Company logo

Western Flyer Express reviews

2.2
(38)
$538 - $3,846/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$538 $1,513 $3,846
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Western Flyer Express

Share the salary you were paid at Western Flyer Express

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Oct 31, 2022

Bad people’s pay me $243 one week been on the road for two weeks crazy people you been belong some good company

Pros

Please don’t work on this company

Cons

Western not where you belong

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Sep 21, 2022

It is a horrible company to be wet when it’s time to go home you’ll work four Weeks and then one for days off they will call you after the second day to go back to work they have a horrible safety record and you will go through every scale and they scrutinize

Pros

Not many

Cons

Lots and lots

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jul 27, 2022

I was there 3 weeks and 3 days and got no pay they refused to give it to me when they escorted me off the premises

Pros

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Jul 26, 2022

Dispatch ,FM and OO's are ignorant of HOS, they confuse the 14 clock with the 11 hour drive clock with the 30 min DOT break.They like to sit you on loads over the weekend that deliver on the following Monday, or T call loads , then preach about getting miles. Communication is chaotic to none at all, can't expect much from cubacle dwellers I reckon. Always dispatched on loads that are scheduled to pick up 3 to 4 days ago and then invoke blame as why the load wasn't picked up at scheduled date and time, makes me wonder if they believe we have technology to go back in time! Trucks are OK, they are freightliner trashcadias with all the wonderful electrical issues. Trucks are limited speeds depending on year of truck(go figure that crazy thinking!) Lot of the management is from other crap companies like crash & roll stunt team ,and can't read english, the ethics and management is thusly importing "ideas" from both companies. Have no problem dispatching you whilst on home time, it's not important to them (it really isn't) Some trailers are good, and lot of trailers are bad and in need of drastic repair.

Pros

It's a job and a paycheck ..though not much.

Cons

Cubacle dwellers are ignorant and only know what they read from their cheatsheets and computers. Lousey at their job, but there is 3 people that are exceptional and know what they are doing.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Mar 17, 2022

I ended up paying to work there. After a week I decided it wasn’t for me and took the truck back. They kept my entire paycheck and even took back the money they had originally reimbursed me to get myself to orientation in my own vehicle. Their app is useless, complete lack of technology and you can only fuel at pilot or flying j. My inverter didn’t work and no one cared or offered to fix it. When you return the truck, even on good terms, they basically throw you off the property like you are trespassing.

Pros

None

Cons

Lack of communication, no technology, will not pay.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Owner Operator - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Oct 31, 2022

$2,400 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Kansas City, MO, USA on Jun 7, 2022

$1,625 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Apr 19, 2022

$3,801 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Mar 14, 2022

$900 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Jan 31, 2022

$1,350 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Western Flyer Express

Veteran driver

Oct 10, 2014

Western Flyer Express

They are starting experienced drivers out at .34 a mile. I have 13 years and they told me .34 a mile. That's no money and that's all I needed to know about them.

Western Flyer Express

Veteran driver

Oct 10, 2014

Western Flyer Express

I am currently employed with western flyer xpress and I HATE it! Worst L/P EVER!! I've been here almost a month and I was told by my recruiter that my first check would be between $800 and $900! In reality, it was $311.00!!! My second check I was told would be about $1500! My check was $3400 but all I got of it was $595.00!! The company took the rest! They force you to buy a bumper guard for $1,500 ($100.00 a week til paid for). They route you and tell where to fuel! I signed a contact for a 2014 Freightliner Cadcadia (junk) but was actually assigned a 2013 Freightliner Cascadia! Supposed to be governed at 70mph, try 64mph on peddle AND cruise!! Truck won't pull hills for ##### and tranny slips when downshifting to 8th and 7th going up hill! My APU has stopped blowing hot or cold air!! I told my dispatcher I need to be routed to the terminal to have my truck fixed but he said "Deliver the load to Auburn, Washington and then we'll route you to Ok City!" Are you serious!?! I told him, I can't afford to idle my truck for warmth, because the fuel money comes out of MY pocket!! So he offers to put $150.00 on my EFS card so I can stay in a motel room on my 10 hour breaks!! Hi never agreed to this but he put the money on my card then sends me a message on my Qualcomm regarding the "Cash Advance"!?!? What's the difference if I idle and lose money or they take my money for #### advances for motel rooms!?!? Also with the lease, you can have a dog up to 30lbs for a NON REFUNDABLE $500.00!! $1000 if you want a cat!!! Basically you're a company driver who is paying for their junk equipment!! Also it's forced dispatch!! If I'm leasing the truck I should be able to refuse loads!! They charge you for everything!!! Your best bet is to just stay away!!!!!

Western Flyer Express

Veteran driver

Oct 10, 2014

Western Flyer Express

Wait till you quit and they put BS on your DAC report. They put on my DAC report that they had a lot of complaint about me. That was BS. They never once called me into the office about any complaints.

Western Flyer Express

Veteran driver

Oct 10, 2014

Western Flyer Express

Glad somebody got on here and told the truth about thier

Lease scam.its sad. 

Used to be a great OTR job when they had just company drivers there.

I left about 6 months after they started leasing trucks.

They ran most of the company drivers off.

Truth is they don't want company drivers anymore,

I was in the shop office when they were adding up how

Much money they could make of the .10 cpm maintence

Fund that they charge lease drivers on new trucks that already have a full warranty. 

3000 miles a week,that's 300 bucks per truck for nothing 

More than tires and cosmetics,and they do all the work in

Thier shop. Multiply that by a 100 trucks that's 30,000 per week and I'm sure they've got more lease drivers than that now. 

It's a gold mine for them. 

Not to mention leased drivers:

Pay all thier income taxes themselves:

Pay all tolls out of thier pocket:

No pre pass or ez pass:

Breakdown you pay for the motel room.

western flyer xpress

blacklabel

Nov 18, 2013

western flyer xpress

They will not keep you on that run, they offer these loads to get you in the door. They are finding it harder to get drivers to work for them, the word is getting out how they lie and rob drivers. They also use a off site recruiting service to get more drivers and they lie to get there money for each driver they get to work there. If you go you will find out.