Company logo

Halvor Lines reviews

2.5
(16)
$500 - $1,635/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$500 $1,047 $1,635
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Halvor Lines

Share the salary you were paid at Halvor Lines

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Jul 21, 2022

Crap, lied to me to get me here then stranded me here. Don't take the risk with this company

Pros

Not 1 I can think of.

Cons

Everything about them

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jun 13, 2022

7 year driver...SAFETY...intimidates, demonstrates disrespect threw their ACTIONS...exploits drivers DISPATCH....favoritism always.....routes and new equipment......absolutely will exploit you EAST if you do not fight

Pros

Use new drivers...ignorant of reality

Cons

Think they own you like SLAVES

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - May 15, 2022

poor management slave driving companies i done what i was ask still not good enough cameras in trk to spy on drvers invasion of privacy. it should be manditory for all in house ketboard rambos to spend 1 month in truck otr b4 being hired to see what we go thru on road.we run thru hazard weather conditions pandemic etc help make their billions still go and fire drivers whos been with company almost 3 years BS excuse.they no better than other Cooperate Trucking Companies

Pros

Nothing they lie all the time tell you what they think you want to hear

Cons

lies cameras in trucks to spy on drvers tell you 1 thing do another as usual

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - May 12, 2022

They don't care bout drivers family like they say they do biggest crock #### I've ever heard I've had 6 deaths in my family in 2021 got terminated because miles was low in the last year camera in windshield is to spy on drivers they so perfect let keyboard Rambo's drive slow sob trucks typical cooperate America Trucking Companies lies lies no driver Shortage Bullshit lies turnover rate 91%in 2021 should tell you all you need to know love screwing drivers

Pros

None

Cons

Everything

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jan 26, 2022

One of the worst companies. Dispatchers are rude and ignore questions. Equipment is routinely sabotaged by Rosemount shop to cut drivers miles. Very low pay. Please drivers STAY AWAY!!

Pros

Terminals are nice

Cons

Worst dispatchers ever. Drivers working here are rude and will sabotage another drivers equipment. Cut throat environment. Issues about dispatch brought to management are ignored.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 1-5 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Minnesota on Jul 21, 2022

$1,538 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Rosemount, MN on May 15, 2022

$1,000 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Rosemount, MN on May 12, 2022

$1,038 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Rosemount, MN on Jan 26, 2022

$673 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Rosemount, MN on Jan 8, 2022

$1,538 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Discussions

Halvor lines info please

Lwood53

Nov 12, 2014

Halvor lines info please

As a student they are good to start out with, much better than any of the bigger box mega carriers. I am assuming you will be with one of the trainers for at least a few weeks?

Hometime could be sketchy for you at times...when they say they run east they usually mean OH, PA, NJ, NY, MD..and remember unless its a major break down they want all truck services covered in Superior.

Pay is a little low in my opinion even for a student, If you get good miles and don't destroy things you will get whatever their safety bonus has turned into today, was an additional .04 per mile when I was there. Rand McNally short miles and electronic logs of course.

Most equipment I remember being under 4 years old for trucks and under 500000 miles, trailers probably 5 or 6 years old max. Trucks are underpowered but as a whole pretty reliable. They used to be strictly Kenworths with a few freigtliners, now i see a little bit of everything. 

What I did not like was all the politics and cheerleading BS that goes on there. They seem to be more concentrated on their community involvement/company image/"get the fat truck driver back into shape program" versus actually getting the majority of their drivers big miles and making them big money. 

They want everyone to think they are still an elite fleet, in my opinion they are just so-so overall. If you choose them get your year or two in and move on. If you like it there, Better you than me. 

I left their at a bad time for the trucking industry, the housing crash 2008 or so, when a lot of trucking outfits bit the dust. So maybe they have changed since then, but as an experienced driver i would probably not one to come back unless i had to.

Halvor lines info please

Lwood53

Nov 12, 2014

Halvor lines info please

If they have steady freight heading to your area home time every 7 to 10 days should be no issue. 

The issue most of us had was with reloading on the east coast, the loads from there going to he midwest dont pay good...and like most companies they depend a lot on brokers...so thats where we ended up laying over a lot and waiting. 

If you deliver in NC and they cant find freight that day they could just send you home, which could work to your advantage. Keep in mind they wont pay you to drive home, only the miles between your last delivery and next reload.

When I worked there they were not nearly as strict as some companies were with out of route miles to get you home. That may have changed but I am just telling you the way I remember it.

Halvor lines info please

Lwood53

Nov 12, 2014

Halvor lines info please

All I can tell you is my experiences from over 8 years ago, so things may have changed, hopefully for the better. There have got to be at least a few of their drivers on here who can fill you in.

Outbound loads from Superior, if lots of loads are available you are given a ** cough, cough** ... "choice" of outbound loads.

Your reload is whatever they can find you, usually heading back toward Chicago, Minneapolis/Saint Paul, or Duluth in as direct of a way as possible. Sometimes you may have to reload out east, deliver in Chicagoland, reload in Chicagoland, then deliver up in their neck of the woods.

As I said, its been over eight years. The majority of their freight at that time went to the states I already mentioned. 

A good chunk also went to Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia too...but dont plan on going there every week.

The longer runs like Laredo, Florida, California, Pacific NW they liked to save for the teams and the brown nosers. Thats not to say you will never get to go there...just telling it like I remember it.

BTW I only did vans and reefers when HL still had reefers, never flats. About the time I left a lot of the flatbed guys were fighting over van loads because freight was so slow...

No you would not absolutely have to go directly back and forth to NC...but keep in mind that if you are sitting in Superior and want to be home in 3 days, common sense tells you not to take a load going to Texas or Florida.

Halvor Lines-Good/Bad?

grusco

Mar 29, 2012

Halvor Lines-Good/Bad?

They would be a decent fit for a rookie in my opinion, and far better than the huge mega carriers. You will have to go out with one of their trainers for a few weeks or more if you are totally new to trucking.

Electronic logs will keep the DOT out of your business for the most part. they run fairly safe equipment, and have their reputation built on that. 

Be flexible (shouldn't need saying in this industry), be willing to run east and Canada as 80% of their freight goes there with vans, reefers, or flats. There is no forced NYC or Quebec loads (at least in 2008 there wasn't), If I remember right nothing was totally forced. But don't plan on a gravy run to California every week, remember you are there to work and make the company and yourself money.

Stay away from the whiners, complainers, terminal rats and truck stop lawyers they have working there and you will be fine. Keep the left door shut on focus on doing your job.

Sometimes backhauls/reloads/broker freight can be spotty so like I said be flexible. If you live close to Duluth they have a lot of short haul stuff too (Milwaukee, Des Moines, Chicago) so you can take time off here and there if the big mile loads get slow. 

If you live close to the twin cities you have many more options available. 

Halvor Lines-Good/Bad?

grusco

Mar 29, 2012

Halvor Lines-Good/Bad?

They're a good company to drive for. They get u home on a weekly basis and u can make decent money. Just don't listen to all the negativity from other drivers. Make ur own opinion on the company. Take the loads dispatch offers,buy their fuel for their Trk where they say to buy it and things will go good. Good luck to ya!