Excessive SWR causes

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by Lpirtle, Jan 28, 2020.

1. Lpirtle

Lpirtle Light Load Member

Oct 11, 2019
    Owensboro, ky
    I just purchased a Cobra 29 LTD brand new and installed it two days ago. The antenna is attached to the drivers side mirror from the factory angled towards the back. With the door open, the SWR is low, 1.0 SWR. When the door is closed however, the SWR spikes up to over 3 SWR. What could cause the Excessive SWR? Bad Antena position? Faulty coax?
    Edit: the truck is a volvo.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. madmoneymike5

madmoneymike5 Medium Load Member

Jan 30, 2010
    Arlington, TX
    Short answer: yes.

I suspect coax. One way, and maybe this isn't the best way because I'm a newbie myself, is to accomplish a process of elimination. Replace one component in the system at a time, starting with the most suspect and the cheapest thing to try. In this case both the most suspect and cheapest thing to try is coax.

4. jessejamesdallas

jessejamesdallas Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2008
    Republic of Texas
    coax could be getting pinched when the door is closed...Or could be a loose coax connection and when you shut the door it pulls on the coax till it quits making a good connection...Or maybe the coax is just a bit too tight and when the doors closed its pulling something loose?

Get another coax jumper (like maybe 10') and hook to radio and antenna (disconnecting the factory stuff) and see if the SWR spikes when the doors shut using the jumper coax instead of the factory coax...

Least that way you can narrow down the problem to being the coax or something else.

Timin770 Thanks this.
  5. rabbiporkchop

rabbiporkchop Road Train Member

Feb 9, 2012
    Wapwallopen, Pa
    It would be interesting to connect an antenna analyzer and drive down the interstate and see if the SWR fluctuates as you're driving.