No loads in 3 weeks

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by Justflappingmygums, Aug 14, 2018.

1. Justflappingmygums

Justflappingmygums Bobtail Member

Aug 9, 2018
    I'm new to the freight brokerage scene, by new I mean 3 weeks in as the only broker in a brokerage company. The owner opened it up on the side to bolster his already moderately successful sprinter van carrier company. I started as a Dispatcher for the carrier company and excelled because I have a very personable personality. After two months of dispatching I was "promoted" to Broker for the Brokerage company. I'm a quick study, and I work hard. in 3 weeks and after thousands of cold calls and emails I have 5 customers who ship weekly, the only issue is they don't like the prices I give them even though I'm basing my quotes off what I'm getting from carriers, so I'm not securing loads from them. I'm constantly working to expand my pool of carriers, get new customers, and secure loads. Then today my boss looks at me and says "you're not working hard enough, or you're doing something wrong". I have no idea what I'm doing wrong though. I'm in the office by 9-10 am and stay till 6-7 depending, but I'm working on this from home and on the weekends as well. In 3 Weeks I haven't moved one load and I feel terrible about it, but at the same time I also help out on the carrier side of things on a daily basis whenever they encounter problems they don't have time to fix. Can anyone experienced in this field please give me some solid advice, I'm not looking for a hand out or a quick fix (they don't exist). I know I'm failing at this but I don't know why.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. RoadRooster

RoadRooster Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Fort Myers, Florida
    You are starting a business from scratch. There is no such thing as overnight success.