Reefer madness!

Discussion in 'Refrigerated Trucking Forum' started by Bolt Thrower, Apr 2, 2019.

1. Bolt Thrower

Bolt Thrower Light Load Member

Mar 29, 2019
    I've not been in the industry long and thinking about switching over to reefer with Magnum. I've given up on tanking until I have at least 2 years experience under my belt. Why not reffer? What's the average pay for company driver with 6 months or under experience? I swore I would never drive a dry van or reefer but here we are I'm fixing to make that transition LOL

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. gokiddogo

gokiddogo Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2012
    Ontario Canada
    I wouldnt do anything else...

That being said. You need to get on with a good place for company drivers. There are plenty of short runs that are lucrative as hell for the company but you may only earn low pay maybe 100, 150 a day. If you are paid by the mile you want the long miles. @Chinatown can offer some suggestions if you give your home location nearest big city. I always found reefer much more lucrative as an owner operator. Drop and hook dry van you probably make more, maybe a few cents less per mile but you win when it comes to time taking to pickup and deliver. I dunno. I like it.

KB3MMX, bzinger and Chinatown Thank this.
  4. Oor

Oor Road Train Member

Jan 11, 2012
    My last trainee had 6 months so I believe this is correct.

.42 cpm + .07 cpm in bonus.

11,500 miles per month (needed for top bonus) x .49 cpm = $5635.

Additional .05 cpm on hazmat loads.

5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Magnum is a good choice; no bad reviews that I can find.
    I'm also a fan of Freymiller, Schuster, FFE for reefer companies.

KB3MMX Thanks this.
  6. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    I like FFE.