Company logo

Halvor Lines reviews

3.0
(10)
$500 - $1,635/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$500 $985 $1,635
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Halvor Lines

Share the salary you were paid at Halvor Lines

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Apr 1, 2021

I took a load from this company and on the paperwork it says driver has to block and brace. Failed to mention you have to nail boards and remove them. We should get paid for this but no response given. Easy to pick up and now waiting to see if they pay for unload

Pros

None

Cons

Won’t pay for Load Or unload

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Oct 11, 2020

Halvor is a great company for both new and seasoned drivers. I run hard, hit all the bonuses and get home every week (not just for a 34 either). If you are a true professional you will do very, very well here.

Pros

Great Equipment, Great Miles/Pay, and Great Home Time!

Cons

Only complaint is the 65 MPH trucks.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Sep 8, 2020

With the exception of 3 people. Thos company is horrible. They make promises they have no intension of keeping. I told them from the first phone call that I couldn't be out more than a week. 13 days out the first time and they expect me to be out 3 weeks this time around. The pay is subpar and the zip to zip nonsense is old school crap most companies knocked off because its basically stealing. I had 1 run that ended up being 96 miles short because of it. Unless you're just starting out and looking for experience, stay the #### away.

Pros

None

Cons

Liars. Disorganized. Zip code to zip code ripoff.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jun 30, 2020

The truck i was in had only 1 PM I left with a truck that had only 1 pm when assigned and every week it broke down for 9 weeks strait went back to main terminal had some words and they found 17 things wrong with the truck due to the poor quality and problems every week my accountability and work started going down hill I hated trucking i hated what I chose as far as dispatchers they have 2 so it was made almost impossible to not be frustrated 98 % of your time and I felt they didn't take care of me why should I them I had a couple battles out on the road and when push came to shove I shoved maybe not an adult way to go but I had been driving 36 years and I wouldn't give Halvor Lines more than 1 star and never will I give them a good reference. Im retired now and no longer drive and Halvor had alot to do with my decision.

Pros

I have none

Cons

horrible safety manager Adam he likes to demean and scream he knows no other way and I drove very horrible equipment

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Mar 1, 2020

Home on your schedule. Excellent training program. Great pay, loads, run where you want to run. No touch freight. Treated with respect. Management has open door policy.

Pros

Excellent management.

Cons

None to mention

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Superior, WI on Oct 11, 2020

$1,442 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Superior, WI on Sep 8, 2020

$865 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Bethany, Missouri on Jun 30, 2020

$1,173 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Superior, WI on Mar 1, 2020

$1,635 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Superior, WI on Dec 19, 2019

$500 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Halvor lines info please

Lwood53

Nov 12, 2014

Halvor lines info please

As a student they are good to start out with, much better than any of the bigger box mega carriers. I am assuming you will be with one of the trainers for at least a few weeks?

Hometime could be sketchy for you at times...when they say they run east they usually mean OH, PA, NJ, NY, MD..and remember unless its a major break down they want all truck services covered in Superior.

Pay is a little low in my opinion even for a student, If you get good miles and don't destroy things you will get whatever their safety bonus has turned into today, was an additional .04 per mile when I was there. Rand McNally short miles and electronic logs of course.

Most equipment I remember being under 4 years old for trucks and under 500000 miles, trailers probably 5 or 6 years old max. Trucks are underpowered but as a whole pretty reliable. They used to be strictly Kenworths with a few freigtliners, now i see a little bit of everything. 

What I did not like was all the politics and cheerleading BS that goes on there. They seem to be more concentrated on their community involvement/company image/"get the fat truck driver back into shape program" versus actually getting the majority of their drivers big miles and making them big money. 

They want everyone to think they are still an elite fleet, in my opinion they are just so-so overall. If you choose them get your year or two in and move on. If you like it there, Better you than me. 

I left their at a bad time for the trucking industry, the housing crash 2008 or so, when a lot of trucking outfits bit the dust. So maybe they have changed since then, but as an experienced driver i would probably not one to come back unless i had to.

Halvor lines info please

Lwood53

Nov 12, 2014

Halvor lines info please

If they have steady freight heading to your area home time every 7 to 10 days should be no issue. 

The issue most of us had was with reloading on the east coast, the loads from there going to he midwest dont pay good...and like most companies they depend a lot on brokers...so thats where we ended up laying over a lot and waiting. 

If you deliver in NC and they cant find freight that day they could just send you home, which could work to your advantage. Keep in mind they wont pay you to drive home, only the miles between your last delivery and next reload.

When I worked there they were not nearly as strict as some companies were with out of route miles to get you home. That may have changed but I am just telling you the way I remember it.

Halvor lines info please

Lwood53

Nov 12, 2014

Halvor lines info please

All I can tell you is my experiences from over 8 years ago, so things may have changed, hopefully for the better. There have got to be at least a few of their drivers on here who can fill you in.

Outbound loads from Superior, if lots of loads are available you are given a ** cough, cough** ... "choice" of outbound loads.

Your reload is whatever they can find you, usually heading back toward Chicago, Minneapolis/Saint Paul, or Duluth in as direct of a way as possible. Sometimes you may have to reload out east, deliver in Chicagoland, reload in Chicagoland, then deliver up in their neck of the woods.

As I said, its been over eight years. The majority of their freight at that time went to the states I already mentioned. 

A good chunk also went to Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia too...but dont plan on going there every week.

The longer runs like Laredo, Florida, California, Pacific NW they liked to save for the teams and the brown nosers. Thats not to say you will never get to go there...just telling it like I remember it.

BTW I only did vans and reefers when HL still had reefers, never flats. About the time I left a lot of the flatbed guys were fighting over van loads because freight was so slow...

No you would not absolutely have to go directly back and forth to NC...but keep in mind that if you are sitting in Superior and want to be home in 3 days, common sense tells you not to take a load going to Texas or Florida.

Halvor Lines-Good/Bad?

grusco

Mar 29, 2012

Halvor Lines-Good/Bad?

They would be a decent fit for a rookie in my opinion, and far better than the huge mega carriers. You will have to go out with one of their trainers for a few weeks or more if you are totally new to trucking.

Electronic logs will keep the DOT out of your business for the most part. they run fairly safe equipment, and have their reputation built on that. 

Be flexible (shouldn't need saying in this industry), be willing to run east and Canada as 80% of their freight goes there with vans, reefers, or flats. There is no forced NYC or Quebec loads (at least in 2008 there wasn't), If I remember right nothing was totally forced. But don't plan on a gravy run to California every week, remember you are there to work and make the company and yourself money.

Stay away from the whiners, complainers, terminal rats and truck stop lawyers they have working there and you will be fine. Keep the left door shut on focus on doing your job.

Sometimes backhauls/reloads/broker freight can be spotty so like I said be flexible. If you live close to Duluth they have a lot of short haul stuff too (Milwaukee, Des Moines, Chicago) so you can take time off here and there if the big mile loads get slow. 

If you live close to the twin cities you have many more options available. 

Halvor Lines-Good/Bad?

grusco

Mar 29, 2012

Halvor Lines-Good/Bad?

They're a good company to drive for. They get u home on a weekly basis and u can make decent money. Just don't listen to all the negativity from other drivers. Make ur own opinion on the company. Take the loads dispatch offers,buy their fuel for their Trk where they say to buy it and things will go good. Good luck to ya!