Company logo

R&L Carriers reviews

2.1
(15)
$740 - $2,250/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$740 $1,265 $2,250
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review R&L Carriers

Share the salary you were paid at R&L Carriers

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Nov 23, 2021

The worst service ever they never pick up on time always late they have a driver by the name of Ed that controls the dispatchers even the managers telling them what to do he has been run off many places and I cant seem to understand how one person has so much control over management sad. Dispatchers can't even reply back to emails sent from companies.

Pros

none I would never use R&L carriers and would not recommend. Dallas area

Cons

none I would never use R&L carriers and would not recommend. Dallas area

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Nov 14, 2021

It is useless to do extra work here as a driver. You'll just be expected to do more. All while people that are late everyday, and call off once a week are treated like gold.

Pros

Pay is OK, but no overtime

Cons

Too many to list

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Oct 31, 2021

Drivers do not waste your time with this company, it's not worth loosing your CDL over. This is one of the worst trucking company in the LTL industries. Drivers being taken advantage of not being paid for doing tasks while being on duty. (hook/drop/fuel/delays, breakdowns and not being paid for runs ) This explains why this company has a high turnover rate. The equipment and terminals are poorly maintained. Most of the terminals have insufficient lighting. They have no business loading and transporting hazard materials. I glad I didn't pull over for any inspections. Freight being stack on top of hazard materials and trailers not being properly placard or placards not be removed on empty trailers..

Pros

Drivers are helpful /health benefits somewhat ok...

Cons

uniform program is a joke, poor communication from managers/dispatchers. The drivers room and offices are filthy and the restrooms are disgustingly!!!

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Oct 23, 2021

If you are over 35 or stay long enough to get raises, they will work hard to try to replace you with the first younger lower paid driver they can find.

Pros

P&D weekends off and most holidays.

Cons

Poor management that enjoys making life difficult on drivers. Underpaid dispatchers and customer service. They run plenty of job board ads to keep a steady flow of new drivers coming in, because drivers are always leaving.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Oct 16, 2021

Not terrible in the way of large carriers. You can make decent money here, but from my terminal you are pretty much condemned to the northeast. I run for their ‘central linehaul’ division, which means I run a sleeper but am home daily. The biggest gripe I have is that I’m stuck in the NE most of the time, and also we get the oldest trucks the company has (of the sleepers). Sure, they buy new trucks all the time, but we don’t see them until they have 500k+ on them. They pay pretty well, but if you’re paid hourly (P&D), it’s straight time with no overtime. Oh, and the raises are very small as well. Resorts are cool, only been to one so far but it’s pretty easy to get into them. Just fill out the form and give it to your TM. They’ll take it from there. Don’t really have much else to say about them, it’s a reliable company with plenty of work to go around. I average around 2500-2700 miles a week, for about 1500-1650 gross. Not too bad for being home daily.

Pros

Decent pay, reasonable home time, decent equipment, most of the dispatch is decent to work with

Cons

Lots of haz freight, no OT if you’re paid hourly, older trucks, some terminals are poorly maintained. Very disorganized as a company

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Pittston, PA on Nov 14, 2021

$962 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Indiana on Oct 31, 2021

$1,229 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Oct 23, 2021

$1,058 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Ohio on Oct 16, 2021

$1,442 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Sep 25, 2021

$800 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Rl carrier line haul

juandlg15

Aug 27, 2016

Rl carrier line haul

Q: Looking for info on rl carriers. I just saw a job posting to work out of El Paso TX location. Wondering if it will be a good switch for me. Wanting to know how they get paid, and what home time looks like. Thanks in advance for your replies.

 

A: Most R+L guys seem to be happy there. Different terminals will vary though.

 

A: I know that they require 1 year class a cdl in the past 3 yrs. Their line haul iso overnight runs and make averaging about 65-70 starting out. Their hourly p&do guys start about 20+/HR and it's time and a half after 40. They have 3 company owned resorts (California, Tennessee and florida) that you can stay at for cheap as an employee insentive. I looked into them when I was looking and decided to go with Saia instead. This info was from what was provided to me last week.

