Looking to becoming a Owner Operator

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by Kevo The Trucker, Feb 12, 2017.

1. Kevo The Trucker

Kevo The Trucker Bobtail Member

Dec 27, 2010
    Homewood, IL.
    Hello to all the fellow drivers out there. I'm looking to becoming an owner operator for the first time. I've been a truck driver for approx 6 years straight. I'm currently a driver for Coke Cola but all of my trucking experience is mostly doing local intermodal for J.B. Hunt out of Chicago. I'd like to finance a truck and wanted to know if anyone can tell me if I go back to JB Hunt, how do I get financed to get the truck. Is credit really an issue? My family is extremely important to me so I'm only looking to do local work. Any help or answers will be greatly appreciated.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. CSDixon

CSDixon Light Load Member

Feb 7, 2017
    Denver CO
    I would not owner operate as a sole proprietorship. You being a family man, the libility is too great. They can take "everything" you have, for the rest of your life. Start an LLC (Limited Liability Company) and then start building your "company business" credit as L/O. Then you might find someone to finance a truck to you. Or...

$200 (extra as L/O) x 50 weeks = $10,000 x 5 years = $50,000 cash for truck + good business credit for maintenance, truck #2 financing and truck #3 financing; all running through a fleet management company. From there you can continue to drive or lease out truck #1 also then go be with the fam.

Oppss!!! Just told on myself.

Last edited: Feb 12, 2017
    Thomasanderson1187 Thanks this.
  4. cnsper

cnsper Road Train Member

Feb 28, 2014
    If you are the driver of the truck a LLC will not protect your assets. You will be sued as an individual/driver of the truck.

The best way is to have the assets in some sort of trust or in your wife's name.

5. MOGLAR