The terminals are often described as "prisons that make trash bags".

Pros

HUB miles, better than average pay per mile

Cons

Soulless corporation with inflexible rules. Poor communication.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Sep 22, 2022

The home time is great. Go home when you want as long as you average 2k miles per week that includes a running average to cover your days off which is easy to do. Benefits are top notch. Pay is some of the best in the industry 2k a week isn’t hard to do. Pick your own outbound loads.

Pros

Pick your own outbound loads, pay, benifits

Cons

I’m not a fan of international trucks but they have Pete’s too

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - May 12, 2022

Hired on to Poly when they upped the pay to $.70 per mile about 2 months ago. I have been taking home about $1600 - $1800 per week consistently which is comfortable for me. Could make more if I wanted to run more. Home time is good if you live close to one of the yards which I do. Driver managers are cool. They have a lot on their plates with some of these prima donna drivers they have to deal with.

Pros

70 cents per mile. Good 401k plan

Cons

No Pets (see you when I get home Red) Some of the cry baby drivers they have working there. Grow up dudes.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - May 7, 2022

Stayed only 1 year there. Stayed long enough to leave with my paid vacation. Higher ups do not communicate well here. You will get a big rule book of Do's and Don'ts at orientation and you had better follow every one or they will pull you into the office for consultation, then write up, then fire you. At orientation you will meet all or many of the department heads and get a list of numbers for this and for that. However, no ones seems to communicate anything well enough to their drivers when it comes down to it. Here is the company in a snapshot: They have a poorly run maintenance shop. A lot of faulty equipment (Trucks). A few decent driver managers. Some good outbound dispatchers. Terrible backhaul department. They don't care about you getting back to make a doctor's appointment even if you tell them in advance. No consistent weekly pay because you have to physically turn paperwork in to their terminals. Nothing can ever be mailed, faxed, transfo'd whatsoever and its never going to be an option here. They have a high turnover rate of truckers. They upped the current pay to 70 cents per mile. Sounds great but no guarantee you will run X amount of miles per week to make a nice check. $30 drop pay after the 1st stop. A few other minor benefits that make their pitch sound great but its a smoke screen to make them sound better than what you will actually earn. If you don't mind living on the road for lengthy periods, then this company will love you. Miles are not consistent otherwise. I averaged barely $850 a week after taxes and about 33,000 for the year that i worked there. They do take out weekly for Heath and dental insurance. The insurance is a ppo plan and its offered at a good cost per employee but high if you include the family. Also they regularly drug test, check your driving record and report to DAC. Please don't buy into the "No forced dispatch" as this is only partly true.. it only applies to outbound loads from thier plants. The headache comes from the forced backhaul that gets you back to their plant and that could take on more than one backhaul to get you back. On backhauls you will likely deal with an insecure voiced backhaul dispatcher who has a power trip and thinks you are at his mercy. They will do everything they can to try to make things difficult for you. You will end up playing games to get what you can out of this company and you will have to play it well enough and be professional about it at every step. This company was a stepping stone for me and after them, i found a company that actually respects drivers and the pay is awesome. Better home time , and weekly pay. I hope this post helps anyone thinking about joining this company and changes their mind. Read other reviews and believe it. They are more than just disgruntled truckers. They are telling it like it is. Read all sides (good and bad) reviews before going into some shiny company's paid or unpaid orientation. I would say read what truckers say about every company as most are going to share truthful experiences.

Pros

Staying off for up to 7 days. They pay you 100 dollars a day for breakdown pay.

Cons

Poor Communication, Cannot drive tolls roads in TX and a few toll roads in Denver and South Carolina. Can only fuel at certain truckstops. No weekly pay due to not being able to use transflo or some other electronic means, backhaul department is a con all by itself, poor equipment..be ready to get used to breakdowns and hotel stays. Overall the place has an endless list of cons. Take your credit card with you to use for hotel and food when you are broken down and staying in some hotel.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Grand Prairie, TX on Aug 27, 2023

$1,800 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Grand Prairie, TX on Jan 2, 2023

$1,346 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Grand Prairie, TX on Sep 22, 2022

$1,800 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Arlington, TX on May 12, 2022

$1,635 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Grand Prairie, TX on May 7, 2022

$635 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

My Poly Trucking experience

majestyk

Jun 15, 2016

My Poly Trucking experience

Did a similar thread while driving for Roehl and Crete so decided I would add my thoughts/experiences/mileage info etc. to a thread on Poly. Both Roehl and Crete were ok to drive for but like most trucking companies there were several things that could have been changed to make things better. I left Roehl for better pay after satisfying my training obligation and likewise left Crete for a pay raise at Poly. I drove for Poly for roughly 3.5 years (the last 8 months on a dedicated route) before having to take 3 months off to handle a family situation that arose. Now I am back OTR and hoping that the miles are still there after hearing rumors that things are not as good as when I started the dedicated run, we will see. I run a whole bunch out west and know how to maximize the leeway we are given in regard to several things. 

