Pulling Doubles, are they as intimidating as I'm thinking?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Kennyworth67, Dec 8, 2022.

1. Kennyworth67

Kennyworth67 Bobtail Member

Jan 4, 2019
    Salt Lake City
    Howdy Folks.

I've been out of a truck for 9 years now. Prior to that, I drove 12 years OTR. I've been driving a city bus since 2013. It's easy work and I have enough seniority to get weekends off and just about any route I want to bid on. I'm at top scale, just shy of $26.00 dollars an hour. Trouble is, after deductions, taxes and whatnot, I'm bringing home 1300 bucks every two weeks and with the cost of everything rising by the minute, I just can't live on it without doing some gig work.

Anyways, I've been talking with a company that pulls Fed Ex freight in two 28 foot pup trailers. They want me to do a two-week refresher and are offering almost double what I am making now. I've told them that I will probably do it but not until spring. I have the doubles and triples endorsement. But never pulled them before.

My question is, how hard or easy are they to pull? I know you can't back them up, but I mean, just regular, everyday driving. How are they? Do you set up for your turns the same, are they easy to get around obstacles? I've pulled 48- 53-foot reefers for years and 28-foot pup singles when I drove local but never a set of doubles. Am I thinking too much about it or is it pretty easy to get used to?

dptrucker and LtlAnonymous Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Mnmover99

Mnmover99 Light Load Member

Oct 22, 2022