Company logo

WEL Companies reviews

4.0
(6)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Share Your Experience

Rate and review WEL Companies

Share the salary you were paid at WEL Companies

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Nov 27, 2019

I loved working at WEL until I went on to a better opportunity. When I left there was a lot of vindictive behavior from Roberta. She did not want to pay me after I had given her two weeks notice. The last day I was there they acted very shady. I had to go to Bruce to get my pay. Chris the vice president told me I could come back whenever I wanted. Then the company that hired me told me that it was put on my job verification that I was not eligible for rehire. I wasn’t fired and I gave proper notice. I drove the truck from Pennsylvania and did runs taking it back to Wisconsin to avoid any fees. I had my daughter with me and I was supposed to work on that Friday locally. I was a dedicated driver for the Northeast. I was called early in the morning on Friday and told that I had to get out of the truck. I wasn’t supposed to leave for my flight until Saturday. My daughter and I quickly got ready and got all of our things out of the truck. Then my dispatcher called me to tell me that they didn’t have any work for me to do that day. So I asked if that would affect my dedicated pay. I was told yes. I spoke to Bruce and he had Roberta come in and talk to me. As soon as he left the room and I told Roberta what I had told Bruce, she began to yell at me. Jumped up and stormed out of the room. She also turned off the light while I was still sitting in there. Then they did not pay me the following week as promised after I spoke to Bruce. So I had to call payroll and they had to get Roberta to authorize it. The only reason why she did is because I recorded the conversation. I loved my dispatcher and I thought that Bruce and Chris were good men. I thought Roberta in operations was nice but I was wrong. Earlier in the spring I had a incident where my shoulder was hurt and I had to deal with Gloria in safety. I was told by numerous drivers in the company never to have dealings with her. But if I was ever hurt not to tell her. She always would say that we are family and to tell her if anything happened. I told her what happened and at first she was fake nice. Then later she yelled at me because I was told by numerous drivers in the company never to have dealings with her. But if I was ever hurt not to tell her. She always would say that we are family and to tell her if anything happened. I told her what happened and at first she was fake nice. Then later she Screamed at me over the phone and her reason was because she was having a bad day due to another driver. When that happened I began looking for another job. I came across a great opportunity working for FedEx custom critical. I don’t regret my decision one day. I work for an excellent company who genuinely cares. The people at Wells seem nice at first, but they are all very two-faced. There are a few good ones. The front desk, the people that work in Allentown, the guys in the Allentown shop, my dispatch Laurel And that’s about it. Good luck to anyone who decides works there. Hopefully your experience will be much better than mine. Home time... they always messed it up when I wanted to go home. Penalized me by cutting my week short and sending me home early. That took away my dedicated pay. Truck... it was always breaking down. They kept brushing me off about airline leaks, antifreeze leaks etc until u squid it was a safety concern. Pay... its good... but if u refuse a load due to lack of hours ur dedicated pay us taken. Your safety bonus is taken. Good luck!!

Pros

Money to be made if u don’t have a family. They have u work during ur 10 hour break by having u stay at truck stops or on site. Their trucks don’t recognize ur driving for up to 3 miles so they have u leave a truck stop that under 3 miles away during ur 10 to make appointments.

Cons

Good pay.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Oct 28, 2019

The company has great recruiting and so forth but their medical is a scam. There is absolutely no reason why a legitimate company would go through many times the medical requirements of the DOT! A person with a two-year medical card from the doctor should not have to go through the humiliation of standing around naked in front of a nurse that is rough and doesn’t seem to know what she’s talking about. I also hook people up with CPAP‘s and so on and it seems to me in many cases they’re more interested in making money from the clinic which could be a couple thousand dollars a month to provide and monitor CPAP machines. The insurance pays for it but ... and we all pay for it and it’s wasted

Pros

Very good Recruiting

Cons

Their medical is a scam

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Former Employee - Aug 14, 2019

Wel Co was the best company to me if I had a problem they were there from logs to saftey is and d etc just had to leave for personal reasons and miles SHERRY WALKER is the best dispatcher I have ever worked with hands down miss Gloria was great Chris care the tielens are very family oriented if you have to rate company over all a 10 plus

Pros

People pay bennifits miles etc

Cons

NONE for me

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Dec 20, 2018

Overall a great company to work for. They genuinely care about the drivers and are constantly looking for ways to improve.

Pros

Driver friendly, Family owned, good pay and open door policy. WEL is always willing to talk about issues that may arise.

Cons

Everyone has a different view of a con, being in transportation you are always up against weather, traffic and tight schedules. This isn't always the fault of the company, its just the challenge that we face as drivers. WEL does a good job of trying to fix any issues that may arise.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Sep 16, 2016

Good miles if you are wanting to stay out long periods of time or be home every two weeks. Dispatchers are for the most part really good at keeping you going. Never had any problems with anyone at any terminal or home office. I've averaged 2500-3000 mi per week consistently. You do get some LTL but have only ever unloaded once and that was 12 boxes. LTL pay is reasonable. Newer trucks are absolutely gutless no power at all, but not as bad as the big carriers. Cameras in most trucks if that bothers you. Speed set to 65 cruise 62 floor. Reefer and the occasional dry load.