First week out: 2766 miles (+1 extra drop, 30.00)

6/13 - 6/15 Henderson, NV - Sumner, WA ----- 1158 miles

6/15 - 6/18 Sumner, WA - Eugene, OR - Jerome, ID - Cheyenne, WY --- ca. 1608 miles (will update exact later)

6/19 - reset

Unfortunately couldn't get loaded this afternoon and head on toward Idaho and likely would have gotten unloaded in Evans, CO and Aurora, CO as well on Friday before heading to Lubbock for the last drop. So going to stop in Cheyenne, WY for a reset before heading into Colorado early Monday. Kind of a blah week but planning on taking a few back roads in Idaho and Wyoming that I haven't seen so looking forward to that.

Week 2: (+3 stops, 90.00)

6/20 - Cheyenne, WY - Evans, CO - Aurora, CO - Lubbock, TX --- ca. 662 mi (update exact later)

 


Poly Trucking What you need to know !

IndianaF150

Sep 27, 2015

Poly Trucking What you need to know !

BUT, before you choose Poly, you need to know ....

1.) You don't ( DO NOT ) get paid every week and may go a few weeks w/o a check. I'm 54 yrs old so I don't mind, but if you're a young guy in your 20's going check to check, it may be tough.

Reason: Poly doesn't pay until they have the signed B.O.L.'s in their hands. You can NOT use trip pak, trans flo, or even U.S. Mail and they don't have a scanner for their Q-comm. You can't even give your bills to another driver to drop off for you. If you're out a few weeks ... T.S.

You must hand deliver to the Grand Praire or Henderson, NV terminal by Mon at 5p. Del. after that and it's another week til you get paid.

(you can get a $70 per day advance)

It Gets Worse....

2.) You need to pay your own tolls. WTF ??

That's right, at Poly you pay your own tolls and have to wait til you get your pay check for reimbursement.

(see above for when you get your check)

Poly does not have e-z pass or pre-pass. They would save tons of money with e-z pass because some states discount the tolls if using e-z pass.

In 1 trip I had over $300 in tolls, out of my own pocket. The G.W. Bridge alone is $90.

THE GOOD ...

-A.P.U.'s

-You can get pre-pass but need to pay for it yourself $16/mo. I do, most don't.

-They still use paper logs ... Amen!

-They don't bust your balls!

-Minimal contact w/ dispatchers!

-Managers (so far) are decent people.

-GREAT HOMETIME ! Take 7 business days off at a time if you want (so long as you average 2000 miles/wk. which is easy) 7 business days is really 11 calendar days, because they don't count the weekends. 

-If you want to work, you can easily run over 3000/wk. that's $1,500/wk.

-I average 2-3 weeks out and usually take 4 days off after that. (that's my choice)

-You don't need to ask for time off, you just send q-comm message telling when you'll be ready for next load, or just wait til you're rdy and call them.

-Choice dispatching. They give you choices on where you want to go, except for backhauls.

-This trucking co. is owned by a manufacturer (Poly-America) so they usually backhaul you to one of their plants to haul their product.

-Easy stable freight. It doesn't move. (plastic trash bags and plastic wrap for construction sites).

-.50 mile (hub mile) $30 drop after 2nd drop.

 


Review of Poly Trucking

Triumph

Dec 1, 2014

Review of Poly Trucking

I'm not necessarily reporting Poly as a "bad trucking company". I just have more negative than positive in my review so I put it here. I've been at Poly for awhile now and I have to say I'm about ready to move on. Instead of posting a rant, I'd just prefer to post what I see as pros and cons and you can decide for yourself if Poly would work out for you.

FYI - Poly is NOT a trucking company. Poly is a private fleet that hauls their own freight (Poly America).

Pros:

- Non forced dispatch on outbound loads (Keep in mind, back hauls ARE forced). The way Poly works is you put yourself on the outbound board for whatever day you think you'll be available. It is non forced dispatch BUT, if you put yourself on tomorrow's board and they have more loads than drivers, you're pretty much expected to take one. They won't necessarily force it down your throat, but at a minimum they'll put you on the bottom of the list for the next day so you're likely to only get a shot at the leftovers once again. This has never been a issue with me so I list it as a pro.

- Pay is decent. Poly pays everyone the same (.48 cpm) and you're paid by the hub. In addition, you also get $30.00 a drop after the first 2 (a lot of loads are multi stop). And, I will say Poly is good about paying you for ANY work you perform. Driving test, drug test, take out the trash (kidding on that one), etc... you get paid hourly.

- insurance is decent

- Paper logs (self explanatory for those that like paper)

- Everything is pretty much done over the phone. They don't use the qualcomm for much (occasional safety message)

- No one micro managing you (telling you what route to take or where to fuel). Regarding the fuel, they give you a book that has all the approved fuel stops for each state. 

Cons:

- Trucks are junk. Poly uses International Prostars and they are the cheapest, stripped down units they can find. Additionally, they spend about as much time broke down as they do running. In the few months I've been there, I've been in a hotel once (for a week), in a loaner twice. Yes, I know what you're thinking. "They have loaners? Cool". NO, it's not cool. Those POS loaners are nasty and they're in worse shape than the assigned trucks. You'll be lucky to leave and get back with one without coming back on a hook.

