Reefer models for frozen

Discussion in 'Refrigerated Trucking Forum' started by abyliks, Feb 1, 2020.

1. abyliks

abyliks Road Train Member

May 2, 2010
    ludlow MA
    So I’m new to the reefer side of trucking, been renting a trailer the last few months and looking to buy a decent used one (preferably from an owner opp). I have found two trailers locally, one has an sb200, one has an 7300 x4 carrier, I would prefer a TK but I’m a little off on the model numbers, would an sb200 (or the 7300). Be able to hold -10 - 0 or is that more of a chilled/produce unit? I believe the one I’ve been yanking around has a 230 on it, I have mainly been hauling frozen and I don’t want to constantly over work a smaller unit, just curious on everyone’s $0.02, thanks

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 062

062 Road Train Member

Oct 20, 2013
    The age of the trailer and brand play a big part also. I’d try to find the newest model trailer that you can afford. Preferably Great Dane or utility.
    If you have cash to buy, then start checking out the auctions.

bzinger, PE_T and abyliks Thank this.
  4. abyliks

May 2, 2010
    ludlow MA
    those are the only two I have been looking at, trying to find a 2010 or newer that I can get ~3 years out of then if I decide I want to stay on reefer buy something new.

both those units are on a utility trailer. The TK 200 is on a 2011 which is the one I was leaning too if the 200 could handle the frozen

062 Thanks this.
  5. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    -10 is not enough.

Reefers maintain whatever temperature the cargo loaded into it is at. Reefers cannot cool hot product down. It's a losing battle. Not even God's Freezer can do it to paraphrase.