Pros

Good miles, nice people to work for, home time when you want it.

Cons

Gutless underpowered trucks

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 6-11 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Orlando, FL on Jan 19, 2021

$1,200 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in MacClenmy,Fl.. on Dec 9, 2019

$2,000 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 6-11 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Wisconsin on Nov 27, 2019

$1,225 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Oct 28, 2019

$1,038 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 4 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Summerville,SC on Jun 6, 2019

$1,019 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Wel Companies

YoungMotherTrucker

Jul 11, 2015

Wel Companies

How's it going drivers? I can tell you anything you'd ever want to know about WEL. I just left them on July 1st and it's been an experience I'll say that. I started orientation mid March and stayed til July and in that time it was a nightmare. First off, they claim to be a family oriented company with steady miles. Lol, that's far from the truth I promise you. I decided to go lease operator thinking what the hell it's a walkaway lease what do I have to lose. I did loads of Belgioiso Cheese from the terminal in De Pere,WI. going to Cranston, RI. Delivered and got stuck at the TA with NO available loads for 4 days. Co-workers stuck in Ohio and Texas for 4-5 days no loads. They're very inconsistent with freight and mess up your check regularly. Company drivers really only get about 600 miles a week and that's the truth. Lease...a 2014 Pete with 215,000 miles on it runs you $700.00 a week just for the truck. With insurance, people net, etc. You are at $1,100.00 a week in the hole and we still haven't included fuel, maintenance acct. You have to PAY YOUR OWN TOLLS, no reimbursement and it will average $650.00 per week in tolls out of your pocket. All in all, end of week comes and your check is $335.61 after running all over the east coast. Learn from my mishaps and stay away. Hope this helps anyone considering WEL Companies.

How is WEL Companies?

Bubba15

Jun 22, 2015

How is WEL Companies?

WEL Companies came to my school today and they seem like a decent company. Anyone drive for them and have any good things to say?

WEL Companies Regional and OTR opportunities

lazygecko

Jan 16, 2015

WEL Companies Regional and OTR opportunities

WEL Companies is currently hiring for OTR and Regional Positions for both experienced and entry level drivers.

OTR Positions start at 43 cents per mile (1 year experience and up)

Hiring out of most areas east of I-3514 days out / 2 days home - additional home time for longer time out48 state runs, primarily east of I-35Late model Kenworth and Peterbilt tractors with Tri-pac APUPet and Passenger PoliciesMedical Insurance, Paid Vacation and Holidays, 401kAnnual raises



Midwest or Illinois Regional starts at 45 cents per mile (1 year experience and up)

Hiring within 100 miles of Green Bay, WI or 60 mile of Joliet, ILHome every weekendRuns primarily within the midwestLate model Kenworth and Peterbilt tractors with Tri-pac APUPet and Passenger PoliciesMedical Insurance, Paid Vacation and Holidays, 401kAnnual raises


East Coast Regional starts at 49 cents per mile (1 year experience and up)

Hiring within 125 miles of Allentown, PARuns Primarily in the NortheastHome Every WeekendLate model Kenworth and Peterbilt tractors with Tri-pac APUPet and Passenger PoliciesMedical Insurance, Paid Vacation and Holidays, 401kAnnual raises


Regional North starts at 45 cents per mile (1 year experience and up)

Hiring WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, NY, CT, NH, VT, RI, MARuns primarily in the states listed aboveOut 7 days / Home 1 dayLate model Kenworth and Peterbilt tractors with Tri-pac APUPet and Passenger PoliciesMedical Insurance, Paid Vacation and Holidays, 401kAnnual raise


Student and Intermediate Level Driver Opportunities

Hiring out of most areas east of I-35Certificate of Completion from qualified driving school requiredClass A License Requiredup to 4 1/2 weeks of paid training (length of training DOE)Qualified trainers with late model equipmentExcellent starting pay, with rapid advancement


Lease Purchase Program available

No down payment, no buyout fee or balloon payment2007 to 2014 tractors available for lease


Call (800) 387-0088 Mon- Fri 07:00-17:00 CST to speak with a recruiter
You may also submit an employment application at www.drivewel.com


WEL Companies is a 500 truck refrigerated carrier. Family owned and operated since 1975. We are based in Wisconsin and also have terminals in Pennsylvania, Illinois, Georgia, and Florida

Wel Companies Orientation 09/24/2012

Jbkrash

Sep 19, 2012

Wel Companies Orientation 09/24/2012

Hey everyone I guess it really is official! Recruiter just called me with my confirmation # for my bus ticket this Sunday! I'm very excited and nervous. First OTR company I've been with in about 6 years. Time to turn my world upside down. Anyone else on here going to this orientation? Figured I'd start a new thread and let everyone know how it goes with me and Wel. I live near Chicago I'll be taking a Grey Hound there. Yukie I hate buses I guess I don't have much choice though. I was thinking of having my wife drive me, but I don't want her driving 4 hours back by herself. What I think I know so far. I'll be a regional driver out of the Joliet yard / terminal getting .40 cpm should be home most weekends 2000+ miles a week (so they say). I'm going to bring my dog (Monty) with me, after my first week driving. They seem to have good benies. I'll find out more next week. I hope everyone is having a safe week! I'll keep in touch