Company logo

UPS reviews

3.8
(9)
$660 - $3,269/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$660 $1,823 $3,269
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review UPS

Share the salary you were paid at UPS

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Aug 27, 2023

Great pay and benefits for putting in the time doing the part time jobs for several years . Loads are simple

Pros

Good company overall. Dispatchers and managers are actually good if you actually put in the effort and don’t be a DB

Cons

Actually would be some coworkers who act like entitled p ricks

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Apr 11, 2022

Great job IF you have seniority, if not, you barely work, and your schedule is all over the place! They call you at 5am, 11am, 4pm, 8pm, 1am…and many days they don’t call at all because there is NO work! The 40 hr guarantee is ONLY if you have a bid, which there aren’t enough for the excessive amount of drivers they hire. You never know when to sleep because you could get up at 9am, stay up all day waiting for them to call you, then when you’re ready to go to bed at 10pm they may call and say can you come in at 2 am? If you say no because you’re tired, they put you on the bottom of the list and you won’t be working! If you have a house and family, this isn’t the place for you! I couldn’t do it.

Pros

Good IF you have seniority which takes decades to get.

Cons

Lack of work. Never know when you will work if at all.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Oct 21, 2021

Best company I have worked for. I don’t need management, these company runs itself. You have a set run and set miles. OTR are Penske rental always maintained.

Pros

Great pay and benefits, retirement plan.

Cons

It takes long to make it

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Aug 26, 2020

Love my job, hate the company, but unfortunately they pay me well enough with benefits that I’ll be here a while.

Pros

Union, Pay, benefits, MOST drivers home every night

Cons

Union, management, stress, trying to get the job.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Jun 8, 2019

This is a good company to build a retirement with great pay but it does come with downsides. The equipment is old for the most part and they hang on to trucks forever. 1,000,000+ mile international day cabs are the norm. Management has taken a dive over the past few year because the company just keeps taking and taking from them. Your boss is likely to be a 24 year old kid with three accidents because that's the only person they could get to do the job. That being said you will make great money and have access to great benefits with a great 401k and a pension.

Pros

Pay, benefits, retirement

Cons

Bad trucks, inexperienced management

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Arizona on Aug 27, 2023

$2,115 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in PA on Apr 11, 2022

$1,320 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in FLORIDA on Oct 21, 2021

$3,269 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Dallas/Ft. Worth on Aug 26, 2020

$1,440 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Miami, FL on Dec 30, 2019

$2,308 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

UPS

ciscokid79

Apr 29, 2014

UPS

my friend just got hired at ups (brown not freight) off the street. started on call part time 24.00 hr for 4 months then got hired on busted down to 16.00hr but within a year says he will be back to 24.00 hr then top scale of 32.00 hr reached within 4 yrs this is out of davenport Ia sounds great right. but hold on he is on the call in board and will be for years so basically one week he might work all week next week 2 days and he has to be available 24/7 make no mistake ups is no gravy train but put your time in and deal with the B.S till you get some senority then its great, plus if you have kids the bennys are unbeatable

UPS Team OTR

iamchrisstone

Feb 18, 2015

UPS Team OTR

Yes we have teams, but not many. Most of our freight is moved by rail. Usually the most senior drivers bid team runs. The bid winner can then choose their teammate. Pay is about $.70 a mile. Most team guys will each make $120k to 130K a year. Runs vary, but most are out 4-4 1/2 days and off 2 1/2-3 days. I run local from a center in Northern Colorado to Denver. Make two round trips and work about 52-53 hours a week and pulled down 102K. Mileage guys do better than hourly guys like me, but I'm not complaining. Make $100k driving a truck. Not bad, but 80% of the work is at night for local guys which turns off a lot of package guys from bidding into feeders. I don't mind it, because I can sleep during the day. 