Rl carrier line haul

juandlg15

Aug 27, 2016

Rl carrier line haul

City paid by hour. Line haul is paid mileage. Home daily usually as they changed their routes to get rid of hotel costs. If linehaul be prepared to be on nights until you are about to retire. 60k-90k roughly.

 
R&l Carriers

realdesertkickin

Apr 7, 2016

R&l Carriers

R&L in my town sucks...My market is too small, end of the line terminal..Equipment shady, drivers let go pretty fast when the freight slows...

 

But I have a happy friend out of Phoenix Az, big market, nice equipment, plenty of freight, busy year round

 

Any LTL or P&D company can be good..Any particular terminal can be good or bad...You'll extract max value from your CDL, companywise...Just get on, hopefully make it a couple years if it aint that great, then jump ship..

The company dont matter...any of them will do, R&L, YRC, ABF, UPS, DATS even..If theres freight, you'll work...which isnt always true..At Central Transport (my first LTL company), I got my 200 a night even with no freight, they'd send empties...LTL, P&D=good, one of them will suit ya just fine, hopefully it'll be the r and l...

 

Its funny, Ive read every LTL thread..At rl carriers they, and the drivers make a big deal about the upgraded premium super awesome Binford 9000 seats in the trucks..I think thats funny....

R&l Carriers

DRTDEVL

May 5, 2015

R&l Carriers

Been here 5+ years. Did night line haul for 4&1/2 years. 74,000 in 2014. Home everyday. Sat& sun nights off...5months ago switched to P&D(city driver). I'm @ 25.87/hr ..m-f 9am start time. Sat& Sun off & every major holiday off paid. Love it hear!!!!... Laid back family company. The owner will sit & talk to u & you'd never think he was worth millions.... insurance is 78/week for family med, dental, vision. Was 52 b4 Obama care screwed up everything. Yearly safety bonus if u have no mishaps.. 600.00 and get it a few weeks b4 Xmas.... No complaints here. Left night line haul cause I hated working nights & wanted a life.... Money ain't everything, my family means more. Still will make 65K year working city & have a life

R&l Carriers

DRTDEVL

May 5, 2015

R&l Carriers

Hey guys my wife and I team drive here. Out of the Louisville Ky terminal. Best company we have been with.Been here for a year and a half. I have 25 years experience and wife 10. We both made 85k each last year and will top out at 90k next year. Dedicated run. 1200 miles a day and 2 full days off Sat and Sun. Unheard of for teams. All of the local and solo linehaul drivers I've met are happy here. Solo linehauls avg 60 to 75k home daily. Local p and d avg 55k to 60k. Each terminal pay is different. We will be retiring here. Wish we found them years ago. The team we replaced retired after 15 years here.

Go to rlcdrivers.com to see if they are hiring

R&l Carriers

Trentforbes

Mar 21, 2016

R&l Carriers

I started last Monday as a P&D driver ... I love it everyone is so nice I even got a few "Welcome to the family" from other drivers ... My TM is a really nice laid back guy.. I make 20.06 and work 55 to 60 a week off sat-sun. Trucks are preloaded and routed for you. You literly don't do a thing but drive and deliver. Best decision I ever made. I can see myself retiring from here. Most of the guys been here 15+ years. Guy trained me been their since 93

SEFL, ODFL, or R+L

Lucky1992

Apr 6, 2016

SEFL, ODFL, or R+L

Q: So I am thinking of making the move from OTR to local/LTL. I live in Pensacola FL and these 3 companies are about all there is here.

 

I called all 3 and only R+L has p&d and line haul. The other 2 companies only run local p&d. Out of these 3 companies which one would be the best pick for a long term career? I've heard alot of good things about all 3.

 

I've done some research but I really don't know a whole lot about running ltl. If anyone here has opinions or works for one of these companies, please tell me your experiences with them.

