Company logo

Prime Inc. reviews

3.0
(33)
$788 - $6,731/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$788 $2,062 $6,731
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Prime Inc.

Share the salary you were paid at Prime Inc.

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Jun 21, 2022

Im treated like a King, im on a sweet route making $120k per year driving 8 hours a day. Prime rewards drivers for their loyalty. The longer you are here the higher regard and more money you make.

Pros

Best company on the planet. Like a family

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Mar 25, 2022

I worked there my year but they still charged me 5k for training. When I turned in my lease truck they charged me for failing to due an oil change which wasn't due for another 1k miles or more. They charged me for wiper blades, mudflap, glad hand seals, air filters APU, and top off all fluids which had all already been performed by myself before turning in the truck. I didn't stay for the inspection due to driving all day to make OTD and still had a 5hr drive home they wanted to do the inspection at 9pm I said ok I've already done everything top to bottom with the truck he said you should be golden and so I waived my right to be present during inspection and they got me. Rob Low is a sorry excuse for a good business man as he is as crooked as the rest of them.

Pros

The new equipment is nice

Cons

If you don't appease to them then they will toy with you just bc they can.

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Current Employee - Feb 16, 2022

Not a bad company been leasing with them for 5 years did reefer now tanker . I average 2500 a week sometimes more. Next step would be to become o/o but it’s not bad to work there.

Pros

Won’t be stuck in the middle of no where.

Cons

At the end of the day your just a number so don’t get to comfortable.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Feb 14, 2022

Horrible customer service , manager and recruiter were EXTREMELY rude to me, gave my spot away with Noo warning . I didn’t speak to my recruiter for ONE day and she made notes that she didn’t speak to me for 3 days ! Had a spot for March 18th and now all of a sudden they don’t have any spots until late April or late may which makes NO SENSE . I heard the company wasn’t even worth all this hassle for me .

Pros

Cons

Rude recruiters and rude managers , please don’t waste your time . Not worth it

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Feb 2, 2022

Dispatcher recruiter Jenny is unprofessional and harassing me I want attended their training school they make okay money but it's not the right amount that they say they are very rude and unprofessional they do not take care of their customers

Pros

The pay rate is okay

Cons

They lie in not professional...

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Springfield, MO on Jun 21, 2022

$2,308 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 1 Year CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Mar 25, 2022

$2,000 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Feb 16, 2022

$2,500 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - In CDL School CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Feb 14, 2022

$1,058 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 1-5 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Missouri on Feb 2, 2022

$800 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Getting into UPS Freight...

Sean_Memphis

Feb 12, 2015

Getting into UPS Freight...

Prime has highest training pay. 600 bucks a week for all 4 weeks before taxes.Crst makes u team drive wit u another newbie after training with trainer. Swift and Crengland has low pay after training. Good Luck !!!

6 months at Prime, Inc.

evofd

Aug 8, 2016

6 months at Prime, Inc.

Been 6 quick months with Prime now and they have kept me very busy....

I do lease from them and and although I have read many terrible experiences regarding leasing I have yet to have a bad one. Avg pre-tax income is currently 55 cpm after expenses. Avg'ing about 3kmi per week and out for a month or two at a time...so not home much. Already received Top Driver for month and got a small bonus. So I have to say Prime has really come thru with flying colors for me. If you are thinking of driving for Prime and have any questions feel free to send'em...I do not get on here daily so be patient and I'll respond as soon as I can. Drive safe!

Prime Inc tanker YouTube

moose97

Feb 1, 2016

Prime Inc tanker YouTube

Q: I am considering going with Prime on either reefer or tanker, I have experience in both. Do you have any insight as to what the pros and cons are of tanker v reefer? Do you think that geographic location is a factor in which would be a better choice? I am in Florida on the east coast.

 

Do you lease or company driver?

 

Thanks for the info, it is very timely. I look forward to watching your videos.

 

A: Almost everything you have asked is answeredin one of my videos. The short answers are:

 

Tanker is fewer miles, but different pay to make up for the fewer miles, so I see it as not having to work as hard as reefer for the same pay.

 

Depending on exactly where in Florida, tanker may not work for you. Contact recruiting to see for sure.

 

Lease.

 

Enjoy the videos and comment if you have more questions

PSD training with Prime Inc.

Calvin Stewart

Feb 29, 2016

PSD training with Prime Inc.

First, take everything you experienced at swift with regards to pay and accounts and throw that out the window. Prime doesn't do stupid accounts. Second, the rate you get paid in a Walmart account is more then regular otr. When I ran the Walmart account I was averaging $.53/mi. They pay you really well for running walmart accounts.

 

The lease purchase program requires a $14,000 down payment and an additional $1,000 if you want the apu. There is no waiting period for that.

 

The regular lease program you can enter as soon as your training is done. Don't recommend that though. Drive company until spring of next year. I say that because by the time you finish training and then 6 months solo you'll be right smack dab in the middle of winter. Not a good time to come on board as a lease driver. Freight is low from the first of the year to March/April. Unless you're familiar with running a successful business that is profitable I would wait.

 

As a company driver you're taken care of very well and usually first over lease trucks.

 

Just remember, prime is way different from swift. Leave all your past baggage at the bus station and keep an open mind. Don't compare everything to how swift was or did it. It'll make the transition to a real company easier for you

PSD training with Prime Inc.

darthanubis

Mar 19, 2016

PSD training with Prime Inc.

With the attitude your displaying here. Swift's loss, Prime's gain. You'll do fine!

