Company logo

Red Classic Transit reviews

3.2
(6)
$500 - $3,462/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$500 $1,319 $3,462
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Red Classic Transit

Share the salary you were paid at Red Classic Transit

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Feb 17, 2022

New trucks! I’m home daily. We have great management and dispatchers that care! Safety is the forefront of everything. If you don’t feel safe doing something, no questions asked you aren’t going to be forced to do it. Love this company. We are looking for drivers and technicians, come join the red crew, you won’t be disappointed!

Pros

Too many to name!

Cons

Nothing to complain about, they take care of their drivers!

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Red Classic Transit

We appreciate your kind words! We’re so happy to have you in the #RedCrew!

Current Employee - Feb 17, 2022

Home time is good home every night and off 2 days. Pay adequate and benefits ok could use a 24 hr shop support

Pros

Hometime Pay

Cons

Takes too long to get trucks fixed in shop but we do have spare trucks to use

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Red Classic Transit

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and the community. Your feedback means a lot to us!

Current Employee - Feb 17, 2022

Growing company that really cares about its teammates! They invest in you as a part of the team and promotes great values that is in our purpose statement. Supportiveness, Honesty, Integrity, Courage, Conviction, Accountability to name just a few. This company cares about who we are adding to the team and we are looking for great drivers and technicians!

Pros

Feel respected and valued.

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Response from Red Classic Transit

Thank you for the five-star review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Red Classic.

Current Employee - Jun 21, 2021

You'll average about $1100 per week, after insurance, taxes, 3% taken out for 401k you bring home $7-750 week this is filing single. They pay by the mile PM drivers make .54 per mile and AM make .57 per mile...detention pay @ $19.35 her after first 30mins. There is no stop or component pay, they don't layovers unless it really, really can't be avoided. Now the biggest thing I've seen people get fired over is the Bendex Accident Avoidance Systen, the outward facing camera reads road signs, radar is used to measure how close you are to vehicle a in front you...all information is sent back to the safety dept and reviewed. If your coming off OTR it will take you training yourself to get use to the system.

Pros

Decent benefits

Cons

Salary, getting in touch with dispatch, Bendex system will make you want to give up and quit

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Mar 30, 2021

The managers and planners need to be fired ASAP! They will give your load away and not pay you anything for your loss. BISHOPVILLE SC.MANAGEMENT IS THE WORST!!!!!!!! Stay away from this company.

Pros

Good benefits and vacation.

Cons

Bad planning and management.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Roanoke, VA on Feb 17, 2022

$1,100 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Piedmont, SC on Oct 3, 2021

$1,250 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in North Carolina on Jun 21, 2021

$1,100 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Bishopville, South Carolina on Mar 30, 2021

$500 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Charlotte,NC on Apr 3, 2019

$500 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Red Classic Transit

BuzzLvr

Nov 23, 2014

Red Classic Transit

I know an owner who has one of his trucks there. $1/mile + FSC. ($.41 a few weeks ago) He says he can average 2500 miles/week, if he can get his driver to utilize his hours wisely. They have a fuel card which offer discounts at most major truck stops, but can get fuel at cost if he fuels at a Coke facility which has fuel. No forced dispatch.They use e logs but I don't know the system that the use. A lot of drop and hook at Coke plants, but they do have other freight besides Coke.

Red Classic Transit

BuzzLvr

Nov 23, 2014

Red Classic Transit

Red Classic is a good company going through growing pains. I was leased for a year and just quit last week. Mainly due to frustration regarding that they treat O/O different than company drivers.

Pros are the fuel. Last week I bought fuel at the coke yard in Simpsonville SC for 2.25 a gallon. The price varies from yard to yard and they don't provide you with the prices until you get your settlement. There are no discounts on fuel if bought from 3rd party sites (Hess TA Flying J etc.) They paid as of last week 1.03 per mile loaded and $1.00 unloaded and 100% of the fuel surcharge, empty or loaded. They also pay IFTA tax and $40 a hour for detention after the first 2 hours if live load or unload BUT only if they can get the money from that stop. If they cannot collect it, you don't get it! If you are unloading and reloading at the same stop than the wait time is 4 hours before you can request detention pay. 

Most the loads are drop and hook but some of the smaller coke dist centers expect you to be the yard switcher. Meaning you have to pull an empty off the dock then put your load in the hole. RCT hauls all types of freight but mainly coke, paper and beer. You are guaranteed to have a load on Monday but you may have to wait for it sometimes. You can get 1900 - 2300 miles a week if you really push hard and keep the fire burning.

Cons are having to locate a empty trailer on the yard at Charlotte and Bishopville if your load isn't ready. Spent 3 hours looking for a trailer many times. No pay for it either. Communication is horrible. You have to beg for your next load info sometimes. Its really hard to plan fuel stop when they only send one load at a time. Some days you may only do 2 stops and others you may do 6. Fuel is the key to making money as a OO, buy it where it is cheapest and never go home with to much at the end of the week. Hard to pay the bills with a gallon of fuel. When I first signed on I would receive 2 days worth of work at a time. It made planning real easy.

If a company driver arrives at a stop and his load is not ready they will give a OO load to him so he can keep moving. Which means you get to wait while they get your new load ready. They will tell you they never do this but I can not count the number of times it has happened. Company drivers come first. One reason is that they pay company drivers $20 an hour after 30 minutes detention with no exceptions. So they play the time game, pay him after 30 minutes or they can make you wait 2 hours free. 

There is no orientation just a safety check of your truck. Doesn't matter year, mileage or even what it looks like. You have to learn everything on your on. Lucky for me I knew some of the other drivers that had already figured everything out to help me. Calling your dispatcher is a total waste of time. They say there is no forced dispatch which is somewhat true, they do not force you to come to work on Monday but once you are there your butt belongs to them until they send you home. Once you pick up your first load you have no idea where you are going next and if you refuse to go there they tell you to bob tail home at your own expense and start again the next Monday. So if you prefer not to run WV, TN, KY, don't sign on because you will be expected to go there. Most of the trailers are over weight. They do pay over weight fines but nothing extra per mile for the weight. Plan on being 79,000 or more EVERY load. They have also hired new management from the big 3 trucking companies who plan to start moving freight in all the 48 states so before long OO will be expected to start OTR instead of regional. Hope this helps.

Red Classic Transit

BuzzLvr

Nov 23, 2014

Red Classic Transit

I posted I had quit working with RCT last week and today should have been my final settlement, they hold you back a week. Well now they are dragging it out not wanting to pay me all they owe me. I was promised 3.5 hours layover pay - did not receive! They say they are going to review my claim. I even sent them the email from the dispatcher saying I would receive $140 layover pay. My escrow of $2500.00 they are holding for 45 days starting today, even though the contract says 45 days starting the day I return their property (elog, Trailer Badge etc..) They are even going to hold the money I put into the maintenance fund. I owe them nothing but they are holding my money.

I had RCT shop put new king pins, wheel seals, and steer axle tires on my truck in late November. I ask for the warranty info and told them I found the wheel seal leaking yesterday, but since I no longer work there I have no warranty.  $3500 worth of work and no warranty?? Anyone thinking of signing on with them be prepared for BS storm if you ever choose to leave.

Red Classic Transit

JOE ADAMS

Apr 14, 2016

Red Classic Transit

Stay away not worth it. They will not make truck payments. They will take money out of settlement, and not make payments. They will hold your escrow account for no reason. Will try to force Dispatch on you, and tell you that's the only load in the company. Will not release you to go to another carrier, for no reason.