Insurance issue

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Newbieboy, Aug 6, 2020.

  1. Newbieboy

    Newbieboy Light Load Member

    75
    22
    Apr 3, 2019
    0
    Hi guys, ive my own active Dot..currently im running 1 truck and trailer under my dot Ive 1 mill auto liability and 100k cargo. Im in process of buying 1 more truck..
    what type of insurance I need for new truck. I spoke with my insurance agents he said i need cargo+ auto liability for new truck.. Advice
     
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  3. wichris

    wichris Road Train Member

    2,254
    2,325
    Jan 17, 2011
    0
    Got to have it on every truck running.
     
  4. Newbieboy

    Newbieboy Light Load Member

    75
    22
    Apr 3, 2019
    0
    Why do i need cargo insurance again for new truck?
     
  5. pavrom

    pavrom Road Train Member

    1,382
    2,131
    Apr 29, 2012
    NE illinois
    0
    Just split your truck cargo , you can have cargo on your truck 50k and new truck 50k ... Or 40/60 ...ask your agent !
     
    Newbieboy Thanks this.
  6. wichris

    wichris Road Train Member

    2,254
    2,325
    Jan 17, 2011
    0
    Don't have to have cargo. Of course no one will load you without it.

    A joke, right?
     
  7. Ridgeline

    Ridgeline Road Train Member

    16,229
    65,125
    Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    0
    Get a new agent, the cargo insurance is broad to the fleet.
     
  8. Judge

    Judge Road Train Member

    2,196
    9,422
    Mar 19, 2014
    Newport, Ar
    0
    Call Ooida or someone like that, that knows truck regulations, they do truck insurance and can answer questions to what you’ll need.
     
    Newbieboy Thanks this.
  9. pavrom

    pavrom Road Train Member

    1,382
    2,131
    Apr 29, 2012
    NE illinois
    0
    Sarcasm
     
    Ericsf, Wespipes and wichris Thank this.
  10. Newbieboy

    Newbieboy Light Load Member

    75
    22
    Apr 3, 2019
    0
    Agree with your point. I already have cargo and auto liability... all i need is to insure my other truck.
     
  11. calnca

    calnca Light Load Member

    289
    472
    Apr 2, 2014
    0
    Due to your filing, you HAVE to have liability on both units, with the same insurance carrier. Other than liability, other coverages are your choice.

    If you owe money on the unit, you will need phys dam......and a loss payee.

    Cargo applies PER POWER UNIT, so presumably your load broker will need evidence of cargo on the new unit as well.
     
    amyluong Thanks this.
  • Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  • Draft saved Draft deleted