CDL school

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Nickster909021, Apr 21, 2022.

1. Nickster909021

Nickster909021 Bobtail Member

Mar 18, 2022
    Sterling Heights Michigan
    Hey everyone, I’m attending CDL truck driving school in Michigan on the weekends until mid July. I currently have my permit. Our school works in sections. Basically the last few weeks I’ve been in the classroom studying and passed my exams at Secretary of State. (General knowledge, air brakes, combination) starting this Sunday we’ll be moving to the yard for pre trip training and maneuvers. I’m very nervous because I know nothing about this let alone driving a manual transmission. Does anyone have any pointers to how they memorized everything? I guess I’m just nervous considering I’ve never done anything like this before. The school I’m going to does offer videos of the pre trip so I’ve been watching them

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Lunatic Fringe

Lunatic Fringe Medium Load Member

Oct 1, 2016
    There's, "studying" and there's preparing to pass the test. As the young people say - there's an app for that! CDL Prep is what I used. Hundreds of questions and most of the questions (and answers) are WORD FOR WORD what's on the DMV test. It has a practice mode where it shows you the correct answer immediately after you select an answer and a test mode where it shows you the questions you missed after you finish the test. I didn't read the book or the DMV manual I just started using the app on the Greyhound ride to my CDL school. I was the last one seated to take the DMV test in my class, the first to finish and I got the highest score in my class. Practice on the app. When you can consistently score 95% or higher it's time to head out for the DMV.

4. meechyaboy

meechyaboy Heavy Load Member

Oct 4, 2018
    Detroit, Michigan