- The shop leaves a LOT to be desired. They have 3 shop supervisors and not a one of them is a mechanic. Additionally, none of the "mechanics" are mechanics. The wise Poly driver goes over his/her truck with a FINE TOOTH COMB after getting it back from the shop. The first thing I always do is check my tires for nails, screws, bolts, etc... Rarely do I NOT pull at least one of the mentioned items out of at least one of my tires. You can walk around by the shop and you'll find debris littering the ground from one end to the other. Never do the do a "FOB Sweep". Additionally, just because they say they fixed something doesn't mean it's true. Half the time, they DO NOT fix the truck properly. 

If the tractors aren't enough, the trailer guys are even worse. At least 50% of the trailers have issues that would put them out of service with any other company. Issues range from lights out, landing gear that doesn't function correctly, tandem pins won't release, etc... And, the hell of it is you'll hook up to a trailer that has an "OK to Use" placard on it which means it's been inspected and good to go and then you'll find issues. Here's just one personal experience example, but I could list a dozen: I hooked to a trailer (had the "Ok to Use" placard) and it literally took me less than 2 mins to find the following issues: Marker light out, one of the tires was 40 lbs low, another wheel was missing valve stem cap and the pins would not release.

You should have the idea by now, lol.

- No driver facilities (useful). They do have one lone shower, but it's open and anyone can walk in on you standing there in your b-day suit. I don't know many drivers that use it. Most just go to a truck stop. 

- Communication SUCKS at Poly. As I always say, the good part about Poly is you'll never hear from them. The bad part about Poly, you'll never hear from them. And, if you call them, you'll be leaving a voicemail and you MIGHT get a call back depending on who you call. If you call backhaul, you'll play hell getting them to call you back in a timely manner, if at all.

- Paper logs. Yes, I listed this in the pros, but there is a catch to them. The trucks are governed at 68 mph, but you're only allowed to log 65 mph. Thus, if you get on a long stretch of interstate (I-10 in my case), it's very easy to average 65, 66 mph. If you log so much as a .0001 over 65 mph, you'll get written up and told to change it. This has never happened to me, but what bugs me about it is you are forced to turn in a FALSE log. That doesn't sit right with me as my signature is on that document. And, there's nothing in DOT that says I can't log 66 mph. Poly has some other quirky log rules that do not follow DOT. Thus, they'll say "We run legal" in one breath and then make you turn in a false log. 

- Poly has WAY too many quirky rules to even begin to list, but I'll just say this. The ONLY way to get along around that place is to keep a low profile, and stay off of plant property as much as possible. Come in, drop your empty, pick up your loaded trailer, turn in your papers, get the hell out. If your load is not ready, get a bobtail pass and get the hell out of there, but DO NOT hang around. 

Poly supervisors are notorious for knocking on your door at 0 dark thirty and telling you to move your truck. See, they don't comprehend that when you rolled in at 2300 there was nowhere on the bobtail line to park. Thus, you had to park by the drivers lounge. That doesn't register with them. They're like robots. 

- This one will come as a shock to all (tongue firmly in cheek), but drivers are low life scum in the Poly pecking order. With few exceptions, most office personnel will not speak one word to you, and that includes the president of the company. You are little more than a scourge on society in their eyes.

- No detention pay

- No breakdown pay. This one is a BIG deal to *most* Poly drivers as we spend a LOT of time broke down.

- Shipping is ALWAYS behind on weekends. If you have the misfortune of taking a load that is scheduled to be ready at 0700 on a Saturday, you may as well get comfortable because that load isn't likely going to be ready before late in the afternoon at the earliest. This is for a couple of reasons. One, the outside contractors get loaded first because they don't want to have to pay them detention (we don't get detention). Also, dispatch will request a 100 loads be ready at 0700 because every driver there wants to get out of there early. That's not doable. Finally, Poly doesn't pay the warehouse types enough for them to give a #### about their job so they think nothing of calling in a nice Saturday in lieu of coming to work.

Bottom line for me is the disrespect they show toward their drivers. I can deal with a lot, but I can't deal with people that don't even have the common decency to at least return a phone call.

p.s. If you do decide Poly might be better for you than your current situation, good for you. But, do NOT fall for the line that you can make $80k a year there. That is absolutely false and do NOT let anyone tell you different. I PROMISE you, if nothing else, you won't keep a truck under neath you long enough to run enough to make that kind of cash. I would say $60-$65K is a realistic number to shoot for.

p.s.s. One final thought: IMO, Poly, with VERY LITTLE effort, could be a top tier outfit. If they would buy decent tractors and clean house in the shop and hire actual mechanics, If they would actually pay their non-driver employees enough to give them incentive to give a #### about their work, and clean house in the office by getting rid the "good old boys" that infest the place, they would be a great company. But, none of that is likely to happen. There are 3 standard answers to all questions fielded by Poly. 

1. "We'll look into that"

2. "That's not a bad idea... Allen, write that down"

3. "Remember, we're just the trucking side. Poly America would never allow that"