Company logo

United Road Services (URS) reviews

2.2
(14)
$827 - $4,808/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$827 $2,131 $4,808
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review United Road Services (URS)

Share the salary you were paid at United Road Services (URS)

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Jun 27, 2023

They have all the work you would ever want to haul. You can make good money here if your a go getter.

Pros

Amount of work bonuses home time and benefits

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Jun 27, 2023

United Road is a good company with good people. Deadhead miles are no fun, but they keep the truck loaded. Dispatch is good.

Pros

insurance, pay, bonuses, steady work, dispatch

Cons

long hours, physical work

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Apr 15, 2024

Since they changed to force dispatch it’s been horrible. You’re doing full time work for part time pay. I use to love working for them but the new system doesn’t benefit the drivers.

Pros

None

Cons

You’re going to slave just to make 1,000 in a week

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Current Employee - Mar 20, 2024

If your a current driver then get out as fast as possible. I can compare it to the Titanic and upper management is the iceberg. If your thinking about working for United road forgot about it. You would be better off at Swift.

Pros

NONE. Trust me. I've been here for 16 years and it's so bad that I'm moving on to another car hauling company.

Cons

Upper management. They simply don't care about the drivers not one bit.

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Current Employee - Mar 19, 2024

URS just implemented a new force dispatch system. More miles, more work time, less pay. It's a sinking ship, drivers are leaving enmass bye bye united road

Pros

None

Cons

Upper management doesn't care

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Apr 15, 2024

$950 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Twin Oaks, PA on Mar 20, 2024

$1,731 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Columbia, SC on Mar 19, 2024

$1,923 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in West point ga on Jan 27, 2024

$4,808 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Dec 11, 2023

$1,442 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

United Road Called!

Gucci25

Mar 1, 2016

United Road Called!

Typically brand new car haulers will make what you are making now. Experienced carhaulers make $2,000 a week or better. You will earn every cent at first but if you don't mind working hard I think it is much better than OTR. I have heard that United Road keeps you out 2 weeks, but you will stay in a hotel every night instead of a truck. Some locations may get you home weekly. If you don't like United Road you could get your experience and then move up to a carhaul company that will get you home every couple days.

 

United Road Called!

Tropsnart

Mar 2, 2016

United Road Called!

If you're going to work out,of Marysville Ohio and be OTR then expect to not be home much. First year 60k is no problem. I made 105 the year before I left and that was running around like a chicken with its head cutoff east West and North South. A lot of the special move and auction work will pay significantly better than some terminal work. You will get a ####### truck in the beginning but prove you can put numbers on that #### box and you'll have better equipment. You have a certain number to meet each week. Your first 90 days you get a base pay that meets part of that number and you get paid the difference if you exceed it. All deliveries are done on the OVISS phone app, really simple. Ask every question you can while your training because there is a chance what you think can happen already happened to,someone else there lol. Don't be ashamed when it takes you 6 hours to load your first load it happened to all of us. Anything else just ask, I'll try and answer as best I can.

United Road Called!

Canned Spam

Mar 6, 2016

United Road Called!

Hey what's up. I see your post was a month or so back so you probably already made a decision, but I have been working for just over a year at United Road Detroit. I grossed 75,000 my first year and I take 12-14 hour breaks every night and home the full weekend on most weekends. However, by Ohio I assume you mean Marysville? I would stay away. This company operates like the USA. Every terminal is different just like states, but then there is corporate in Romulus, MI which is like the Federal government. Marysville drivers are about the lowest paid in the company because the freight doesn't pay anything. It's mostly Hondas there. Most guys I know from Detroit make over 100,000/yr and are home most weekends. Marysville has a good shop, but terrible dispatch. I avoid that place like the plague. If you want real money, hire into Marysville to get your feet wet, then transfer to Detroit if you can and drive for either Lou or Becky if you can. The best money currently is running Canada and East coast. We pick up Ford Edges in Canada and take them to Jersey. You need a fastpass and twic card in Detroit. As far as Marysville, don't think you need either one, but I may be wrong. Marysville is a good place to learn the trade though, because you will do alot of 10 civic loads, as well as Pilots and vans. So you'll figure out how to get defferent size vehicles on ur truck. One major difference is Marysville drivers seem to go into the terminal and get dispatched in person where as I have seen my dispatchers in person like maybe 3 times in a year. Marysville is all about making Honda happy. Detroit is all about making money. Hope that helps. Good luck! I'll never pull a box again.