Daily Logs- Post Trip Inspection

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by deathB4decaf, Jan 10, 2018.

1. deathB4decaf

deathB4decaf Medium Load Member

Jan 10, 2018
    I'm new in the office area of a trucking company and part of my job is to check the driver's daily logs. We have a guy that we mail them off to and he comes in to meet with me and review. He did not bring this up during our first (and only meeting until today) but he says the drivers have to show at least 15 minutes at the end of the day for post trip inspection on the daily log. I see in the book where it shows they have to DO an inspection and report but do they actually have to show it on the logs?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. not4hire

not4hire Road Train Member

May 16, 2012
    Calgary
    Note the regulations below. It does not say the driver must do an inspection. It does say the driver must prepare a report, but then it goes on to say the driver of a property carrying vehicle only has to prepare a report if deficiencies are found. Admittedly, it would be hard to prepare a proper inspection report without doing an inspection.

Any work for the carrier is considered on-duty and must be logged.
    Definition of on-duty: eCFR — Code of Federal Regulations

Most companies require their drivers to do both pre and post-trip inspections and log at least 15 minutes each. A better policy is to remind drivers they should log whatever time it takes to do both inspections.

Federal Regulations
    Title 49 Subtitle B Chapter III Subchapter B Part 396
    §396.11 Driver vehicle inspection report(s).