UPS is a pay your dues company. The junior guys get the worse runs and the senior guys get the best runs. The longer you work here the better it gets. A junior guy can get into a team run if the senior driver who wins the team bid picks the junior guy to run with him. Make friends with a senior guy and get him to pick you as a teammate. I've been at UPS for 25 years, so life is good because I'm the most senior Feeder driver at my small center. We only have 3 feeder runs. I can choose which run I want, which vacation days I want, and which days off I want. It is great.

It is easier to get a job off the street at UPS as a Feeder driver than a Package car driver, because Feeder bids go unfilled because of the night work. If no one bids the Feeder job than the company will hire off the street. I'm not sure why the driver hated UPS so much, because every off the street hire I've ever met says UPS is like a vacation to every other driving job they have had. Work is steady, pay is great, benefits are great, equipment is great, repairs are done, great vacation time (I have 7 weeks off a year) and union protection. Seems a little silly to give up a good job over a beard and uniform, but some people aren't cut out for UPS. Suspect there may be more to that story. UPS does have its way, and they expect you to follow their way. I've never found any rules to be odd, but I came up through UPS, so maybe I'm just use to it. Most have a purpose behind them. Like memorizing driving and yard safety rules. Lots of drivers hate that, but it is designed to keep everyone safe. Most guys who can't cut it at UPS want do things their way and find when they can't they quit or get fired. Or they want to have the life of a senior driver like me. Best runs, best pay, best time off, but can't because of their lower seniority. They don't think it's fair etc. What they don't except is that we all put in the time and took the bad runs and worked the bad hours until we got to point we are at now where life it good. Some guys just don't want to pay their dues for a better life.

UPS Team OTR

brown5280

May 6, 2015

UPS Team OTR

Mileage pay 2015: Single trailer $0 .7873 Double trailers: $0.8045 Triple Trailers: $0.8212 a mile. Not sure what you mean by strict. UPS has its way and you MUST do it their way. Yes you do have to wear a uniform, no beards, clean shaven, etc. No its not that strict. Feeders is way better than packages for a accidents. I've seen a guy punch a hole in a trailer backing a dolly under it and only get a slap on the hand. Also, know a guy who rolled a set of triples and get his job back. Was suspended for 6 weeks, but they brought him back. Usually supervisor will ride with you for a day and go over safety stuff all day if its not too bad. Gets more harsh if you roll a trailer and its your fault. 

All feeder jobs are posted at upsjobs.com. Most teams come from inside from other feeder drivers bidding those runs. They pay really well, so the guys with the team runs are usually very senior. Union rules apply so the person with the most seniority gets the run when its bid. Once he has the run he can then pick his teammate. Best advice I can give is to apply for any feeder jobs and get your foot in the door. Once you are hired then you can start bidding runs. Runs are bid yearly. Word of caution. Make sure you know what you are applying for; permanent or season feeder job. Seasonal will only last a few months around Christmas or during the summer and then you are laid off. Might hire you if they have an opening, but its rolling the dice.

Anyone work for UPS?

morgothaod

Nov 26, 2014

Anyone work for UPS?

Bucky, glad you sit some of these people straight. I find some of the comments about UPS right down ignorant. Yes, both UPS and UPS Freight are union with the exception of a couple of terminals in the freight division(bunch of "parasites") The truckload division is not union. Both UPS and UPS Freight are "prime" jobs, excellent pay and benefits. 

Anyone work for UPS?

Shaggy

Nov 27, 2014

Anyone work for UPS?

Just fill out the application, go on the interview and see what the TM has to say. I work as a feeder driver for UPS and if I wasn't working for that side of the company I would be working at UPSF. They are a solid outfit with good drivers and some of the new Volvo tractors are awesome. Both areas take real good care of the equipment so you don't get screwed with by DOT.

Ups freight

Gazoo64

May 7, 2014

Ups freight

Some feeder drivers on the package division make well over 6 figures. But i bet the old timers that run linehaul can scratch similar numbers with high mileage bids. With 72cpm they better be. The highest paying run in my yard will make you 97k/year and we are stuck at 58cpm.

