Company logo

Western Flyer Express reviews

2.3
(31)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$538 $1,404 $3,846
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Western Flyer Express

Share the salary you were paid at Western Flyer Express

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Dec 9, 2021

Was not very happy with this company. Always late getting home. Trailers are junk. The shop could careless if truck and trailers are safe

Pros

None

Cons

Always sitting low miles horrible home time

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Dec 3, 2021

One of the worst scam companies out there. I was a lease Operator at the company twice there will not be a third time. When you first start they will give you a few good paychecks for the first couple months. After that you’ll be struggling to make a good paycheck and only making enough to pay for their trucks the turnover rate is huge at Western Flyer Xpress for drivers because they do not care about you. The fleet managers are non-responsive to your needs and very difficult to get on the phone to explain the issues that you were having either with deliveries pick ups or truck issues. When I started with this company back in February 2021 my bank account had $13,000 in it it is now November 2021 in my bank account and is now depleted to zero because of expenses I’ve incurred on the road to just take care of myself because the paychecks started to become $300 $400 a week. I have been switched around driver managers three times and each promised me that they will do their best to make me over $2000 a week. That never happened my paycheck kept getting lower and lower and lower. They would run me over the mountains to California and keep me in California for three or four stops and then run back over the mountains Eastway to take all that load to somebody else and then run back over the mountains to California again and keep me out there again knowing that fuel prices are $4.80 per gallon. The brand new trucks that they give you have to be recalls or defective units that they sell for cheap I went through two brand new trucks each costing me valuable time and lost money either sitting around or taking their recovery loads which don’t amount to much pay while the truck was in the shop being repaired. I have spoken with the vice president, Rob Newel about this issue and the leader of operations several times and they just blow smoke up your backside saying that they are going to talk to somebody about the issues and you never hear anything else about it and nothing changes. Now mind you I’m not a lazy person I’ve run my clock out every single day every single week and somehow my paycheck wasn’t reflecting what I was actually making for the company because I’d either have to spend too much in fuel or there would be some kind of issue where they would put me off to the next day and I’d lose time or I would have to T call a load and lose miles or my truck was breaking down so it’s not about me and what I was doing wrong it’s about the company and what they were not doing about the issues that I was having for me not to me not to make a decent paycheck being an experienced over 20 year over the road driver. I tried reaching out to management and they shun me away and this is what they will do to you because they hire new drivers every single week their orientations are packed and that’s just to refill the seats of the people that are quitting on them constantly because of poor management and leader ship and direction. I have sacrificed everything this year for this company my family my social life and my financial life only to end up with no gain in each of those categories. Please do yourself a favor do not put yourself in the situation that I have with this company you will end up losing your shirt off your back and they don’t care. Also I grossed over $4900 the last week I worked $1800 of that was in fuel another 1200 for truck payment and maintenance costs and then a $900 recondition fee. They kept my thousand dollar paycheck I received nothing from my last week of pay they owe me money. They will not take my phone calls regarding the issue. They are very dirty company and if this is how Randy Tim’s the owner of Western Flyer express runs his business then that should say a lot about the company itself. You’ve been warned!

Pros

None that I can think of

Cons

Poor management, lousy pay checks

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Sep 23, 2021

Worked here a month and had to fight to get even one paycheck. Wouldn't give me a load when i kept asking for one and wouldn't pay retention when they had me sit at home for 2 weeks.

Pros

No pros here...i guess if you don't actually need a check it would be ok.

Cons

1 check after a month. They don't want to pay drivers

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Aug 13, 2021

If I had less than one star to give I would…they hold your check if you back out the contract, and act like you need them…they will be put out of business within a few years guaranteed…they suck balls and are idiots

Pros

No pros just jack off con artists

Cons

Dispatchers who are dumb as #### especially the fleet managers

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Jul 27, 2021

I have been an OTR truck driver for going on 15 years. All companies have good and bad you just have to find one that you can live with the bad. This is the first company that I have worked for that actually cares about the drivers and goes out of its way to keep promises made. The equipment is great and maintenance is taken care of promptly. FMs keep you rolling and have good communication with the drivers.