There is a wealth of information in this forum and even real Prime drivers are more than happy to share, exchange numbers, the whole bit. I've been taking care of very well in my last 8 months. This is my first trucking experience. I've done company for eight months and just went lease. There have been bumps along the way, but nothing directly related to the company. Just individual personalities as with anywhere. My year will be up in August, and unless I'm offered something super sweet in the Southeast, regional, sick of winters, I'll be staying with Prime. If I do get the itch to move, I'm making sure it's on great terms, because I could see coming back to Prime. I'm hoping I can get a good SE regional with Prime.

 

Anyway, this ain't about me.

 

Good luck to you driver!

Interested in Prime Inc.

Ryan Brooks

Jul 28, 2015

Interested in Prime Inc.

Question: When you go to Prime in Missouri, how do they have you claim residency in that state if you really live in another state? They have you get a Missouri permit and cdl A. Do you have to transfer it back to your home state or can you keep the MO cdl?

 

A: You get a MO CDL then must transfer it back to your domicile state.

Prime Inc. or KLLM/FFE Transport to begin a trucking carreer?

pauly66

Feb 12, 2016

Prime Inc. or KLLM/FFE Transport to begin a trucking carreer?

I worked for Prime for almost 6 months; no one pushed the Lease program. Once I stated I wanted to go company, no one else mentioned the Lease program again.

 

I would say that Prime is an excellent place to get get your CDL and gain some experience. The facilities are top notch. There equipment is very good. They pay, I believe to be the best while you are in training.

 

And Prime is 62 mph for company trucks on cruise control, foot on the pedal its 58 mph. They take safety and fuel economy very seriously and you are compensated well for your performance on both.

Prime Inc. or KLLM/FFE Transport to begin a trucking carreer?

pauly66

Feb 14, 2016

Prime Inc. or KLLM/FFE Transport to begin a trucking carreer?

If you looking to be trained properly Inwould recommend Prime if you don't have a cdl. You can go to their truck school and it's free if you work for them 1 year. Their PSD trainers earn their $ via bonuses for you passing your skills test with the least amount of retries. This basically requires them to teach you how to back up a truck and drive since their goal isn't actual miles. After getting your CDL, if you lucky, you will have same trainer for TNT training and run much harder. Neither is perfect like any other set up but I've come across drivers from both companies who struggled to back into a parking spot. Those normal attended a truck school outside Prime. Not many companies will take the time to train you do drive the truck properly without focusing on miles at the beginning of you use them to get a CDL. Their main terminal is across the street in from MO Department of Transportation so things aren't as loose as it was when I got my CDL via CR England.

Prime, Inc Lightweight International Prostar & Freightliner Cascadia Video Tours

moose97

Oct 8, 2015

Prime, Inc Lightweight International Prostar & Freightliner Cascadia Video Tours

To be clear, I'd definitely want a full size if I was OTR (and with Prime's current options, would lease a Freightliner Midroof). First off, I'm 6'7". Second, just have more storage space plus the cabinet for a real fridge (which I'd have) if I wasn't home as much. All this said, if I was told that I had to have this Int'l as an OTR truck, I could make it work - and guys make both the Int'l and Freightshaker LW's work as OTR trucks. Just know that they have their limitations, plan for them and you'll be fine.

New Driver for Prime Inc.

smalloy

Apr 6, 2015

New Driver for Prime Inc.

Welcome to Prime! I started Nov 3rd, and now I'm driving alone and its great. Just pray you get a good Trainer. And everything else you need to know is at the link above...

New to Prime INC - What to expect (Springfield edition)

silenteagle

Dec 6, 2012

New to Prime INC - What to expect (Springfield edition)

Welcome to the thread that I hope will explain what you are going to experience when you arrive at our facilities in Springfield Missouri. Most of you will be riding the dog (Greyhound) from wherever you are to our terminal. Make sure you have the phone number for the Prime shuttle. They will come get you from the bus station and drop you off at The Campus Inn (Prime's hotel and training facility).

When you arrive at the hotel you will check in and receive a room.The hotel DOES NOT COST YOU ANYTHING WHILE IN TRAINING. If it is late, or just after a meal has ended, they will give you a boxed lunch that has a sandwich and some other goodies. (If you have high BP due to sodium, don't eat the ham sandwich) If you are starting from scratch (no CDL) you will be sharing a room with someone. Others with a CDL that are just transferring from another carrier will probably be given a room to yourself, but don't expect it. (availability drives this) Look around, get your bearings and get yourself situated in the room. There are a few restaurants nearby, and a WalMart just a block away. (Go to the front of the hotel, look left, and start walking toward the Culvers restaurant, Wally world is just past this place.) There is an Applby's by the WalMart, but let me remind you,DO NOT DRINK ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES WHILE YOU ARE IN ORIENTATION! You will find yourself on the curb in front of the Oasis, paying your own way home. 

Meal Card: If you arrive early in the day you will probably get a meal card from the cafeteria. If you arrive late, you will get it at breakfast or lunch the next day. This card is your food for the week. It does not buy you everything you want, as each meal has a price limit that will get you the main meal and a drink. You will have to pay the difference if you want more than the basic meal. 

Money: I would recommend bringing $200 with you. $100 will be the fee Prime charges you, $50 for your CDL permit, and $50 spending cash because sometimes the meal just doesn't fill you up, or you need that soda and candy bar just to stay awake. You shouldn't need more than that.

You should be given a packet with a bunch of application questions and stuff to fill out. Make sure you fill it out as soon as you can. You will need it completed on day one. It will be used for your background interview. The packet will be a repeat of most of the information you provided to the recruiter. DO NOT LIE OR TRY TO HIDE ANYTHING! All trucking companies must investigate every applicants work, driving, and criminal history. EX: If you have a misdemeanor for peeing in public, tell them.

Day one of orientation is hectic and confusing, so get a good night sleep.