pneumatic tank

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by bottomdumpin, Jan 4, 2019.

1. bottomdumpin

bottomdumpin Bobtail Member

Jul 6, 2014
    southern california
    I currently pull a set of pneumatic tanks. my question is regarding when I begin to unload my "A" tank.

I pressurize the tank to 13-14 psi, open the line valve... now when I open the product valve, the pressure instantly drops to 9-10 psi. With that, it takes quite a few minutes to get the pressure back up, essentially killing my unload time. this doesn't happen on "B" tank.

this used to be a sporadic occurrence, now it's everytime I unload.

fluffer/aeration pad is good. no leaks from tank or hoses.

any ideas? suggestions? thanks!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. rbrtwbstr

rbrtwbstr Road Train Member

Jul 11, 2012
    in the bush somewhere
    I've no experience with a set of tanks, but I've plenty of experience with pneumatic tanks.

Is your lid gasket leaking? That will do it every time.

Tank cracked anywhere? You may not even notice a leak, sometimes they're very difficult to find.

And sometimes, that's just how they are. I know mine drops pressure when I open the product valve, but it recovers fairly quickly, especially when I'm hauling a coarse product like pebble lime.

How much time are you losing through all this?

bottomdumpin Thanks this.
  4. Zeviander

Zeviander Road Train Member

Jan 23, 2015
    Winnipeg, MB, CA
    There's a leak somewhere. I was having problems the past couple weeks with one trailer, tank pressure would stabilize, then start dropping steadily over 5-10 minutes. Found the blowdown valve wasn't sealing properly.

If your second tank isn't having issues, then it's something on the first tank that's leaking.

Lav-25 and bottomdumpin Thank this.
  5. RockinChair

RockinChair Road Train Member

Feb 19, 2012
    CC, TX