Pros

Equipment Pay

Cons

none

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Dec 9, 2021

$769 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Dec 3, 2021

$577 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Texas on Sep 23, 2021

$673 per week

Current Employee

No

Owner Operator - 6-11 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Aug 13, 2021

$687 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Lake Wales, FL on Jul 27, 2021

$1,500 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Western Flyer Express

Veteran driver

Oct 10, 2014

Western Flyer Express

They are starting experienced drivers out at .34 a mile. I have 13 years and they told me .34 a mile. That's no money and that's all I needed to know about them.

Western Flyer Express

Veteran driver

Oct 10, 2014

Western Flyer Express

I am currently employed with western flyer xpress and I HATE it! Worst L/P EVER!! I've been here almost a month and I was told by my recruiter that my first check would be between $800 and $900! In reality, it was $311.00!!! My second check I was told would be about $1500! My check was $3400 but all I got of it was $595.00!! The company took the rest! They force you to buy a bumper guard for $1,500 ($100.00 a week til paid for). They route you and tell where to fuel! I signed a contact for a 2014 Freightliner Cadcadia (junk) but was actually assigned a 2013 Freightliner Cascadia! Supposed to be governed at 70mph, try 64mph on peddle AND cruise!! Truck won't pull hills for ##### and tranny slips when downshifting to 8th and 7th going up hill! My APU has stopped blowing hot or cold air!! I told my dispatcher I need to be routed to the terminal to have my truck fixed but he said "Deliver the load to Auburn, Washington and then we'll route you to Ok City!" Are you serious!?! I told him, I can't afford to idle my truck for warmth, because the fuel money comes out of MY pocket!! So he offers to put $150.00 on my EFS card so I can stay in a motel room on my 10 hour breaks!! Hi never agreed to this but he put the money on my card then sends me a message on my Qualcomm regarding the "Cash Advance"!?!? What's the difference if I idle and lose money or they take my money for #### advances for motel rooms!?!? Also with the lease, you can have a dog up to 30lbs for a NON REFUNDABLE $500.00!! $1000 if you want a cat!!! Basically you're a company driver who is paying for their junk equipment!! Also it's forced dispatch!! If I'm leasing the truck I should be able to refuse loads!! They charge you for everything!!! Your best bet is to just stay away!!!!!

Western Flyer Express

Veteran driver

Oct 10, 2014

Western Flyer Express

Wait till you quit and they put BS on your DAC report. They put on my DAC report that they had a lot of complaint about me. That was BS. They never once called me into the office about any complaints.

Western Flyer Express

Veteran driver

Oct 10, 2014

Western Flyer Express

Glad somebody got on here and told the truth about thier

Lease scam.its sad. 

Used to be a great OTR job when they had just company drivers there.

I left about 6 months after they started leasing trucks.

They ran most of the company drivers off.

Truth is they don't want company drivers anymore,

I was in the shop office when they were adding up how

Much money they could make of the .10 cpm maintence

Fund that they charge lease drivers on new trucks that already have a full warranty. 

3000 miles a week,that's 300 bucks per truck for nothing 

More than tires and cosmetics,and they do all the work in

Thier shop. Multiply that by a 100 trucks that's 30,000 per week and I'm sure they've got more lease drivers than that now. 

It's a gold mine for them. 

Not to mention leased drivers:

Pay all thier income taxes themselves:

Pay all tolls out of thier pocket:

No pre pass or ez pass:

Breakdown you pay for the motel room.

western flyer xpress

blacklabel

Nov 18, 2013

western flyer xpress

They will not keep you on that run, they offer these loads to get you in the door. They are finding it harder to get drivers to work for them, the word is getting out how they lie and rob drivers. They also use a off site recruiting service to get more drivers and they lie to get there money for each driver they get to work there. If you go you will find out.