Company logo

Paul Transportation reviews

3.1
(12)

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Paul Transportation

Share the salary you were paid at Paul Transportation

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Jul 22, 2021

Great company with good Management . late model equipment and the new trucks coming in are very nice ! The owner cares about his employees and you can tell the DMS do as well !

Pros

nice facility and trucks

Cons

tarping can be hard work at times.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Apr 11, 2021

Do you like being constantly lied to and forced to run overweight all the time? Then call Paul. The owner absolutely hates drivers.

Pros

There is absolutely none at all.

Cons

Always lied to. Forced to run overweight. Lousy pay. Owner hates drivers.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Nov 21, 2020

The truck that I got, tires on front was pop corn and wanted to send me out with them, Lol. Fender falling off on the truck, I left a 2019 with 200,000 miles on it, for a 2016 with nearly 500,000 miles, I really need kicking myself in the U know what.....

Pros

I’m loss for words

Cons

Were not all that they said before I make a job change

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Former Employee - May 31, 2020

Stay as far away as possible unless you’re a new driver. The home time and benefits are about average. Load types for Nucor dedicated were mostly supplies for Blytheville Nucor like coil bands, taking old machine parts out to shops to have them refurbished and brought back, very rarely actually haul any steel or coils most everywhere I went as a dedicated driver should’ve been done with a van. Tarp 100% of the loads with 8ft drop tarps.

Pros

Nice dedicated run with Nucor Salaried positions on dedicated positions Very knowledgeable trainers

Cons

64 mph trucks Poor maintenance on trucks Newer trucks have to many safety features OTR side is a joke from dispatchers to upper management

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Apr 12, 2020

This is a "hurry up and wait" operation. Too bad. This company has so much potential, but does not see it. For orientation (Monday - Friday), they put you in a new, yet very tiny little room at the local Motel 6. The room is approximately 10 feet wide, seriously. On the first day, you experience a pre-employment screening. They refer to this as a DOT physical. I can't see how it can be confused with an actual DOT physical. It is a joke. the usual stuff for the rest of the week. The equipment (late model Kenworth T-660's and T-680's are nice. As I write, several units have Wingman systems installed and cameras. The one odd thing to note is that only people with their fingerprint registered into a security system may enter the buildings at the Tulsa Headquarters. Drivers can not enter the main building!!! They can enter the maintenance bay, but that's it.

Pros

New equipment and good freight base.

Cons

Interstate is shut down, "you're late." Shipper takes too long, "you're late." Get the idea?

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Tulsa, OK on Jul 22, 2021

$1,154 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Tulsa, Oklahoma on Apr 11, 2021

$500 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Tulsa, OK on Nov 21, 2020

$0 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 4 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Tulsa, OK on May 31, 2020

$1,154 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Tulsa, OK on Nov 14, 2019

$1,250 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

paul transportation

rjohnson_6

Jul 9, 2016

paul transportation

Well I did my first load for them about 3 weeks ago. So far not to bad, they said they are cutting the check on thurs so we will see. They were fairly easy to deal with so far. Sorry I can't help more. If they send the check, I would use them again if I had to.

Paul Transportation, Tulsa OK

SAdriver

Aug 16, 2016

Paul Transportation, Tulsa OK

Not really a favorite, it's a job. Have seen posts in the past looking for updated info.


been here a couple weeks so far and things are not bad. Truck is a 2014 T660 areocab w/ 10 speed manual. 

Standard aluminum 48 ft trailer, no tag axles here. All trucks have a puts some tricks pass, most have dynasis. No pressure pass but who cares if your legal and truck/trailer isn't junk.


Dispatch is very hands off and I can go days without speaking to them. I am given a certain loaded mile limit and route myself to within or slightly over that. I fuel up where I want, within fuel network, truck drives 65 and pulls pretty good on hills loaded and best of all, they do not have that accursed on guard system.


this company does not have night dispatch. All office staff are available 24 hrs however. One is expected to not need his hand held and take responsibility for his actions. Wreck the truck or damage a load, you pay for it. Go wildly out of route and pay for those extra miles. There are some where around 200 trucks. They do not have a school but will mentor experienced non flatbed drivers.


all in all its a place to make money. It has its faults like any fleet. It's not the big fleets where the office controls your actions. It's a step up into big boy land.