Ups freight

PALOU

Aug 16, 2014

Ups freight

Feeder drivers are UPS package drivers that run between terminals. Same as a linehaul driver.

UPS Feeder Driver

Midwesttrucker

Jun 20, 2014

UPS Feeder Driver

Q: Just got hired as a FULL TIME feeder driver (tractor-trailer) at UPS Parcel and am very excited but nervous as well. When I met with HR she said that the overtime would be pretty much limited for a while. I've been in trucking not too long but long enough to know that a eight and skate is a rarity on most days. If any feeder drivers could chime in that would be great. This is a premium job and have worked hard to keep my nose and license clean so an opportunity at UPS would not be out of reach. Also just to clarity I'm not a current employee transferring into feeders but an off the street hire so my seniority is zero.

Right now I work in a unionized LTL with plenty of overtime opportunities and make a decent weekly take home with the OT. Once I get started I plan on posting how things are going for a new UPS'er.

 

A:  You have THE best driving job in the country. But you better realize that you are the lowest driver in seniority in that building, you will live by the phone, take what other drivers have turned down, work under a bunch of rules and you might face being laid off at times. Keep your nose clean and hang in there. This will be a 5 day work week job and home everyday. You will be paid for everything you do, some buildings pay by the hour, others by the miles, plus hour pay for extra work. Great benefits, good job security. 

Consider yourself very fortunate by getting this job. If I was a young man and wanting to drive for a living, I would sit on their doorsteps every morning until they hired me.

UPS Feeder Driver

Shaggy

Jun 21, 2014

UPS Feeder Driver

Becoming a feeder driver is the highest paying trucking job at UPS. Feeder Driver positions are posted as tractor trailer drivers. Those are the jobs you want to apply for and get. Feeder drivers are only on the parcel side of the business and top out at $33.00 per hour (takes four years to get) with OT after eight. A lot of times those tractor trailer driver jobs are posted as a seasonal job. Make sure you apply for it. If you get an interview tell the HR rep you want full time. You never know so MAKE SURE YOU ASK!!!. When you apply for the job apply to the larger hubs. Those small hubs have a waiting list a mile long with guys who have been with ups for almost a lifetime. Just give it a shot and apply. This is an old school company so when you go there to interview dress nice, polish you shoes and comb your hair. Don't go in there looking like you just rolled out of the TA. Take out your earrings and cover every tattoo that's visible.

UPS Feeder Driver

Rubber Neck

Aug 17, 2015

UPS Feeder Driver

Yes, my buddy works min hours. Doesn't try to work over 45hrs. Still makes 80k. Only draw back about it even though a lot of it is light lifting the body gives way. He's been off of work for 8-9 months cause of his back he's only 37. Feeder is all about the money cause you won't get a normal day shift til 15yrs or more in. He can probably bump into a day shift if he bids one. The money in feeder is insane. One of the runs out here is 600 miles round trip home daily 5 days a week over there it pays 120k base one of the drivers told me. That's not what senior make either on the same run too.

UPS Feeder Driver

Shaggy

Aug 18, 2015

UPS Feeder Driver

UPS Feeder....aahhh, the Holy Grail of trucking. I've worked a few peak seasons there, it's definitely crazy and they will "rule and regualte" you to death. However, it's the easiest trucking job you'll ever have. 

The pay is insane IF you're a full timer. Too big of a gap between part time and the full time guys, in my opinion. The last peak I worked I got a call to drive my personal vehicle to another domicile approximately 100 miles away. I then ran a mileage run in their truck, returning to the original departing facility (turn). They reimbursed me mileage for driving my own vehicle to the other depot and guess what? I got paid MORE per mile for driving my pickup than I did pulling a set of doubles from PA to NJ! Of course, that's not the case if you're full time. 

That being said, UPS FULL TIME Feeder would be about the ONLY place I'd go if I were looking for another 
driving job.A