 

A: I choose the one that has a linehaul & P&D as options. Not everyone can do P&D for 20yrs (physical work) Also you might try linehaul not like it and go back to P&D vise versa. Or you need more money and jump to linehaul. Even though ODFL gets a lot of praise their P&D doesn't get OT. R&L pays 25.87 topped out and I believe they have OT. SEFL I have no idea. If OD had linehaul too id jump there but not having options to me is a killer. Not everyone likes P&D. When I was at Foodservice(similar, stops, delivery, customers, a bit more physical then P&D) for a year towards the end I would open my trailer at the start of the day and be like"am I really gonna unload trailers for the rest of my life?" I personally have more longevity in linehaul in my mental health and physically I'd rather kill my body at the gym on my time then at work.

R+L Carriers System Driver

Gearbanger

Jul 10, 2015

R+L Carriers System Driver

R+L Carriers System Driver

 

Q: Does anyone know how often the System Driver at R+L gets home?

 

A: Hey sorry I just saw this, I am a system driver for them and to answer your question you are home every weekend, BUT you never know what time. When I looked into it they said Mon to Fri and for the first 6 months that was basically true I was home almost every Fri night 12 to 2 am but about 6 months ago they started not getting me home till late Sat. afternoon I don't mind an occasional sat. but not every week. THEY ACT LIKE YOU ARE NOT ENTITLED TO BE HOME. Most of the dispatchers in central are completely clueless and are CLOWNS who have no Idea about how long it takes to get somewhere. I've been doing it for a year now with trucks that nothing works no APU for 8 months no electric for microwave,tv or coffee pot. still, in 30 years of driving I've NEVER worked for a company that ####s on their drivers this badly they expect you to do things for FREE and make the line hauls drivers sit around for HOURS I MEAN HOURS with out pay. I kept thinking it'll get better but it's getting worse I'm currently looking real scumbags here. Good luck.

 

PS.Lots of long time employees leaving in droves, most of the old timers stay because they don't wanna change lots and lots of drivers with under 2 years ,makes you go hmmmm.

 

A: I think it depends which terminal you run out of. Luckily our meet guy is usually on time. When we get back we have 2 and a half hours wait for load to be ready but we use that to get our shower and walk for exercising. We get back at 10pm and our cut time is Midnight. Usually get paperwork by 1230. I have heard nightmare from system drivers about delay time . Our shop is pretty good about repairing any thing wrong. Our APU quit working so our mechanic did an override on the idle.

R+L Carriers - anyone familiar with them?

Shaggy

Feb 23, 2015

R+L Carriers - anyone familiar with them?

Transport Topics (2/23/15, page 22) quotes Jay Bullard, vice president of operations at R+L Carriers: "Over the past year, we have put Bose Ride system seats in 1,000 of our 5,000 cabs as a way to alleviate shocks and vibrations and to show management's appreciation for the job drivers do."

R+L Carriers - anyone familiar with them?

Shaggy

Feb 23, 2015

R+L Carriers - anyone familiar with them?

Update on this thread: I took the local p&d position with them several weeks ago. Not bad so far. Obviously terminals vary, but mine expects an average of 52 hours per week for p&d. I go in at 9AM, usually done at 7PM. Drivers don't do dock work, at least not at my terminal. Sometimes I go back out to do a drop and hook after my route, or go do a few warehouse pick ups to help a dispatcher clear his board. Occasionally there is Saturday work available. One of the reasons I took the job is that I do want to make money, but I'm at a point in life where I don't really want to be in a truck more than 50 hours a week or so. Another is that the terminal happens to be very close to my house. They have me on a regular route already, which I like. The equipment is well-maintained, and they spec comfortable seats in all of their trucks, and they are now aging out most of the fleet and and replacing the p&d trucks with new peterbilts believe it or not. Obviously some old beaters in the fleet for the guys on the bottom, but a little windex and armorall and the old one-stack Mack I'm putting around in is decent enough. Linehaul gets IHC's and Peterbilts also, rumored to be some KW's.

Quirky company in some ways - I had to provide my own pallet jack. Is this something that happens in other companies? Also the time off is almost non-existent, but they let you stay at company-owned resorts when you take vacation. Some of the guys take them up on this and go to Daytona Beach every year. Cute, but I probably won't use that benefit.

Anyway - I'm with you guys in LTL now! It ain't just holding a steering wheel all day is it?