Paul Transportation, Tulsa OK

SAdriver

Aug 16, 2016

Paul Transportation, Tulsa OK

This was a good starter company to work for to get my flatbed experience. I actually thought about hiring back on a couple weeks ago until they told me they require two weeks out now.

Paul Transportation good or bad company?

rjohnson_6

Jul 22, 2016

Paul Transportation good or bad company?

You sign a document stating your are responsible for up to 500 dollars damage to truck or cargo but they said they could charge you whatever they wanted to. Also they have cheap equipment snap binders instead of ratchet binders. High health insurance and low miles I believe the fleet average is 2200 miles per truck only 20 for tapping and most loads are tapped. 

In the end I didn't think it was worth it.

 


Paul Transportation

RonnieMac

Aug 16, 2015

Paul Transportation

Just thought I would post some info about Paul Transportation, it's a flatbed carrier out of Tulsa,OK

I Went through orientation last week and was very impressed with this company! 


Orientation is in Tulsa,OK and lasts five days which they pay you @ $100 a day. 

Lunch is provided, they took us to nice restaurants 

You get a private hotel room that has a fridge and microwave.

If you can't arrange travel to Tulsa for orientation they will get you there....by bus most likely but I'm not positive on this since I got my own ride.

Our class was only three people and it seems like they usually have less than five or six per class. 

They have a $1,000 sign-on bonus that is paid out @ $100 a week starting on your first check.


1st day of orientation was going to get our DOT physicals and drug tests done followed by your standard paperwork that goes with any company.... tax forms, company policies, ect.


2nd day was more paperwork and videos on safety and hos


3rd day was smith system video and then we went out in the company van so we could all demonstrate the smith system.


4th day was strapping and tarping. We basically had to untarp/strap two loads and retarp/strap them.


5th day was chains/binders followed by getting my truck and meeting my driver manager. After that I was given a load and headed out. 


Equipment:


Late model Kenworth T660's I believe most of them are 2014's and they are buying more new trucks later this year and next year. The one I picked has 160K miles on it and is like new 

Paccar engines 455hp I believe 

10 speeds

Apu's 

Power inverters

Satellite radio

Super singles 

Tire pressure monitoring system

Qualcom for dispatching and the driver can choose paper or electronic logs. 


Most of the trailers are Reitnouer MaxMiser's and some Utility's



Pay:

They actually raised the pay while I was in orientation from .38 a mile to .40 a mile and it goes up from there depending on flatbed experience. I only had two month's previous flatbed experience so I got .40 a mile. 

They pay all miles loaded and empty.

.10 a mile of that is per diem pay.

Oversize pays an additional .05 a mile.

Tarp pay is $20 on $20 off.... From what I understand we have a lot of pretarped loads so you may just be pulling tarps and rolling them up for $20 most of the time.

They have detention pay and breakdown pay but I don't remember what it was off hand, I can find out if anyone wants to know. Same goes for medical insurance and 401K.



Home time:

They try to get you home every weekend if you want them to. I live close to I-35 so they said I could probably be home every weekend if I want. 

I was told most drivers get home friday evening and leave out sunday evening early enough to get a 10 hour break before their unload monday morning. 


Miles:

Average 2500 a week but from the sound of it they have all you can handle. 

I'll know more in the coming weeks 


Anyway overall I am very happy to have found this company, the people here really seem to care about their drivers. I talked to a handful of drivers that happened to be coming through the yard and they all had nothing but good things to say about Paul Transportation. 


If you guys have any questions let me know...I'll try to get back on here every now and then

 


Paul Transportation Inc.

TakinItEasy

Jan 15, 2015

Paul Transportation Inc.

miles are there. They will run you tired. Lol. Flatbedding is Definitely not for everyone. I like it. It's a learning experience everyday for me. One thing I just learned is they have forced per diem, never was mentioned before but was on pay stub as xx amount of cents of the total cpm.