How is TWT?

Discussion in 'TWT' started by megahurt5, Feb 25, 2015.

1. megahurt5

megahurt5 Bobtail Member

Feb 25, 2015
    I'm a student in my first week of school and test for my permit tomorrow, but have spoken with some of their recruiters already. I understand they're a divison of TSI, along with System Transport and JWJ... but this appears to be the relevant subforum and the only information looks like it's a few months (or more) old now.

I'm curious to know if anybody here is currently driving for them and what it's like? Right now they seem like a decent enough place to start at .40cpm and the rest of their pay/bonuses appear to be close to normal, but I am completely new to this and have yet to actually enter in to the industry. I'd like to know at least the basics of the company from someone with some more experience and ideally involved recently with the company... and not just a recruiter, even if they seemed straight forward enough.

What's the orientation like? What kind of testing and training can I expect from it? Recruiter said it would take 3 days and involve a written test, physical, drug screening, then driving test with some leniency - and that you'll ride out with a trainer immediately following your orientation. Is this all accurate, and what kind of training (powerpoint? videos? CBT? listening to someone stand and talk to you for 8+ hours?) should be expected? Also, how's the hotel/food/etc.? Seem it's $300 paid for the orientation?

How was the actual training? Seems like it's a mandatory 8 weeks (for newbies), at $500/week. Are the trainers usually competent, and can I expect to learn...? Or will it be closer to someone looking to take team loads and earn off of my miles? I was told at least four weeks will be with the trainer in the passenger seat, and then 4 will be team loads - but once again I want to be sure.